We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was brilliant . We had a fabulous room with a balcony , lovely bathroom , particularly liked the mood lighting over the bath itself . TV in bathroom , so you could really lie back and unwind .
Went to the Spa and had a swim, Turkish Sauna, foot spa and also used the Aroma Suite . The best thing for me was the Spa Bath, I was expecting the usual round Jacuzzi type of thing, but this was one you could actually swim in . Brilliant !

Check in and out, was very efficient, the staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful . The hotel itself and our room were spotlessly clean .

Liked it so much , I booked another stay while I was there, can't wait to come back .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We are also pleased that you had time to use the health spa, sometimes, nothing but expert pampering will do. If you crave a de-stress or would like to bring some balance back into your life, a spa treatment / package is the perfect way to do so. Our years of experience and first class therapists will make you never want to leave. I would recommend pre-booking treatments to avoid any disappointment.


We do hope that you return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I advise booking through our direct website as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a noon checkout time, 10% discount from your food, treatments and more.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,230
    1,442
    525
    179
    130
See reviews for
678
2,839
131
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 1 night and was amazed at how great everything is. Very polite staff, Fantastic food that just cant be faulted. The pool and saunas we looked forward to and was everything we expected and more. The room itself was amazing and very spacious. The very large tv in the room was supreme. A great view from the balcony, very comfy bed and nice thick carpets. The bathroom was large with a great over head shower. We took our own champagne and phoned room service for 2 glasses and was promptly brought to the room even though we suggested that we could go to reception to collect them. Absolutely fantasic. Every aspect of the Hotel is perfect. Ive read reviews stating that rooms above reception was noisy. We couldnt disagree more because we had a lovely sleep. Just dont forget to put your door keycard in the slot inside the room next to the door to turn on the electricity because I didnt spot it straight away and spent a couple of minutes trying the turn the tv on hahaha. Im a typical man but my partner spotted it. Your suppose to look through the welcome pack when you enter the room as it states in that about the room and hotel. Being me, I went straight for the tv remote ha. This hotel is definitely a must for people who want a stay with the added quality. Simply Perfect!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. The room that you stayed in is a Deluxe Feature room with a Sea View and Balcony. They are beautiful rooms with a touch of opulence, full French windows lead out to the balcony area where you can sit and watch the world go by!


We do hope that you return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a noon checkout time, 10% discount from your food and more. If you require champagne we can arrange this prior to you arriving so that it is waiting for your arrival, you can arrange this by calling direct. We also have spa and romance packages which include sparkling wine and many more added benefits ensuring that your experience is extra special.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed at the crown spa for 2 nights whilst walking the Cleveland way had great time. Leisure facilities were fantastic and most welcome. Swimming pool and spa sauna great , the gym could actually be called a gym and even had classes we could book Great!!!, we had full body massage together and was great not to soft which helped my aching limbs. Staff were amazing food was great and the bedroom had everything trouser press, iron and even tv in the bathroom, filter coffee and cafietiere couldn't ask for more .Parking was not on site but voucher given to park round the hotel. Great stay thank you!

Room Tip: First floor have balcony views and more traditional fifth floor more modern and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. When you are a guest with us you receive full use of the award winning health spa which is a fantastic addition, however when the weather is on your side you are surrounded by the town centre, foreshore and many exciting attractions.


We do hope that you return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a noon checkout, 10% discount from your food, treatments and more. We do also have a private car park which has limited availability and can be booked by calling us direct.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for futures guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

we stayed on the penthouse floor , view not the best but it was peaceful and the room had everything... fridge, tea making facilities, toiletries in room, trouser press/ iron even a tv in the bathroom, we had lovely breakfasts lovely outside area and a stroll away from the beach, parking although not on site was quite close by so was not a problem, staff helpful and friendly gym well equipped and pool and spa was a welcomed end to a long few days of hiking

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the sea with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. The rooms that have a balcony are the Deluxe Feature rooms which come with a Sea View and Balcony. They are beautiful with a touch of opulence, full French windows lead out to the balcony area where you can sit and watch the world go by!


We do hope that you return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through the direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a noon checkout, 10% discount from your food and more. We do offer a semi-secure car park at the back of the hotel which has limited availability, if you call direct we can check the availability for this.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for futures guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Once again my husband and I stayed in the hotel. We just love it, the staff are very welcoming and we know so many of them as we have stayed there so many times over the past 3 years. For us the location is perfect as our son and family live nearby and feel free to pop into see us . Indeed it is so welcoming that our little granddaughter treats the hotel as hers.!!! We had an upgrade this time, thank you David and have to say it was excellent. We loved the fan on the roof , the spaciousness of the room and the TV in the bathroom. The room as usual was spotlessly clean, with lots of lovely coffee, tea bags and biscuits, the housekeeping staff as usual were just wonderful. We found all the staff very professional, helpful and obliging . I was a little dismayed to discover that the light bites menu had changed, if I got it right. We had an evening meal there and have to compliment the staff who catered so well for little Sophie ensuring she got her meal as quickly as possible. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. Thanks to all the staff and will see you in October. Already made our booking.

Room Tip: We do have a favourite room, on floor 3 , forgotten which number, but the staff know which one it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us and I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We are pleased that on this occasion you had received a complimentary upgrade, as you are a valued customer, you are our absolute number one priority and we wish to make your experience as enjoyable as possible. We do hope that you continue to return and we will look forward to welcoming you back in October.


The Light bight menu is now combined with the restaurant menu and is available all day however we would recommend booking from 6pm; alternatively for a less informal dining option you may enjoy coffee and light meals on the sun terrace.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We spent just 2 days at the hotel and didn't move more than one street away.
It is so relaxing and comfortable, the facilities are brilliant and the staff are warm and welcoming, they could not do enough for us.
This is what I would call an adults hotel, Calm and friendly.
The pool spa and sauna are an added FREE bonus.
We will be back for a longer stay very soon.

Room Tip: Try get a balcony room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TattooInka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. The rooms that have a balcony are the Deluxe Feature rooms which come with a Sea View and Balcony. They are beautiful with a touch of opulence, full French windows lead out to the balcony area where you can sit and watch the world go by!


We do hope that you return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through the direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. I would also advise viewing our spa and romance packages which include many added benefits and ensure that your experience is made extra special.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stay here every October for our Annervarsary, always have a lovely time and relax in the spa. We have a light stroll down the front and order midnight room service. Very romantic place for us and would reccomend to anyone.

Restaurant serves nice food and not that overpriced for the quality your getting.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we would like to congratulate you both on your anniversary! I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. The Hotel is renowned for its good food. Using the very best of local produce the Taste Restaurant offers fine dining and quality cuisine ranging from smart casual to formal.


We do hope that you continue to return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. May I also advise viewing our spa and romance packages which include many added benefits and ensure that your experience is extra special.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotelopia and TravelUp so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing