We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crown Spa Hotel Scarborough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

4,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,303
    1,490
    540
    182
    133
See reviews for
698
2,937
137
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I had stayed previously at the hotel with my mother however knew that my husband would also like it. By staying in November, we knew that there was no guarantee with the weather (well there isn't at any time of the year in this country :)) therefore with there being a spa, if the weather was bad, we wouldn't have to leave the hotel. We were very fortunate in that it was sunny but obviously cold therefore didn't use the facilities. We had dinner on our second night and it was cooked to perfection. Attentive staff in every department, welcoming without being too in your face. At the bar, I asked for a bottle of merlot however the bar staff were adamant that I try several different bottles before deciding!! The room was lovely however wish I'd requested a sea view when I booked but can only blame myself for that :(

Room Tip: Make sure you request a sea view as the scenery is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.


Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stumbled on this hotel on google. Me and my partner decided to book. It looked great so booked the romance 1 package. When we arrived we had been given a free upgrade on our room. This was fantastic. The room was excellent and very clean. The mood lighting in the bathroom was a nice extra touch. The staff were very friendly. The spa facilities were very clean and were a great way to relax at the end of a busy day out. The hotel restaurant was nice. A little pricey but still nice. Was glad I paid a little extra for the car parking. This is our first visit here but we are planning to go back soon

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.


Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

stayed at crown spa hotel for birthday celebration and enjoyed every minate ! gillian on reception helped me choose our room 114 which was so gorgeous with french doors and balcony and so big . every member of staff were so friendly , helpful and courteous . our meal in the restaurant was delicious followed by relaxing drink in lounge area next to log fire . really enjoyed pool,sauna etc and pool was decent size , would really reccomend this hotel as could not fault it in any way and will definately be staying again ! delightful,spotless,friendly and perfect setting what more could you ask for !

Room Tip: rooms on first floor with french doors and balcony and wonderful views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.


Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at this hotel, the rooms were immaculate and even though we both thought having a telly in the bath was stupid, turns out it is the best idea since the wheel. Food was pricey although you get what you pay for, and you can have a look at the menu on the website which is handy. Altogether a great time in a great hotel 5*

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexgw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.


Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights,in Room 102, which was beautifully presented and,with a balcony & sea view ,suited us perfectly.
All the staff we encountered, from Reception, Restaurant and Bar Staff, were friendly, helpful & efficient ,ensuring our stay was thoroughly enjoyed. Although the Restaurant food was fine, we found better value was had by eating from the Lite Bite menu, especially enjoyed whilst sitting in front of the log burner !
This hotel is individual, not at all like the bland "chain" hotels, and is be thoroughly recommended, not only for it's superb location, but for the overall fabulous experience we enjoyed during the beautifully sunny days of our stay (Feb 17-19).

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JKW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.


Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolshire, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed for one night at The Crown Spa. We booked directly with the hotel and we were glad we did. 5th floor super modern rooms! View breathtaking! Staff efficient, friendly and helpful. After a long walk we enjoyed a few drinks in front of the log burner. We ate at night in Taste the restaurant in the hotel. We were very impressed. Full English breakfast, spa and car parking permit included in our rate. Love this hotel and will return....:-)

Room Tip: 5th floor sea view pay more but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dulbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for a lovely review I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay I do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests.

I will certainly pass on your kind words to the management and team at our next management meeting.


Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing