We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better and give more value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
paradox5
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could do better and give more value for money”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The room was newly decorated and the hallways were freshly carpeted and clean.

Whilst our room was clean, however, housekeeping issues caused us to complain to reception on 3 occasions.

1) the bath unwashed 2) no bathrobes left on two days and 3) only 1 large towel left. On each occasion Reception apologised and got the matter attended to.

The room, although a superior one, was hot with only a large propeller type central fan which had to be left on all night, with the windows open. The windows being open, allowed the cooking smells from the kitchen below into the room, along with the sound of the screeching seagulls and the building work sending rubble down a shoot into a skip nearby.

Add to this the fact that breakfast is not included and costs an extra £15 pp per day and the hotel is not value for money.

For the cost of this hotel either air conditioning/ breakfast or sea view should be included.

Anne Wood

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel will avoid being over the kitchen. Get a superior room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paradox5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am disappointed that feel the hotel doesn’t offer value for money but feel that I cannot comment further as I have no idea what you paid or the room that you were allocated.

Unfortunately the warm weather we have been lucky to experience has at times made the hotel extremely warm, this is something I feel most of the UK has experienced in their own homes too. The seagulls can be a nuisance in the summer but this is one of the small issues we have to deal with having the pleasure of living by the sea.

We sell bedrooms on three levels, room only, bed and continental breakfast and bed and full English breakfast, the reason being is so that more people can enjoy the features and facilities of the Crown at a rate that suits them. We do have a menu that will allow anyone to have a lighter breakfast option from as little as £3.95.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.


Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,413
    1,565
    563
    194
    137
See reviews for
733
3,086
145
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Hotel is in a great location about 10 minutes walk from the train station, town centre and promenade. Friendly, helpful staff. Our room was on the fifth floor and was comfortable, spacious, bright and clean with a sea view. Breakfast was continental and was good. Modern restaurant with good choice of food and nice lounge bar too. Great stay would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. I am delighted that you chose the Crown for your recent stay and that everything was to your requirements. I will pass on your positive comments to the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.


Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stopped at this hotel a year ago just for one night and enjoyed it so decided on another visit for a few more days this time. We requested the same room number as we knew the room was nice and our request was met with.

Parking is hit and miss but we were lucky in finding a slot near the hotel and its very wise not to move your car if possible until you leave, but there is adequate parking in surrounding streets with the free parking disc you get from hotel reception.

In general, very pleased with the hotel, all the staff were very pleasant, location was great to explore the town from - definitely the nicer end of the town too!

My own little niggles were very minor in that the bedroom window next to the bed area has been "painted shut! so you cant open it. It was very humid during our stay and having only the one window that we could open, it got unbearably hot. There was a portable fan which was used which was great, but so noisy couldnt leave it on at night! That broke down after 2 days but within 5mins of ringing reception for a replacement, a larger one was sent up. I would hate to be in that room on a really hot day/evening with no air flow. Cant understand why the window has been sealed with paint?

Wi-Fi is free but i couldnt get a reception on my phone from our bedroom and it was limited from reception lobby area.

The safety deposit box in the room had no lock - the door just had a gap where the keypad should be... rather defeats the object ;-) Thankfully we didnt need it.

Would recommend this hotel for sure for anyone looking for a good base to explore Scarborough from, to relax and enjoy the views!

Room Tip: Definitely recommend a sea view room... took some great pics around 5am watching the sunrise over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lippyblonde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a mostly positive review. I am delighted that you chose the Crown for your recent stay and that most to your requirements were fulfilled.

I’m sorry that you were a little confused with the mechanism with the safety deposit box but instructions are on the door and in the bedroom information pack, the lock and keys are available from reception and when the lock is slotted into the hole in the door the key is removed, this does stop customers leaving with the key which was a problem in the past.

When we installed our WIFI system approximately 10 years ago we had 12 repeaters, we are almost finished with our recent upgrade which has seen some 15000 metres of cat6a cable laid and will be finished with 64 new repeaters which we hope will give excellent high speed coverage to most of the hotel.

I will pass on your positive comments to the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.


Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our first stay at this hotel.Lovely comfortable room with kingsize bed & very clean and modern bathroom..Didnt enjoy the continental breakfast it could have had more choice of bread & cheeses.The staff were polite throughout the hotel. Would definitely stay again, next time with a seaview though.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a mostly positive review. I am delighted that you chose the Crown for your recent stay and that most to your requirements were fulfilled. I do hope that you visit the Crown again and if you are not happy with the choices on continental breakfast please speak to the restaurant manager who I know will be happy to find something that suits.

I will pass on your positive comments to the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.


Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The hotel has a fantastic location with great views of Scarborough bay. We were really lucky to find parking right in front of the hotel. On arrival at reception, we were not acknowledged by the woman at reception, she was typing on her computer. When she eventually looked up, I smiled and greeted, she greeted, without a smile, or a hint of friendliness, it was most unpleasant. The rest of the check in was conducted with me feeling very unwelcome and upset. We were never asked if we needed help with our luggage despite my husband wearing a huge orthopaedic boot due to a slow healing fracture. The hotel is very old, and therefore lots of stairs up or down to floors in between the lift floors. We upgrade to a junior suite prior to check-in. On arrival at the 3rd floor, there were some wires sticking out of the wall, looked like work was unfinished. We had to go down a half floor by stairs, my husband struggles with stairs but we just about managed with me carrying all the luggage. We were given a disc to enable us to park without charge which was helpful.

The room was small but the bed was comfortable and good pillows. The upholstery of the sofa and chair could have done with a good vacuum as it was dusty. The windows do open to allow a bit of a breeze, as there is no air-conditioniing. The bathroom, was lovely, updated and clean, however they really skimped on the shampoo and body wash products. Considering there were two adults and child staying in the suite, we had two shower caps, one very small shampoo and body wash bottle and one very small body lotion only. We stayed in another hotel the previous night, and had a whole basket filled with lovely bottles of lotions and washes, so the difference was really very visible. Towels were quite small, not very luxurious, one expects a bit of comfort for a 4 star hotel. The coffee and tea facilities in the room were very good though, and we were able to make two very good cups of coffee with the cafetiere.

The breakfast the next morning was a bit average,more suited to a 3 star hotel. We were welcomed by the restaurant staff, and waiters were pleasant. However the fruit was tinned, and not a fresh fruit in site. The bread was pre-cut supermarket bought loaves (not 4 star at all). The continental option was really quite dismal, pre cut supermarket cheap ham. We ordered smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which was not bad. Our daughter ordered a pancake which was so thick the middle was not cooked through.

Check out was a happier experience, as there were different staff, who were very pleasant and friendly. I have completed the hotel's own survey and named the surly staff in the hope they will get training or be moved somewhere out of the public domain. Such a shame about our initial poor welcome, it set the tone for the rest of the stay. Customer experience is vital for a happy stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that the welcome at check in was not was to be expected, we are often commended on the welcome that we offer our guests on check in and during their Stay. I do wish that you had ask to speak to a manager with regards to the way you felt at check in.

We are currently having a new phone system put in along with upgrades of the WIFI this as you state has left some wires in certain areas looking as if something hasn’t been finished, these are only telephone wires and in most areas protrude from the walls and ceiling by one or two inches.

All bedroom sundries are available to be topped up at any time throughout the day with a simple call to reception, I am glad that you found the coffee facilities were of a good standard.

We carry over 40 items and 15 items for special diets on our continental breakfast including a hot dish of the day, our ham is cooked and sliced on the premises and along with the tinned grapefruit segments we do have a selection of fresh fruits, I do recommend to all customers that if you don’t see what you want don’t hesitate to ask because if we can we will provide.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.


Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times. On our most recent visit we booked a comfort room with king bed, but got upgraded to a superior with sea views without asking. The room was spacious and well appointed, very clean and comfortable bed. The only downside was that it got very hot in the Morning. The staff are all very friendly, polite and professional. It was also very handy having the gym/spa to use when the weather want too great.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markl8006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, I am delighted that you have once again enjoyed your stay and appreciated the upgrade, we do try to upgrade all customers when possible. The weather has been extremely warm and with the early sunrise beating down on the Crown the morning does seem to be the warmest.

I do hope that you return to Scarborough and continue to come back to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than returning guests.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.


Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I was very disappointed by the standards in this hotel. The room was quite good on the fifth floor( no 4th floor?) but some of the staff were surly, not even a good morning from our waiter on the first morning and the receptionist was totally surly , I felt we were a nuisance by being there. Breakfast fruit, tinned mandarins and grapefruit, a tiny amount of fresh fruit, and the bread for toasting was awfull, only one loaf to slice being available, which soon disappeared, on asking for more of that loaf, was told that was it! At £140"00 a night, not acceptable.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorksteve23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
May I first of all say how sorry I am that you felt some of the standards of the hotel were below average, we do often receive many positive comments regarding the staff and the food. I will check the management log to see if any complaints were logged and do hope that you brought these issues to the attention of the duty manager.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review, we do read and reply to all reviews and use them to better our product for future guests.


Kind Regards


David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,239 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,874 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,404 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing