We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable but needs attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
curlypippa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable but needs attention to detail”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on 5th and 6th jan. Our room was lovely, comfortable and well decorated with a stunning view. We dined in the taste restaurant which was pleasurable although not outstanding for the amount of money we spent. On our return to our room we were surprised to find the bin emptied and chocolates left out for us, this was a lovely touch and our 4 yr old thought a fairy had been to visit! However, the next night the 'fairy' wasn't quite so good, no chocolates and a full bin, although they did put down the bed settee. We mentioned this on checkout, the receptionists comment was ' we don't do the turndown service anymore', I did state that we had experienced this on the Friday evening, however there was no response to this.

We reported, on the first night, that three light bulbs were out in he bathroom, they still hadn't been replaced when we left on Sunday.

On a positive note, the breakfasts were fantastic, as were the health facilities.

Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlypippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a mostly positive review. The weekend 5th and 6th of January followed an extremely busy Christmas period and we unfortunately didn’t have any of our maintenance team on duty which will be the reason the light bulbs had not been changed, my apologies for this and I can assure you this is not the norm.

Our turndown procedure has also changed unfortunately the porter that attended to your room the first night hadn’t been informed of the new procedure.

I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,363
    1,523
    549
    186
    136
See reviews for
715
3,012
142
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

For my wife's birthday we had a single night stay on the 5th January 2013. We stayed in one of the penthouse rooms on the top floor and I have to say that the room compares to the best we have ever stayed in. We had the romance package and this included a nice bottle of cava in the room and a box of chocolates plus a card for my wife. We used the pool and spa which have been maintained to a high standard since our last visit in 2010. All the staff were really friendly. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough - well done Crown Spa - a class act !!

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor rooms they are fab and have amazing sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southyorks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, I am delighted that you had a lovely break and found that the standards of the Crown were once again as should be expected.


I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in early December 2012. The rooms were very comfortable. I especially liked the purple lights in the bathroom! The staff very friendly and helpful, with it being close to thr Christmas the hotel was decorated beautifully. My only comments on the downside were I don't think you should have to pay extra for an english breakfast or car parking. All in all an enjoyable stay and if going to Scarborough would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for a mostly positive review. Our continental breakfast package has over 30 items along with a hot dish of the day and is often the choice that guests take to keep the price of their stay down. Parking is available on street for free to our customers but at a cost to us for the the permit we purchase from the council. We only have 18 spaces in the hotel car park which are able to be pre-booked for convenience to our customers.

I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My wife and i stayed 2 nights in December on our second visit to this great hotel. As before, all the staff were so helpful, efficient and polite, the spa facilities are very good, room was fine and we both felt so comfortable during our stay, especially in the cosy bar area ! The winter rates here offer tremendous value and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurotripper45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for a lovely review, I am delighted that you had a lovely break. We do have some great deals during the winter months when Scarborough is a lot quieter but still as beautiful.

I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Loving every min!! gunna extend to another night if available. me and my pregnant fiance booked for 2 nights and are loving the relaxing atmosphere. we booked room 501 which is absolutly stunning, nice view over the town, mint bathroom with nice mood setting lights and tv. great remote control ceiling light and fan, fridge to chill the fresh orange juice and champers. clean room and great bed. not to mention the bed remaking service and clean up. this is defo a 4 star + dont want to leave :) thanks to all who made our stay a great one. will defo be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonnydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for a lovely review I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay, I have just checked with reception to check that you have actually gone home. 501 is a rear facing room but as you say offers stunning views over the town.

I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Consistently terrible. Arrived to find spa on early closing, and 'limited catering'. No warning given in advance of this or of 'sandwiches only' menu available on New Year's Eve. The evening meal was expensive, very poor and service was rushed. We were asked to sign for our wine in advance because, it was suggested, so many guests 'do a runner'. 1970s music on a loop made the restaurant feel like a cheap cafe. Bread tasted as if recently defrosted. '5th course' of a £35 menu was coffee served from an urn in an unused conference room.

Breakfast (not included) had cheap motel like ingredients including watery fruit juice from a machine, economy bread and sawdust consistency muffins.

Room was spacious which was helpful as wet room bathroom resulted in water escaping towards bedroom. Shower water was never hot. Extractor didn't work. Spa was dimly lit but not dimly enough to hide the grubby floors and bathrooms. Newspaper was offered and ordered but was not delivered.

Hotel denied receiving our new years eve meal booking despite booking by phone months before and checking 4 days before arrival. 'We never send out written confirmation but don't worry, your restaurant booking is here'. We checked out afer the first night!

After complaining, the hotel offered a 10% reduction on the room price and a discount on the meal, but then tried to add more than the reduction by charging for 4 imaginary cooked breakfasts and the non-existent newspaper! Although these charges were removed when we pointed out the error, no further reduction was made and no compensation was offered for the inconvenience of not getting the new year's eve stay we had expected.

We were disappointed by every aspect of this hotel, and do not think we were alone. We watched the faces of new arrivals on New Year's eve being told that the only food on offer would be sandwiches.

We can see that some people have written good reviews but BEWARE.

Room Tip: Sea views are good if you are prepared to pay the additional cost. Try somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sundial_Askwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
I do hope that any future customers will read this review along with all of the positive reviews that we regularly receive and make a decision to stay at the Crown based on the majority.

We always do our best to please all customers and clearly from check in we realised that this was not going to be possible, the 10% discount offered was I feel more than adequate for the issues brought to our attention on the day. Unfortunately on occasion we are not able to please every guest and it appears that this occasion was one of them.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
79 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We decided on another pre-Christmas break at Scarborough's Crown Spa Hotel, based on two previous very happy stays. We weren't disappointed. We arrived a little early for check in, and were offered complimentary coffee in the lounge while we waited. Check in was quick and straightforward, and we were upgraded to a penthouse sea view room, which was perfect. We were also given a free parking voucher which lasted the duration of our stay. We had a courtesy call from reception after an hour or so to check if we were happy with the room. The bed was very comfortable, the room was toasty warm, the en-suite was impressive with its integral TV at the end of the bath, and the included wi-fi was faster than anything I ever experience at home! We made full and daily use of the pool & spa facilities, which were well maintained and a pleasure to experience.

Continental breakfast was included in our deal, and this was very substantial, keeping us going well through the day. We used the Taste Bar restaurant on our second evening, and this was the only slightly negative experience - an elderly couple came in after us, but before we had given our order. It appeared to us that the staff were very keen to 'look after' this couple, and, indeed, their order was taken before ours, and a great deal of fuss was made of them. My partner had a word, and our order was taken shortly afterwards. The food, when it came, was very good. I mentioned our experience on checking out, and received an apology. This might seem a minor matter, but the point is surely that our money is as good as anyone else's, and if you are paying for four star service, you should get it.

Overall, we once again enjoyed our stay very much, and hope to be back before next Christmas.

Room Tip: go for a sea view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalifaxThespian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you once again for visiting the Crown over the festive period and taking the time to write such a positive and honest review. The only thing that pleases me more than a satisfied guest is a returning satisfied guest.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to our team at our next management meeting who I know will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing