We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. the staff were so friendly and helpful. We stayed on the 3rd floor with a sea view. A telescope was even provided for looking out over the sea. The food was excellent with quick service.
We were booked in for three nights but enjoyed it so much we stayed longer and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Y0ukn0wus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I always recommend booking a Sea View room, the views are beautiful and if you are lucky enough to catch the sunrise, that is a view you will never forget. You also receive the use of a telescope so that you can explore the view further. We are also pleased that you visited the restaurant. Offering quality cuisine and using only the very best of local produce, the Taste Restaurant has a very unique arrangement; with separate dining sections and rooms allowing intimate dining, ranging from casual to formal.


We do hope that you return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a noon check out time, 10% discount from your food and more.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,693 - 3,699 of 5,002 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

I spent only 1 night there (wish it was more!) but really enjoyed the stay.
The reception staff were very efficient and friendly; they gave me a map of restaurants in the town and recommended a good family one for myself and my young daughter.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cucciola19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your daughter have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. The hotel is surrounded by many exciting activities and restaurants enjoyable for all ages. Do not miss out on the Harbour Bar Ice Cream, famous for its knickerbocker glories, miniature railway, water chute, pedaloes, mini golf and more.


We do hope that you return as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

When you look at the hotel from the outside you can tell that you are going to a very nice hotel. Some hotel owners do not always bother painting the outside façade but to me first impression count and this one is quite impressive with the clean paintwork and painted Crown over the entrance.

When you enter the hotel reception is on your right (I wish the granite in my kitchen was a nice as the granite on the reception desk) and the lounge and bar on your left. Every member of the reception staff were very pleasant and friendly, always asking if everything was ok. In fact, we had only been in our room for ten minutes when they telephoned to ask if everything was to our liking, which was a first for us.

We had booked a sea-view room but were upgraded to an executive sea-view room, which was very nice indeed. The bed was comfortable, lots of storage, all the usual amenities large flat screen TV, tea/coffee, iron/board, writing desk, two easy chairs and a lovely window seat plus telescope and finally a TV to watch whilst lazing in the very modern bath/bathroom which had mood lighting. The room was very warm but there was a large fan/light, which cooled the room with very little noise. The hotel was really quiet despite there being a wedding taking place on one of the days we were there.

We had continental breakfast, which was plentiful with the usual selection of cereals, meats, cheese, bread etc. on offer. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on one of the nights and enjoyed the nicely cooked and presented food. There was a good choice to choose from on the menu.

We had coffee and lunch in the town but the hotel prices were, in fact, cheaper than in the town and you got a biscuit with your coffee at the hotel and not in the town.

Parking is not a problem as there is on street parking all around the hotel you just need to get a ticket from the hotel to place in your car. We left ours parked down a side street for the whole time we stayed and just walked everywhere.

The hotel is disability friendly with ramps etc.

All in all we had a really nice break and would definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Teddy-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. The hotel was originally built in 1845 containing great architectural beauty, with the most commodious arrangements and furniture corresponding in every respect with the superior character of the building. The location of the hotel is fantastic as you are able to leave the vehicle here whilst visiting most of the attractions on foot. We are also a five minute walk away from the bus and train station.


We do hope that you return as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes 10% discount from your food, treatments, laundry and more.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent. Myself and my boyfriend were having an anniversary weekend away together.
Right from the off set we were met with warmth and made to feel very welcome. The staff were very friendly and always on hand to deal with any questions of problems we may have had were able to give us all the information we needed, when asked. The room was excellent and the view was stunning. Breakfast was lovely and cosy and the waiting staff were always on hand to make sure everything was fine. As a first timer within the spa treatment world, I was a little unsure of what to expect but with lovely staff and a great atmosphere, I was put at ease.
This place not only looked good, the atmosphere was good.
We will definitely be going back and I most certainly recommend this hotel for a romantic couples weekend.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room as the view from the back is not great. Also double check your rooms view befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We are lucky to be in a fantastic location, a short walk away from the town centre and if the weather is on your side we are also a short walk from the beautiful foreshore and harbour. May you find that the weather is not on your side you do receive full use of the award winning Health Spa when you are staying with us. The spa has a serene atmosphere where you are able to bring yourself into a state of deep relaxation which you will never want to leave. We offer various spa and romance packages which include many added benefits such as chilled wine for your arrival, Mud Rasual treatment and more.


May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can receive the advantage package. Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

First visit and we would definitely return! Lovely room, attentive staff, great food! Spa was fabulous too! Wish we had stayed longer! Would highly recommend! Only slight downside was breakfast on the last morning, little bit of a wait and not much breakfast for £8, although it was tasty!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Soonnottobemissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope that you return as we would look forward to welcoming you back. The £8 breakfast is an express version, we also offer a fuller sized option, a good day deserves a good breakfast and we are proud to use the finest Yorkshire ingredients in preparation of our breakfast. May I also recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a noon checkout time, 10% discount from your food and more.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We have visited many times over 40 years, we have seen it well groomed and cared for, and tired and unkempt. This week we again visited, and we think that overall it is the best it has ever been. Our full sea view room (104) was a lovely large room, with a comfy bed and decent pillows (very important) The view is the probably about the best you can get in Scarborough, and a nice touch in the form of ground coffee making facilities. It is obvious that the room started life in the Victorian era, with a cast iron fireplace, and many times painted plaster decor, however it was in good condition, clean, tidy and tastefully finished off. The bathroom was a little quirky, but it is all part of the charm. Good strong WIFI. The hotel overall is very nice and clean, well decorated, although that must be hard to keep up when the building is so close to the North Sea. The Pool and changing room is spotless, with a lovely comfy towel, not a worn out rag. All the staff are chatty, friendly and fun - we know they are supposed to be, but so many other places the staff get tired of all that. Here they really do try hard, and really seem interested in us. Great stay, don't know how they got the weather so good though. We'll be back again and again, as long as we can.

Room Tip: As always - you get what you pay for. Room 104 is large, has a large TV & has a quirky bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MalsHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us. The Sea View is one of the best in Scarborough and with the use of a telescope you are able to explore the view further. The hotel was originally built in 1845, containing great architectural beauty, with the most commodious arrangements, and the furniture corresponding with the superior character of the building. Room 104 is a Deluxe Feature room with Sea View and balcony and is situated on the first floor.


I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope that you continue to return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back and I shall try to organise some more good weather for your arrival. May I advise booking through the direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had a lovely overnight stay in the hotel. Staff could not have been more polite or helpful. Hotel was very well appointed and the room we had (Junior Suite?) was exactly what we need for 2 adults, 1 child and an infant. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. The junior suites are situated on the third floor, with a bedroom, bathroom, lounge and fireplace which means you effectively have a ‘city’ style pad to relax in. Some also have amazing sea and coastal views.


We do hope that you return as we would look forward to welcoming you back. There are many activities to explore in the local area, Scarborough castle, Peasholm Park, miniature golf, surfing school, museums and much more. Being in such a fantastic location you do not need to travel far to visit any of these attractions. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to im-prove the hotel for future guests.

With kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £65 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing