We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Crown Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cumberland Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Marine Residence(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Red Lea Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,041)
Filter reviews
5,041 results
Traveller rating
2,500
1,610
584
201
146
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,500
1,610
584
201
146
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmood lightingsea viewice roomceiling fanfeature roomcontinental breakfastlovely hotelsteam roomon arrivalfree upgradeleisure facilitiesexecutive roomreception staffstreet parkingshort breaklovely roomtop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,869 - 4,874 of 5,041 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Just returned from spending 2 luxurious nights here (only booked one night but extented our stay because one night is not enough). This was our fourth stay here and as ever it was excellent. All staff are polite and friendly and go out of their way to help.
The room was wonderful, since they put in the top floor we have stayed in a top floor room and though the other rooms are great the top floor has that special someting. The tv over the bath is just great and the subdued lighting makes the ambience right. Lovely thick carpet and curtains add to the luxury and the bed is really comfy. Could have just stayed in the room, as my husband said its better than home.
Used the spa facilities which were excellent too. Great relaxation room, saunas, steam room and aroma room. The were bigger than other places we have stayed so never felt overcrowded. Nice pool and lovely jacuzzui, again good size so plenty of space.
Didn't eat in the hotel as it is a little expensive but on previous visits when we have eaten in it has been good.
Nice relaxing bar area for drinks and when the bar staff get to know you they have a little banter with you which is nice, it all makes it a bit more personalised.
One tiny critisism the fire door next to our room kind of double banged everytime it was used and early hours of the morning it was quite annoying as the bed was just the other side of the wall, maybe there could be some way of stopping that.
Anyway would recommend this hotel if you want to get away from it all.
Came back relaxed and refreshed and will be returning in the future when we need a bit of a rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_GNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2010

Thank you for taking your time to write this wonderful, it sounds like you have had a wonderful time. We are glad that you have appreciated the décor and ambience of the hotel.

Over the past few years the hotel has undergone major refurbishments throughout including the Penthouse floor. It is great to know that you have been able to enjoy the room, especially the bathroom with the TV, which is definitely a special feature.

It is great that you took full advantage of all the facilities here, it is extremely rewarding to receive such high praise. We hope to see you here again, next time why not treat yourself to a full spa experience.

We will look into the loudness of the fire door and see if there is something we can do to prevent it disturbing guests in future.

Thank you once more for your kind words; this review will be very helpful in explaining the services we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We've just returned from a wonderful three night break at The Crown. We've had several breaks in the past and this time we came with our daughter's in-laws who had been curious about our "bracing" stays in Scarborough. They were thrilled to find that they had an upgrade to a Fifth floor room, and loved the luxury provided - especially the TV at the end of the bath! Our room was very nice but not quite as luxurious - we didn't mind as we had an exceptional room last time we stayed (February 2009). Our daughter, son-in-law and grandson joined us on the Saturday and now they too are converts to The Crown!
We really appreciated the service from all the staff, it's almost an impossibility to single out any one person - the dining room staff were so friendly and obliging, the reception staff were so helpful - a real credit to the hotel, true assets! The one person who we all appreciated but never saw was the chef - though it will now take us some time to remove the evidence of his wonderful meals!! We did try to burn some calories in the pool but not enough!
Needless to say we'll be back again, and again - the next time it might have to be a group booking!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisGG1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Myself and my wife stayed here with my mother in law as a treat for a Saturday night away. The hotel is a lovely old fashioned building on the outside with modern facilities inside. We found the customer service to be excellent throughout our stay with both the reception and breakfast staff being very helpful. Our only dissapointment was due to very noisy guests around us(i.e. children running up and down the corridor late at night, and the person next door having their telly on maximum which woke us up!), which although i know can not be helped, i suspect was due to the Wedding going on downstairs. Reception showed their excellent customer service skills though by ringing the noisy room to ask them to turn the telly down which they did (they wouldnt answer the door!). So overall i would highly recommend the hotel but would either visit again during the week when there was no wedding on, or ask to be placed in a room well away from their guests (something i wish all hotels would do). P.S - this is not me being a miserable old git either as when i have been at weddings i know i am also a lot noisier/drunker!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_C7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2010

May i first of all say a big thank you for the positive remarks you made regarding the staff and the facilities at the Crown. it is only through feedback both positive and negative that we are able to improve the Crown for future customers.

It is also good to know that we were able to resolve the issues with noise from the adjoining room and do advise all guests to call reception if they have any issues, we do believe that if it can be fixed it will be fixed.

We hope to see you here again soon. Thank you for your kind words this review will be very helpful in explaining the services we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

just got back from this hotel (today), my partner booked this weekend away for my birthday and what a fabulous hotel this is...truly is a 4 star. he had booked a sea view room and we were on the 5th floor(top) in room 512... absolutely brilliant, so modern and the views were breath taking...even had a plasma tv built into the marble tiles at the bottom of the bath!!! WOW..... room cost £110 per night and we paid a little extra for the view but was worth every penny ...just a short stroll from the town centre, been a wonderful weekend and can't wait to go back again....didnt use any of the gym or spa facilities but will do next time, best scarborough hotel by far!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanne_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2010

Thank you for this wonderful review! It sounds like you had a fantastic birthday treat.

We are glad that you enjoyed the room and all the extras including the modern technology and the fantastic views over the headland.

It is very rewarding for use to receive such high praise as we pride ourselves on offering the highest levels of comfort, service and style.

We hope you will visit again soon and take advantage of the health club and spa facilities. Thanks again for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

Our third time at the Crown Spa, and it gets better everytime. On this occasion we were upgraded to a penthouse floor room which was a brilliant room. Gorgeous decor and a tv in the bathroom!
We can not recommend the hotel enough, the continental breakfast is good, the spa is great and I had a facial while we were there which was very relaxing!
The one down side for me was the incredible heat in the room. I found it difficult to sleep even with the window open all night but other than that it was fab!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachandkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and add photos of your stay. It is very rewarding for us that you keep returning to the Crown for breaks and that we have managed to exceed you expectations each visit.

Sorry to hear that your room was too hot, for future reference please call reception as there are fans available by request.

Thanks once more for this fantastic review. We hope that you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews