We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in Every way!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
East HULL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic in Every way!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here overnight on 17/08/14. The staff are fantastic, so friendly & helpful, couldn't do enough!

Im writing this review as we celebrated my Nan's 80th birthday at this hotel. We wanted somewhere extra special... After many conversations and emails since February, when the day finally came around it was perfect. We booked 5 rooms, all different types, each of them were brilliant, my nan & grandad had a sea view mini suite and the hotel put a personalised birthday card & box of chocolates in their on arrival. They organised a special room off the main Taste Restaurant and it was decorated beautifully with balloons and they made name cards and even a personalised photograph menu. The food was wonderful in the restaurant as was the afternoon we had delivered to our rooms.

This hotel is really top class and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Robins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review. We are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we do hope that your Nan enjoyed her 80th birthday! I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. The hotel is renowned for its good food, throughout the day we offer you the best in beverage and dining options for all occasions. Using quality cuisine and the very best of local produce, this is a place to indulge yourself. The food is pure delight, where quality and attention keep us awake at night, not you!



We do hope that you return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a late check out time, 10% discount from your food and more.



Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,404
    1,557
    559
    189
    136
See reviews for
727
3,070
144
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great position and lovely views from a elevated position of the south bay , the room was nice and great bathroom and king size bed. In hindsight I would have paid the extra money for a room on the front of the hotel as my room had no view what so ever . Room was noisy at night as cooling fans were left on for a full 48 hours we were in the hotel , my wife had to sleep with ear plugs .I was in room 119 on the first floor.i have scored the room average due to the noise and view.

Room Tip: Book a front of hotel room , more expensive but probably worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianwormley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review. We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us overall. May I advise to always make reception aware of any issues at the time of your stay, enabling us to resolve the issue with immediate effect. As a valued customer, you are our number one priority and we wish to make you experience as enjoyable as possible, even in the early hours staff are here to help. I would always recommend booking a sea view room as the views looking out to Scarborough's harbour and bay are well worth it. You also receive the use of a telescope to explore the view further and you may be lucky enough to catch the sunrise above the horizon.



We do hope that you return as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the Advantage package. This includes unlimited wifi, a late checkout, 10% discount from your food and more.



Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for a single night and were very impressed with the hotel. Our room was spacious, the bathroom was vast with a great 'rainforest' shower. Everything worked and we were very comfortable. (The view from the room was disappointing, as we were at the back, but we hadn't asked for a sea view). The staff were really excellent, from the chambermaid who helped us find our room on arrival, to the bar staff and reception. We have stayed here before, and will do again. This hotel has a fabulous location and views, does not feel stuffy or pretentious, but delivers consistently high standards. I love it!

Room Tip: Room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review. We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. I would always recommend booking sea view room as the views are well worth it, looking across the Scarborough's beautiful harbour and bay. The sea view rooms also include the use of a telescope so that you can explore the view further!



We do hope that you continue to return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the Advantage package. This includes unlimited wifi, a late checkout, 10% discount from your food and more.



Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the penthouse suite.

The room was terribly hot, with only a ceiling fan (plus open windows) to try and keep temperatures down. No air com or room temperature control.

There was a mini bar, but it was completely empty.

There were no bath robes, and one main bath towel provided for each person.

Breakfast was terrible, cutlery was dirty, and stainless steal teapot covered in dirty fingerprints.

However food was much nicer for room service. Unfortunately the chicken has obviously been cooked after a tuna steak as stunk and tasted of tuna.

The view out of the room was lovely and the location great. Parking round the corner was also no bother, other than been very narrow bays. So beware of dings in your doors where fellow hotel residents push their car doors open on to yours.



  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Insertnamehere30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am always disappointed when any of our customers are not totally satisfied with any aspect of the hotel its staff and the service and will be looking further into the issues that you have brought to my attention.

We do not advertise a mini bar service a s we offer room service 24 hours a day the refrigerator in your room was just for your personal use.

All rooms are normally provided with two bath robes and I offer my apologies that they were not in your room upon arrival, I do hope that this was reported to reception when they made their satisfaction check as I know at this stage the issue would have been quickly resolved.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review as we do read and respond to all reviews and use them to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel to stay 7 nights, booked a year ago in person. Various irritations during our stay (which we shortened by 2 nights) included: being asked to pay for the stay up front, not a great impression on first arrival!; no ventilation in the bathroom - we raised this with Reception who were going to get maintenance to sort it out, but still hadn't happened when we left; no soundproofing between our room and the next, through a party door. This was solved, otherwise we would have left straight away; we ate, very good food, in the hotel every night, and there was not one evening that went smoothly - we had to call waiters often instead of them coming to us. There were several trainees and not enough training had been done, E.g. Last night we had to wait 25 mins for cheese and biscuits (our 2course meal took 1 hr 30 mins from start to finish). The standard of waiting and housekeeping was not what we would consider 4*; in the bathroom the loo roll was placed right under the shower controls so if you adjusted the controls with wet hands from the shower you soaked the loo roll. These could have all added up to a miserable experience, but in spite of everything the staff were friendly and very willing to put things right. Recommendations are to tighten up and get more professional,otherwise you will not please many people!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am always disappointed when any of our customers are not totally satisfied with any aspect of the hotel its staff and the service. As you did state in your review staff were willing to resolve any issues that you may have had which is something that always happens if an issue arrives.

Your stay has been during the cricket festival and the hotel has been extremely busy which I feel would have added to the delays within the restaurant.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review as we do read and respond to all reviews and use them to improve the experience for future guests.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during the Scarborough Cricket Festival. The location above Spa Gardens is a pleasant one with good views out to sea (sea view rooms available at extra cost). Our room was a "superior" inland-facing one. It was a good size, as was the bathroom, and clean. Storage space was O.K. There is no air conditioning and the building is quite old; consequently, faced with warm nights, we needed to open the windows which exposed us to noise (nothing extreme though). Floors creaked and light passed through gaps around the door into the room at night. Sleep quality was consequently only average.

Service was very good throughout. Bar prices were reasonable for a hotel. Breakfast was a bit confusing, with different options in different places, but good quality and reasonable cost. We were staying with friends and after eating in on the first night, were so impressed that we continued to do so. Plenty of variety and good quality and quantity; can't speak for the desserts as we never managed to get that far.

Parking is very limited and has to be pre-booked. Most guests therefore have to use on-street parking, for which vouchers are provided. We managed to find a space a couple of blocks away. I suspect that it would be more difficult if anything was on at the nearby Spa Gardens.

Wi-fi is free but rationed to 2 hours in any 24.

Room Tip: There are sea view rooms at a reasonable extra cost and it is a good view. Pre-book parking if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart Rhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review. We are pleased that you and your friends have enjoyed your recent stay with us overall. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. May I advise to always make reception aware of any issues at the time of your stay, enabling us to resolve any issues with immediate effect. If you find the room to be warm, we are able to provide fans on request. As a valued customer you are our number one priority and we wish make your experience as enjoyable as possible.



We do hope that you return as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you will benefit from the Advantage package. This includes unlimited wifi, a late check out, 10% discount from your food and more.



Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here a couple of times and will definitely be going back excellent hotel our room/rooms perfect and the staff perfect come rain or shine we shall be staying here again the breakfast is great such a good choice and the hotel bar is not expensive,the staff go out of there way to help and they sent us a box of chocolates/card for our engagement the hotel and all the staff made our holiday just perfect

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Transportdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review. We are pleased that you and your partner have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we would like to congratulate you both on your recent engagement. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. Rain or Shine there are many activities in the surrounding area that are suitable for all ages. If the weather is not on your side then remember you do receive full use of the award winning health spa and gymnasium. I recommend pre-booking any spa treatments as they are popular. In addition to this we also offer spa and romance packages which include many added benefits and ensure that your experience is extra special.



We do hope that you return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back. May I advise booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you can benefit from the Advantage offer. This includes unlimited wifi, a late checkout, 10% discount from your food and more.



Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.

With Kind Regards,
Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
864 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,858 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,377 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing