We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Reception” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
1 review
“Wedding Reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We held our wedding reception at he Crown Spa Hotel on 31st July this year, staying in the hotel for 4 nights around the wedding. Right from the start, when we first made enquiries, we were treated with the utmost courtesy and helpfulness by all the staff members we came into contact with - particularly Philippe (the Asst. Operations Manager) who met with us on several occasions to discuss arrangements and to reasure us on any concerns we had. On the big day, MC Graham and Emma did a great job making sure that everything went smoothly. The food was superb and the service was excellent. Thank you Philippe, Emma , Graham, Daphney and all staff members who were involved in helping to make our special day perfect. Colin & Patti Welsh

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeepeeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. It is so rewarding for us to receive such wonderful praise of our staff and services.

We hope the Crown Spa Hotel holds many happy memories for you and that one day you may return recapture them.

Your review will be of the uptmost help to readers as they are trying to learn more about us. Thank you again and we hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,224
    1,442
    525
    178
    130
See reviews for
678
2,832
131
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

We decided to have a night away for a special occassion. Could not have picked a better hotel in a famous East Coast resort. The room which had recently been refurbished was breathtaking in design, comfort and appearance, we even had a TV in the bathroom. We ordered Champagne upon arrival in our room which was chilled to perfection. All staff i found were very friendly, approachable and accomodating. After a stroll along the sea front we sat and enjoyed a drink in the lounge in front of a roaring REAL fire. Prices at the bar were reasonable. The spa area was refreashing before we sat down to a lovely evening meal in the Restaurant, I can recommend the Duck Parcels for starters. The breakfeast was well presented, HOT and of a good portion, it kept me fuelled all day.
we found easy parking right outside the hotel. In fairess , with it being a Sunday night the hotel was fairley quiet but we had a very relaxing stay. I would definately stay there again and would recommend the hotel, We had a room with a seaview which was worth paying the extra for, you cannot beat relaxing on a Sunday morning with a cup of coffee looking out over the North Sea,what more can be said.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzypud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 25 November 2009
Firstly I would like to thank you for your wonderful review! We really appreciate you taking the time to spread your kind words.

Over the past 2 years the hotel has undergone constant improvements and refurbishments, the hard work is definitely starting to pay off. It is always very rewarding to hear such kind comments, especially as you have been so complimentary to our staff, accommodation & restaurant.

Thank you once again, your review will be of the utmost help to readers as they are trying to learn more about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

We went for one night on 5th November 2009. We paid £124.00 for Dinner, superior room and continental breakfast. The reception staff were friendly and let us have our room at 2 pm although check in was 3 pm. The room was beaultiful - everything brand new and even a tv in the bathroom! We had a delightful meal in the evening and a good breakfast in the morning. The only minus was that the bedroom was too hot during the night. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2009
Thank you for your kind words, we are very pleased that you liked the new Penthouse Rooms. We have taken much time over the refurbishments to ensure that we give the customer what they expect and more.

We are sorry that your room was too hot, for future reference fans are available from reception so please do not hesitate to let us know if something is not satisfactory and we will endeavour to rectify this.

We hope to see you at the Crown Spa Hotel in the future, thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

We stopped from Monday until Friday in a sea view room which was spacious, airy and very clean. Luckily we had very good weather and it was such a pleasure reading by the open window with such a lovely view. The bar staff were very friendly and efficient. The breakfast was very good and if you wanted to be-you could be in and out within half an hour. We only used the restaurant once as we had the other nights eating in some excellent foreign food places in the town. The imposing hotel's position is wonderful and it looks very nice after its "spruce-up". We were sorry to leave after our short stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GandM571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2009
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you have been able to enjoy the fantastic views of the Yorkshire Coast from your room which we can certainly appreciate.

It is wonderful that you have had such a lovely time here at the hotel, it is always nice to hear that the staff have been accommodating and friendly.

We hope that you can return soon, thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at Crown Spa for the weekend as my 40th birthday treat. The hotel is in a lovely location perched high above the sea, with great views of the coastline. All areas of the hotel were welcoming and tastefully decorated. Our room was beautiful; clean and fresh and well-thought out providing comfort and touches of luxury (especially the television over the bath!) The spa facilities provided a pristine, soothing atmosphere and were most enjoyable and relaxing. Breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day! We ate a lovely meal in the bar where the menu offered hot/cold snacks. Our meal in the restaurant was really enjoyable, well-presented and with interesting, delicious flavours although a touch expensive we felt. Hotel staff were friendly yet professional and attentive. When we could drag ourselves away we enjoyed a trip to nearby Whitby and spent our last few hours on the front in Scarborough which is five minutes away. Our stay was fantastic; we would love to go back time and again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisebooth35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it will be a great help to those wanting to find more about what we offer as a hotel.

It sounds like you have had a wonderful birthday treat. Thank you for appreciating the new penthouse rooms which we have spent much time and effort developing to ensure that our guests have a really special experience at the Crown Spa Hotel.

We are extrememly greatful for your kind words about our staff & restaurant, this is the most rewarding part of working at the Crown Spa Hotel, recognition of hard work which again we thank you for.

We hope to see you again at the hotel and thank you once more for the fantastic review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

Just been to the hotel to celebrate both parents turning 70 this year. Fantastic hotel, obviously had a lot spent on it recently, unbeatable location.

Just a couple of gripes:-

The staff in the restaurant need an effective manager. The food is very nice, if a little pricey, and the staff very helpful. However they are a bit shambolic. It took 4 requests to get a wine list, vegatables were served up without serving spoons, one couple waited half an hour for two glasses of dessert wine that had been poured and discarded by the waiter on an empty table! A decent head waiter would have prevented this situation.

However the major complaint was the heat! This hotel is stiffling in every area. We complained to the reception and they admitted that the heating is turned on early, then it takes all day for the hotel to cool down. Add to that the large spa in the basement, and the fact that they seem reluctant to switch the few air-conditioning units on, and you have heat comparible to a July day in Cyprus! This is Scarborough in late October!!

Such a shame because this is a real quality hotel for a short trip. I would go again, but would want to know how many pairs of shorts I would need to take first!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiths47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2009
May I first of all thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel and for pointing out the areas that you feel we need to improve. Without customer feedback the job of improvement would be very difficult.

Issues brought to our attention are now being looked into and in some cases already resolved. We do encourage feedback and offer customers the opportunity to voice opinions during their stay through various mediums.

I am looking into the issues regarding the temperature of the hotel, however turning air-conditioning on in the Spa are would unfortunately detract from the effect we are trying to create.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2009

Feature room 102. 2 nights £360 for B & B 23-25th October.

1. Electronic door key failed to work. Took 3 hours to get a replacement.
2. First night we were kept awake by the constant drone of a fan(?) on the otherside of the end wall. I mentioned this 3 times to the reception staff who said they would have the duty manager speak to me ,he did not until 8.pm on the Saturday when I complained about the noise to the restaraunt manager while we having a meal. The duty manager ten spoke to me and in a perfectly civil and matter of fact way i explained to him that for £360 we expect to get a decent nights sleep and could he sort out the noise problem. He said he would and come back to us. He never came back to us and the noise was just the same on the Saturday night.

3. I arrived fit and well and only ate at the hotel. During the early hours of Sunday morning I became ill, violently vomitting hour upon hour until 6.30am. I was in such a condition we were forced to return home where I spent the remainder of Sunday either vomitting or sitting on the toilet. Today I feel a little better but very weak. I dont know if I contracted something at the hotel but as I say its the only place I had anything to eat on Friday/Satruday. BTW the food was exceptionally well presented and very nice. A wine waiter who kew somethig about the wines would be an addition.

4. On the Friday evening I asked for a Pimms for my wife. The girl who served me had no idea how to make one and suggested we wait until the other bar staff returned. He returned and said he could make one but it would take a little time to get the ingredients together- it did 15 minutes! We do not expect this of a 4 star hotel and is something we have not encounted before.

5. The reception staff were friendly and kept apologising to me (and otherswho had complaints about noise & heat) but the bottom line is positive action was not forthcoming.

6. It was not made clear to me when I booked that parking is a problem. In fact getting your car outside the hotel where you can see it is a problem and often spaces have to be found in the surrounding streets(thankfully I did not take my car- we used my wifes)Yes the hotel provides a get out of jail free car to allow free parking but..........

All in all we were disappointed because its little things that can spoil a weekend.
Perhaps I should make mention also of something I have not come across before. When we booked in August my credit card was debited £180 for a deposit which they insisted on, fair enough. Upon arrival they insisted on taking the remainder of the cost of the stay plus £50 to cover any extras(?) and thats before one has even stayed one night. Bottom line trying get your money back or a reduced charge for poor service. The only redress is through the small claim courts.

For the price we paid the stay was not up to standard. We dont do cheap and all we ask is value for money which we did not get. Next year its back to the Wreay Head hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whiteknight666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing