We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a proper hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is a proper hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on a very cold weekend in January and loved it. OK, it's an old building but that is part of it's charm. It's not a bland, chain hotel. It has character, as do the staff who went out of their way to make us welcome and happily moved us to a different room after a minor fault was discovered in ours(they also would have happily fixed the issue there and then but gave us the option of a room change if we wanted). The room was fantastic, spacious with French windows and the bathroom lighting is fun! The hotel had lots of interesting features(ask them about the clocks on reception) and the food was good. Seaview was excellent. Shame it was snowy as there seemed to be mini telescopes in most(all?) of the rooms. I enjoyed our stay so much that I was planning our return as we were driving home! It's not modern features that make a good hotel, it's the service you get and this place has great staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whoiarent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review, nothing delights me more than reading the heading A proper Hotel.

We always strive to resolve any issues our customers bring to us however small they may be.

I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,304
    1,490
    540
    182
    133
See reviews for
698
2,938
137
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (743)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We booked the romance package and were looking forward to an amazing weekend away.
Unfortunatley there were a few things that weren't quite what we expected.

The receptionist on check in was unhelpful - we wanted to know what time our spa treatments were booked for and we were told to walk tdown to the spa and check as she couldnt help - surely she could have called them for us??

The room was nice but unfortunatley we had two single mattresses pushed together - not ideal for a romance package!! There was no sugar on the drinks tray and only a sheet on the bed. A quick call to reception solved this.

We had a beautiful chandelier in our room - unfortunately it shook noisily everytime the people in the room above us moved :-(

The iron in the room was damaged an leaked water when you tried to use it.

My boyfreind ordered flowers as an extra - these were never delivered - apparently the florist didn't have time but no one thought to tell us.

Our Spa treatments were fantastic :-) the rasul mud treatment was out of this world!!

We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant that night - we booked for 8 oclock, unfortunately so did a family who thought it was acceptable for their young child to ride a scooter around the restaurant, followed by changing their child into her pj's in full view of the whole restaurant!! again not exactly what I wanted to see whilst trying to enjoy a romatic break.

Then to top it all off we were suprised to be charged £3.60 for Guiness - this price would have been fine for a pint of draught - but it was served straight from the can!!

All in all the hotel is beautiful, the location is perfect and the views are to die for, but we felt that the service wasn't what we expect from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Room 104 is noisy - over head noise from the room above
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luluboo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
May I first of all say I am very disappointed that you are slightly disappointed. It appears that numerous issues that could have easily have been resolved were not resolved and these have led to a review that could quite easily have been positive. I have since spoken to the heads of department to ensure that issues of this type do no re-occur.

With regards to the Guinness, the can you refer to is a surger and Guinness claim that the product is as good as draftbelow is the instructions from the Guinness website

Firstly, the same Guinness is used in the can as you get from a keg. This is then canned to seal in the freshness from Dublin.

The Guinness is poured from the can carefully and slowly into a pint size tulip beer glass (preferrably a Guinness branded one!). A few drops of water are placed onto the silver plate of the Surger unit, and the glass is then placed on the plate.

Press the "Surger" button, and then watch as the Surger unit activates the gases already in the Guinness beer, creating the famous surge and settle in the same way as a normal draught font would work. And as if by magic you have your perfect serve of Draught Guinness, every time !!

I do hope that this clears up the misconception with regards to the Guinness and hope that any visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Went to The Crown Spa Hotel for a weekend in January and once again the service and hospitality were first class. Have visited the hotel on numerous occasions over the last five years and have found the restaurant to be ok, but not always good. We felt that it was a bit hit and miss. I am pleased to report that we found the choice of food offered to be improved and the taste and presentation were both excellent. The buffet breakfast was much better in terms of choice and quality too, with a good selection for vegetarians. A most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We normally opt for a sea view but this time had a standard room overlooking the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 395Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for a lovely review, I am delighted that you had a lovely break. We are confident that any future customers will read past some of the negative comments posted on this site and take a trip to the Crown to see that we really do offer great service.

I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

This is our third stay at the Crown Spa, having stayed in a modern Penthouse room and rooms with balconies; it is definitely worth paying the extra for a sea view. We enjoyed sitting in the bar area last night beside the large log burner. The spa area, though small, is beautifully decorated and well equipped with saunas and a steam room, pool and jacuzzi. The staff are very friendly and we enjoy the warm atmosphere this period hotel offers.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank w0bblylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you very much for such a positive review, nothing pleases me and the staff more than when guests return and again have an enjoyable stay.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Lovely Hotel staff very friendly. My only critisim is the hotel was too warm but may be thats my age! Room was clean bathroom had mood lighting. Good choice for continental breakfast we upgraded to full english which was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you very much for a mostly positive review, I am sorry that you were disappointed in the continental breakfast and can only assume that yours was ordered as room service as we have over thirty items on the buffet and toast is made by the customer themselves.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night as we were going to see Gary Barlow at the futurist theatre. Lovely hotel, nice staff, nice clean room. The only disappointment was the continental breakfast. Burnt toast and fruit salad that looked like it has been sat in the bowl overnight. Really wanted to sample the spa but ran out of time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rackerscrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you very much for a mostly positive review, I am sorry that you were disappointed in the continental breakfast and can only assume that yours was ordered as room service as we have over thirty items on the buffet and toast is made by the customer themselves.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

Stayed for two nights in an Executive room (cost more but are worth it). The room (556) was lovely with two windows and views over the town and the south shore, king size bed, large tv and oak furniture. The bathroom was a good size with mood lighting, lovely smelling toiletries and tv at end of the bath and spotless. Used the spa area and as ever it was clean and well looked after, it was great to relax in the sauna and jacuzzi, there are even foot spas! Had a treatment in the spa which was great and the girl who did it (Jenny) was so friendly and polite and really made me feel at ease. Breakfast both mornings was good, I had continental which I cannot fault plenty of choice, (cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese, pastries) husband had full english which he said was good and enough to fill you. Ate at night in the taste bar and the food was very nice, reasonably priced and service at both was briilant, staff friendly and efficient. From checking in to checking out staff were excellent, helpful and friendly. On sunday we came back before the room had been serviced and we had no teabags and milk left but after a call to reception so was brought to our room straight away and delivered with a smile and pleasantries. Would definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on top floor (more expensive but ultra modern and worth it).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_GNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you very much for a wonderful and positive review. we do feel that the Crown is a great place to stay when visiting Scarborough and know that we have plenty to offer all guests.

I do hope that your next visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing