We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We have just returned having spent 4 nights at the Crown Spa in Scarborough from 18th to the 22nd January.
Arrived just at the start of the snow to find a warm welcome from reception staff and a warmer welcome from the cozy log burner in the lounge.
We were checked in very quickly and asked if we had any personal requests eg newspapers (Independent-at room early every morning) and did we need any help with the luggage.
We had booked a saver deal without a sea view (via the hotel web site-much better.Excellent and easy to use) and were give room 101 on the first floor. OK so the view was out over the roof but we were not bothered about that as we were not there to sit in the room. However if you do wish a sea view request a higher floor. The view out the front of the hotel is very good as it sits high above the beach.
I have no idea what planet the previous unhappy reviewer was from. From the first minute we arrived we found all the staff to be polite,cheerful and attentive. The young lad in the bar with the black hair,beard and glasses was exceptionally good and was more than happy to help us with any queries we had. We could not fault the staff in any way.
The restaurant was beautiful and the menu offered a wide choice of high quality dishes at a reasonable price. Recommend the haddock and pea risotto, stuffed chicken breast and for veggies the butternut squash is delicious. All tastefully presented by pleasant and non intrusive waiting staff. Please note that there is always a wait for courses as I am sure each dish is freshly cooked to order. Absolutely worth the wait.
The wine list offers a good choice of reds and whites and for beer lovers the draught Theakstons is very good.
The small but very good leisure club offers a pool,sauna (3),steam room and jacuzzi. It is well tended and clean and I found nothing amiss despite the fact it was always steady with patrons.
The bedrooms are comfortable and well laid out and the en-suite has everything you would need. Water is always hot and plentiful and the coloured lighting is very different!
Scarborough itself is a rather typical English seaside resort. It seems to lack facilities and a range of restaurants to cater for visitors however there are some beautiful buildings and the hotel is 10 mins walk from the town centre. A car is ideal as places like Whitby,Filey and Bridlington are close by. Also Goathland (where Heartbeat was filmed) and Grosmont are well worth a visit.
And then after a busy day out come back and relax in the comfy seats in the lounge and enjoy a drink.
All in all an excellent hotel in a lovely part of the world. If you want a short break in Scarborough this is the hotel to book bar none. Just remember that if you want the sea view you need to pay a bit extra to get it but all the rooms are very comfortable.
Enjoy when you go

Room Tip: Get a high floor with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramsay3268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you very much for such a lovely in-depth and positive review. We do feel that the Crown has a lot to offer all guest but on occasion we to are perplexed at some of the reviews that we receive. I am delighted that everything was to your requirements and that you had an enjoyable stay.

I do hope that your next visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,357
    1,522
    549
    186
    135
See reviews for
711
3,008
142
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Had the pleasure of staying here last week for 3 nights (room 120) had excellent sea view room with french doors/windows and an ice covered balcony. Lovely sized room - lots of mirrors, could have done with a little more heat (it was minus something outside) and the draft in the en-suite was - well there. Binoculars is a great USP
Never thrilled to find shower curtains in a 4 star hotel - but lovely shower head & great bath.
Good wi-fi if a little flaky at times (weather & IT up grade I suspect)
Great bar staff - very friendly & chatty. Good Breakfast service & pleased we had booked the including cooked breakfast option (not the weather for cold buffet) Very good Smoked Haddock & Poached egg & hubby commented the Kippers were good too.
Why not 5 stars - well I booked this based on the environmental stance of the hotel - and whilst some elements were excellent other areas let them down having said that I'd stay there again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - the view of the bay is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you very much for a positive review. I am delighted that we almost received a five star rating, if you have the time I would be delighted to hear what your environmental concerns were as we continue to strive to be as environmentally friendly as possible and customer feedback is essential.

I do hope that your next visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Have stayed a number of times at this hotel for short breaks and have always enjoyed our stays.
Nice facililties and friendly staff. Free parking on road outside.
Top floor rooms are of a reasonable size, clean and well appointed. The room can be uncomfortably too warm at night.
Excellent continental breakfast selection and caters for dairy/gluten free diets without asking!
Close to beach, but a bit of a walk from the town. No restaurants/bars nearby.
Spa facilities are very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2coats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for a lovely review I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found the staff to be friendly.

I do hope that your next visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Staff - friendly and helpful.
Location - on the south shore but comfortable stroll into town.
Views - fantastic over the town and harbour.
Rooms - fantastic, complete with a pair of binoculars to overlook the town.

I can see why this is Scarborough's only 4 star hotel. This was our first visit to Scarborough but it won't be the last to the town or this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_O_28_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for a lovely review I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel fit your requirements.

I do hope look forward to you returning to Scarborough as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Last year we stayed at the Marine hotel in Troon Scotland and were very disappointed in the ambiance of the hotel.
Well what a change this year, we stayed at the Crown spa hotel in Scarborough, The moment we walked through the doors we found it to be superb, and nothing let it down.
The Operations manager David Chambers went out of his way to make everyones holiday one to remember, and we were gushing about it to all of our friends, so it worked.
Having picked one manager out I cannot leave out the others, they seemed to enjoy the experience as much as we did, nothing was too much trouble, The activities were just right, plenty to do without being in your face.
I could go on and on, but I think its enough to say that we will probably be going back again next year and am looking forward to it.
This is in my top ten of Hotels.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and had some lovely views, didnt get to see any of the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigbigroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay over the Christmas period and do hope that we are your choice for future festive holidays. Myself and the team really do enjoy the satisfaction we bring to our guests along and feel that we really are a part of the festivities at this time of the year.

We all look forward to you returning to Scarborough as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the Crown after another wonderful weekend visit to Scarborough.
Been here quite a few times over the last 10 years. In that time, the hotel has been upgraded from 3 stars to 4, and it is obvious that a lot of time, money and effort has been spent on making this possible.
We stayed on the first floor in a 'feature room with balcony'. The room was very spacious and well appointed, and with a great view over south bay and the spa complex. Got some lovely pictures of the sunrise!
The health club is a great way to recover from the endless trekking we seemed to do, walking up and down the paths surrounding the spa complex (you never get used to cimbing the steps at the end of the bridge, and the subsequent slope at the top).
The food in the hotel was fine, although the £30 fixed price dinner was very limited for choice.

Very enjoyable weekend. Hope to repeat it soon, although the children were not impressed that we did not take them! You need to have one little haven!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sparkycookie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review I am delighted that you have once again had an enjoyable stay. The fixed piece menu in Taste restaurant does change on a regular basis this along with the specials and lite bites menu I feel offers options for all.

We all look forward to you returning to Scarborough as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Wonderful hotel which dispelled all of the negative reviews on here. The rooms were fabulous, the staff very friendly and attentive. We will return.
We stayed in one of the first floor feature rooms. Having booked one of the 5th floor ones, which are more modern, and great in themselves, we decided that the more traditional was for us

Room Tip: In case you're nesh, the single glazing can let the wind in, however a small price to pay for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for a lovely review, I am delighted that you had a lovely break. We are confident that any future customers will read past some of the negative comments posted on this site and take a trip to the Crown to see that we really do offer great service.

We all look forward to you returning to Scarborough as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing