We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
shipley,west yorkshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

My daughter booked an overnight stay on the 23rd November for my 50th birthday. We had a super king room and was very pleased with it. The room and bathroom were very clean and the bed very comfy. It was very cold outside and the room and bathroom were kept warm with the heating coming on and can be turned down if it gets too warm. We didn't eat at the hotel but did use the swimming pool and the sauna and were both good to use but was due to close at 8 and we didn't get there till 7.30 so a bit of a rush, would have liked more time but our fault as we never checked the closing time. The reception desk is quick sorting out and seemed helpful and friendly. All in all a good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review I will pass on your positive comments to all of the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,303
    1,490
    540
    182
    133
See reviews for
698
2,937
137
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Lovely Hotel and so quite,the room was so nice and so relaxing. The staff were were excellent and would bend over backwards to help you especially the receptionist Cherry she got me flowers at such short notice( thanks) id recommend to any one the Crown Spa Hotel as its the best in Yorkshire pure class

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Transportdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review I will pass on your positive comments to all of the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton upon Humber, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Booked a seaview room at The Crown Spa Hotel Scarborough on the internet. On arrival was impressed by the hotel, its quality and friendly, efficient reception staff. Room was brilliant - clean, well well decorated and equipped to a high standard. Spa staff also impressive and helpful, as was the lady who was responsible for cleaning rooms on our corridor. Pool, fitness suite and facilities excellent and well maintained. Would recommend the hotel and its beautiful location overlooking Scarborough South Bay.

Room Tip: Special birthday visit so booked seaview room - excellent view over South Bay and the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review I will pass on your positive comments to all of the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

we stayed for 2 nights and took in a show at the Spa theatre (very handy via cliff lift). we stayed in a sea view mini suite and the decor and furnishings could not be faulted. a couple of minor niggles were that the bath towels were small and that wi-fi was only free for the first 2 hours (a bit penny pinching considering the room rates). staff were efficient and friendly and breakfast was very good indeed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tollertonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leaving a mostly positive review. the demands on the hotel wifi as I am sure you will understand have become extremely high with video streaming and the amount of devices that customers now carry. We have recently upgraded our system and have found that the free two hours a day has been well accepted and an upgrade for a further 8 hours cost just £1.50, for full free access just ask about the advantages package on booking.

I will pass on your positive comments to all of the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We booked this hotel the day prior to arriving and chose a king room with breakfast.
On arrival we were complimentary upgraded to a sea view room on the top floor which had great views over the town and Southern Bay.
The room had "mood lighting" which we found rather dull, but a couple of additional lamps were quickly fetched when we mentioned it which was appreciated.
When we booked, through Booking.com, it stated that free WiFi was included, as did the welcoming letter that was given to us by reception. This is NOT the case, Free WiFi is only for 2 hours per day and you have to pay extra if you do not want it for more than 2 hours. This penny pinching is not what is expected from a 4* hotel that advertises "Free WiFi" I believe that most people would expect free WiFi 24/7.
The spa was quite good, but the Spa pool was rather cold, but when we mentioned it at the Spa reception the temperature was increased as the next day it was warmer. Only half of the spa jets were working in the very large spa bath which was a shame also it was very dark with lights not working. The gym was quite good with the usual range of CV and weight apparatus.
We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening which was average to good for both quality and value. Breakfast, like the WiFi is on the penny pinching scale as "breakfast included" only means continental and not the full English. If you wanted a full breakfast this was an additional charge. The continental breakfast selection was quite good though, but I feel for a 4* Hotel full breakfast should be included or at least made clear when booking, which is was not in my case.
Overall we enjoyed our stay as the staff were very friendly and helpful just a little annoyed with the above moans.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil-le18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a mostly positive review. I would have to disagree that we are penny pinching but instead offering cheaper alternatives so that anyone can come and enjoy what we have to offer at the Crown. We offer various packages with various agents from room only, room with continental breakfast or room with full English the company you booked with do clearly state on their website and booking confirmation that the reservations are with continental breakfast

I will pass on your positive comments to all of the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

we arrived at the crown, fri 15th & left sun 17th.. we booked for the northern soul scarboro spa weekender, with 4 other friends, ex hotel, room 307, as always very clean, 40" tv, walk in shower & bath with over head shower.. the coloured lights in the bathroom are lovely.. continential breakfast is very nice.. the breakfast room is very nice.. lounge area with fire burning away on a november night is homely & warm..
views of the coast spectacular, spa, pool, sauna rooms, everything you need for a relaxing weekend away.. this is our fourth time here and every visit has been excellent.. looking forward to our fifth..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, I am delighted that both the Crown and the Soul weekend were both enjoyable and do hope that you return again next year.

I will pass on your positive comments to all of the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were recommended to the Crown Spa by a friend who has similar health problems to me, and it was a lovely relaxing break for my wife and myself. Room a little small, but everything was as described, and the pool and spa were a pleasant diversion on a wet Saturday!

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room if you can pay the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, I do hope that your health has improved and that your stay at the Crown has helped. The spa is a wonderful place to spend a cold winters day and could have you believe it was the middle of summer outside.

I will pass on your positive comments to all of the staff and management who will be delighted that we have another satisfied customer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to leave a review as we do respond to all feedback and use it to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing