We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorks
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Just returned from spending 2 luxurious nights here (only booked one night but extented our stay because one night is not enough). This was our fourth stay here and as ever it was excellent. All staff are polite and friendly and go out of their way to help.
The room was wonderful, since they put in the top floor we have stayed in a top floor room and though the other rooms are great the top floor has that special someting. The tv over the bath is just great and the subdued lighting makes the ambience right. Lovely thick carpet and curtains add to the luxury and the bed is really comfy. Could have just stayed in the room, as my husband said its better than home.
Used the spa facilities which were excellent too. Great relaxation room, saunas, steam room and aroma room. The were bigger than other places we have stayed so never felt overcrowded. Nice pool and lovely jacuzzui, again good size so plenty of space.
Didn't eat in the hotel as it is a little expensive but on previous visits when we have eaten in it has been good.
Nice relaxing bar area for drinks and when the bar staff get to know you they have a little banter with you which is nice, it all makes it a bit more personalised.
One tiny critisism the fire door next to our room kind of double banged everytime it was used and early hours of the morning it was quite annoying as the bed was just the other side of the wall, maybe there could be some way of stopping that.
Anyway would recommend this hotel if you want to get away from it all.
Came back relaxed and refreshed and will be returning in the future when we need a bit of a rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_GNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2010
Thank you for taking your time to write this wonderful, it sounds like you have had a wonderful time. We are glad that you have appreciated the décor and ambience of the hotel.

Over the past few years the hotel has undergone major refurbishments throughout including the Penthouse floor. It is great to know that you have been able to enjoy the room, especially the bathroom with the TV, which is definitely a special feature.

It is great that you took full advantage of all the facilities here, it is extremely rewarding to receive such high praise. We hope to see you here again, next time why not treat yourself to a full spa experience.

We will look into the loudness of the fire door and see if there is something we can do to prevent it disturbing guests in future.

Thank you once more for your kind words; this review will be very helpful in explaining the services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,233
    1,443
    525
    179
    130
See reviews for
679
2,842
131
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We've just returned from a wonderful three night break at The Crown. We've had several breaks in the past and this time we came with our daughter's in-laws who had been curious about our "bracing" stays in Scarborough. They were thrilled to find that they had an upgrade to a Fifth floor room, and loved the luxury provided - especially the TV at the end of the bath! Our room was very nice but not quite as luxurious - we didn't mind as we had an exceptional room last time we stayed (February 2009). Our daughter, son-in-law and grandson joined us on the Saturday and now they too are converts to The Crown!
We really appreciated the service from all the staff, it's almost an impossibility to single out any one person - the dining room staff were so friendly and obliging, the reception staff were so helpful - a real credit to the hotel, true assets! The one person who we all appreciated but never saw was the chef - though it will now take us some time to remove the evidence of his wonderful meals!! We did try to burn some calories in the pool but not enough!
Needless to say we'll be back again, and again - the next time it might have to be a group booking!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisGG1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Myself and my wife stayed here with my mother in law as a treat for a Saturday night away. The hotel is a lovely old fashioned building on the outside with modern facilities inside. We found the customer service to be excellent throughout our stay with both the reception and breakfast staff being very helpful. Our only dissapointment was due to very noisy guests around us(i.e. children running up and down the corridor late at night, and the person next door having their telly on maximum which woke us up!), which although i know can not be helped, i suspect was due to the Wedding going on downstairs. Reception showed their excellent customer service skills though by ringing the noisy room to ask them to turn the telly down which they did (they wouldnt answer the door!). So overall i would highly recommend the hotel but would either visit again during the week when there was no wedding on, or ask to be placed in a room well away from their guests (something i wish all hotels would do). P.S - this is not me being a miserable old git either as when i have been at weddings i know i am also a lot noisier/drunker!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali_C7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2010
May i first of all say a big thank you for the positive remarks you made regarding the staff and the facilities at the Crown. it is only through feedback both positive and negative that we are able to improve the Crown for future customers.

It is also good to know that we were able to resolve the issues with noise from the adjoining room and do advise all guests to call reception if they have any issues, we do believe that if it can be fixed it will be fixed.

We hope to see you here again soon. Thank you for your kind words this review will be very helpful in explaining the services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

just got back from this hotel (today), my partner booked this weekend away for my birthday and what a fabulous hotel this is...truly is a 4 star. he had booked a sea view room and we were on the 5th floor(top) in room 512... absolutely brilliant, so modern and the views were breath taking...even had a plasma tv built into the marble tiles at the bottom of the bath!!! WOW..... room cost £110 per night and we paid a little extra for the view but was worth every penny ...just a short stroll from the town centre, been a wonderful weekend and can't wait to go back again....didnt use any of the gym or spa facilities but will do next time, best scarborough hotel by far!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
Thank you for this wonderful review! It sounds like you had a fantastic birthday treat.

We are glad that you enjoyed the room and all the extras including the modern technology and the fantastic views over the headland.

It is very rewarding for use to receive such high praise as we pride ourselves on offering the highest levels of comfort, service and style.

We hope you will visit again soon and take advantage of the health club and spa facilities. Thanks again for taking the time to write this wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Our third time at the Crown Spa, and it gets better everytime. On this occasion we were upgraded to a penthouse floor room which was a brilliant room. Gorgeous decor and a tv in the bathroom!
We can not recommend the hotel enough, the continental breakfast is good, the spa is great and I had a facial while we were there which was very relaxing!
The one down side for me was the incredible heat in the room. I found it difficult to sleep even with the window open all night but other than that it was fab!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and add photos of your stay. It is very rewarding for us that you keep returning to the Crown for breaks and that we have managed to exceed you expectations each visit.

Sorry to hear that your room was too hot, for future reference please call reception as there are fans available by request.

Thanks once more for this fantastic review. We hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

Hotel very impressive and well located. Check in was very professional and frendly, nice loby.
After reading the reviews I was expecting excellent standards but was let down by the housekeeping standards. The bathroom was nice but was not cleaned very well, previous guests soap stains in sink and bath area and loo had not been cleaned very well (toothpaste and other stains on loo seat)! Had to wash out the mugs for our tea as they had tea ring marks inside. Platform valance was stained and the shaver socket was not working. The telescope is a nice touch but that was also damaged.
Reception phoned to ask if we were settled in (nice touch) so I was sorry to have to say all these things, however the nice receptionist did offer for a cleaner to come up and see to everything.
The room was not heated on arrival and the window was wide open and as the winter temperature at the moment is chilly we duly put the small radiator on, unfortunately the heat goes off when you leave the room and lock the door, when we returned it was like an ice-box. The receptionist was very kind and had a fan heater put on when we went out for dinner so it was cosy when we returned. Noise from other guests could annoy people looking for tranquility so I agree with other comments insulation poor.
We were dissapointed with our stay as we expected more from a Hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gertrude52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
May I first of all thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay at the Crown Spa Hotel. Our reception staff do carry out a satisfaction check as you stated in your comments, this was carried out and all issues regarding the room were resolved. I do agree that the cleanliness should be of the highest speck for a hotel of the Crowns standard and normally is, however there were issues and the head housekeeper has spoken to the room attendant concerned and these issues should not re occur and the room check procedure is now being reviewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Booked the Crown for our second weekend break in 12 months mainly for the spa facilities. We were given a room on the 5th floor in the newly refurbished block. Absolutely superb room. The telescope was a really nice extra as was the TV on the bathroom wall.
The Spa facility is excellent with steam, sauna and a lovely pool as well as jacouzzi, scent room (did not get that) and top class gym.
Breakfast was fine but a bit mean charging an extra fiver for full english or kippers.

All in all a great weekend venue with lots to do and some lovely walking. Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2010
Thanks for this fantastic review! It is great that you have come back for a second visit, it seems that we have met your expectations again.

We are glad that you enjoyed the room and the new mod cons that come with that, i.e the telescopes. It is great that you could take full advantage of the health club and spa facilities.

Thanks again for the review, we hope to see you for a third visit and hopefully we can continue to surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing