We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best in Scarborough, and what a spa......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My girlfriend treated me to the Crown Spa for my birthday, as we have been quite disappointed by some of the the other hotels in the area. I had read the reviews on this site, that were largely positive, and I found the overall experience fantastic. It is now very difficult to think of anywhere else to go to when we return as a result of this. From the complimentary hot drinks upon our arrival, to the cleanliness of the hotel, the approachability and welcoming nature of the staff to the great hotel room. The blackout curtains certainly helped to have a great night's sleep and the pink lights in the bathroom certainly added a slick feel to the place. The continental breakfast buffet bar the next day was also a highlight with plenty of choice and high quality food. The absolute highlight of the stay though had to be the free use of the spa. What more could you ask for than a swimming pool, two saunas at different temperatures, a steam room and a foot spa. What a place and my idea of total relaxation. Avoid some of the more naff hotels and make a trip to here for luxury, great food and service and a top spa experience...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and I do hope you had a lovely birthday! I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the management at The Crown Spa Hotel. I noticed you enjoyed the use of our spa facilities, we have recently won 3rd best Health Club in the UK and the health club is extremely popular.


We do hope you return to the hotel and would look forward to welcoming you back. Please feel free to browse our direct website where you can view prices and availability. If you are to book through our website you will receive the advantage offer. May I also highly recommend our Romance and Spa packages also available to view on our website.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is of great importance to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for guests.


Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,909)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,794 - 3,800 of 4,909 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

We only stayed for one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it and made the most of the facilities on offer.

PRO'S - Friendly service, quality of restaurant food (although not cheap), jacuzzi, sauna/steam rooms, hydro-foot massage, gym. bathroom.

CON'S - Parking; book in advance for £6 per night. Do not rely on there being a space on the street, Pool is TINY, our room was small, had to pay for internet, room was really hot and had to open window.

Room Tip: No need to use the lift if on 1st floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilmarshall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and also made the most of the facilities we have to offer. It is advisable to book a car park space for a small additional fee, however we are able to supply you with a complimentary parking permit which covers a 25 street radius surrounding the hotel, the permit will cover you for your entire length of stay.


We would hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future, please feel free to browse our direct website to view prices and availability. If you book on our website you will also receive our advantage offer which includes, unlimited wifi, a later check out time of noon and further discounts on in house purchases.


I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. If you find yourself to be uncomfortable in anyway throughout your stay, please bring it to the attention of reception and we will take immediate action in making you feel as comfortable as possible.Thank you again for leaving feedback, it is of great importance to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had a fabulous long weekend, everything experienced was excellent. Eight family members stayed , with varing age groups .we were celebrating my daughters 40th birthday. The two of us had a full day in the spa and also had beauty treatments, we were looked after very well , special mention to the spa manager who bent over backwards to make sure we had a perfect day.Staff couldn't do enough for you. We had a suite very roomy with a separate lounge that converted in another bed on the evening.Breakfast was good ,plenty of choice , you can upgrade to a cooked breakfast, again very good. Very relaxing, peaceful , with friendly ,helpful caring staff. You get what you pay for .Yes we would stay again and would recommend it to family and friends .Thank-you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Service. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us, I do hope your daughter enjoyed her birthday. Having spent a full day in our Health Spa I am sure you will know it makes a fantastic gift for a loved one. We have a wide range of treatments available, with highly experienced therapists and natural spa products which have not been tested on animals. The treatments manager Liz Stevenson is an extremely popular member of staff, with a wonderful nature who many turn to for professional advice.


I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Thank you again for leaving feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed with my family last weekend to celebrate my parents 60th wedding anniversary and had the most fantastic time. From beginning to end the staff were fabulous and made the occasion very special. Loved the location of the hotel, we all had sea view rooms which i would definitely recommend. The spa facilities are excellent as are the staff who went out of their way to show us around and they allocate time for adults only. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSusan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Service. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us and congratulations to your parents for their 60th wedding anniversary. We are extremely lucky to have such a fabulous location and booking a sea view room is recommended as you are able to make the most of the beautiful views.


The Health Spa has a lovely serene atmosphere where you are able to lull yourself into a state of deep relaxation. The spa keeps to designated children swimming times which are available to view on our direct website. Therefore you are able to avoid these hours if you wish.


We do hope you return to the hotel and would very much look forward to welcoming you back. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here for one night on our way to Newcastle. Decided to splash out on an executive room with a sea view but to be honest was a little disappointed. The reception staff and the bar staff were great - no complaints. The room was very nicely furnished but a little on the small side. The main problem was the lighting/electrics. I don't think I've ever seen so many switches in one room. There were 8 different lights all with separate switches in different parts of the room but even when all turned on the room was very dim. My wife was not happy when getting ready to go out for the night.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to write a mostly positive review, I am always disappointed if there are aspects of a customer’s stay that they didn’t enjoy. I do agree there are a lot of light switches in the room nut I am sure you realised after experimenting that these control the mood lighting etc. Had a call been made to reception with regards to what you felt was insufficient lighting I would have been happy to have someone look at resolving this.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review as we do read, respond and use these reviews as a benchmark to better the experience for future customers.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My partner had booked this for a relaxing weekend on the 08/11/13 we had a fantastic time, the room was very well furnished,and very clean. The spa and facilities are excellent, the staff are friendly and very helpful, the breakfast was perfect too. We will definitely be coming back

Thanks again

David & Cathie Banks

Room Tip: Definitely a must!!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Service. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I do hope your aim to feel relaxed has been fulfilled! We do hope you return to the hotel and would look foreword to welcoming you back.


Please refer to our direct website when planning your return as you can benefit from our advantage offer, including a later check out, unlimited wifi connection and further discounts.


I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is of great importance to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


Kind Regards,


Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed here last week and had the best time! The hotel is lovely and they upgraded us on arrival to a king room overlooking the bay.Big windows.Nice comfortable bed.I can't say enough nice things about the place!
Maureen/USA

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobiejuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you had a great time last week whilst staying with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel.


We do hope you return to the hotel in the future, please do feel free to browse our direct website where you can benefit from the advantage offer when booking.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is of great importance to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


Kind Regards,


Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £67 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing