We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four star hotel with three star mentality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2010

We spent three days here at the end of March. This was only because we had cancelled on the day we booked about five months previously because the person we were arranging to see died on that very day. We booked in the morning and rang in the early afternoon and were told that we would lose our deposit but could move the booking date. So beware the rather outdated small print for this hotel.
Lovely reception staff and very nice room. Small things were not seen to like the towel rail in the bathroom didn't work and on the Sunday we arrived there was a notice saying that dinner would finish at 7.45 p.m. because "it was quiet". After that we only ate breakfast there.
The breakfast was very good with a small upgrade of £5 if you wanted a cooked one. It is a shame that a hotel with such a lovely view chooses to put the breakfast room at the back of the hotel and our first morning we were put into another little room with no windows because the main room was being used by a group - the YRG. The breakfast manager for the first few days was nearly surly and was seeing people to tables whilst on his mobile! The waitress (Sylvia) doing all the work was very good though.
Beautiful looking hotel with faded elegance.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freddielola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2010

The Crown along with most businesses does have terms and conditions that apply to any sales made. And as you clearly stated we did hold your deposit for a future date on compassionate grounds.

The towel rail in the bathroom is controlled from the outside of the room and this is clearly stated in the bedroom literature. However after a simple call to the reception we would have sent a porter to remedy this immediately.

During winter months the restaurant is closed earlier on a Sunday night and this information is normally passed on at time of booking or on check in.

I would like to say thank you for your positive comments made regarding some of the staff and assure you we do have a very strong four star mentality and always aim to resolve any issues that are brought to our attention during a customers stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,779 - 4,785 of 4,953 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2010

Apparently, the Crown is Yorkshire Coast's only 4-star hotel! It's certainly very nice, but no need to labour the 4-star rating. It appears on every piece of marketing material. However, it is Scarborough's best and should be a bit more laid-back about its status. Our room was at the front and had a balcony with spectacular views over the bay. Furnishings were quite traditional and the room was a good size. Mrs Le Street had a massage and found the spa facilities and staff to be excellent. Breakfast was fine with very cheerful waiters. Didn't have full English, but I think an extra fiver is fine. The menu was a bit unclear, but I think that's was the case. Parking was provided via a 4-day permit and we had no problem parking right outside. 10-minute walk into town, but could take longer at the moment as the Valley Bridge is closed to foot passengers. I would also recommend The Black Cat Restaurant. Great food and service. We got an excellent online rate and had an enjoyable stay in what is without doubt a very good hotel.
In fact, I believe it's Yorkshire Coast's only....

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChesterLeStreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2010

Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

Firstly, we would like to say that all the staff here at the Crown have worked extremely hard over the past few years to gain our 4 star status and are very proud of it.

Secondly, we are glad that you enjoyed your break and found the staff to be cheerful. It is great that you took full advantage of all the facilities here and found the spa to be excellent.

Thank you once more for your kind words; this review will be very helpful in explaining the services we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Absolutely outstanding !. It happened to be the wettest day of the year and from the moment we (we being 72 student aged16 plus staff) arrived, the hotel could not have been more welcoming and understanding. Due to the cancellation of our booking at a competitor hotel 7 days prior to the planned event the staff at the Crown Spa made it possible for us go ahead with our planned GCSE Maths/ English Intervention weekend turning our booking for 80+ around in just 5 days including conferencing facilities, accomodation and food. The students could not believe the venue and thought it was truly inspirational changing the aspirations of all of them. They especially remarked on the contemporary UV lighting in the bathrooms. All the staff were exceedingly courteous and importantly VERY understanding when travelling with 72 teenagers who had never stayed in a 4 Star Hotel previously.Nothing was too much trouble. The buffet style food both for dinner and breakfast was excellent meeting the needs of all the students. As a Conference venue the room we were given was certainly a hidden gem and would have been an excellent venue for function from wedding to school prom. We, as an Academy are endebted to the hotel staff for making this happen and wish to say a big thank you in helping us to avoid the disaapointment of what would have been 72 students. A truly remarkable hotel and I look forward now to being able to return as someone on holiday or for a relaxing weekend break. Thank you 72 times!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulder51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2010

Wow! What a wonderful review.

It is very rewarding to receive such high praise, we are so glad that our staff were very friendly, approachable and accommodating. Customer service is something we take very seriously here and we are always striving to go that step further with our service levels.

We are glad that you have appreciated the décor and ambience of the hotel and the Conference suites you used were fitting for your GCSE Maths and English Intervention Weekend.

Thanks again for taking your time to write this wonderful review, we are extremely glad that you were able to deliver the weekend you had planned for and we hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Overall i really enjoyed this hotel. The superior sea view room with balcony was spot on. The room was very spacious, nicely decorated. The bathroom was excellent and clean with special mood lighting and a great powerfull overhead shower. As for location again this was great. I parked opposite the hotel and was given a parking pass for 4 days so no worries there.

Only problem was with staff who didnt seem bothered, a couple of instances in particular:

Firstly i rang down to say the TV was not working - Receptionist told me to put the key in the slot near the door. I told her there was no slot. She replies "ALL THE ROOMS HAVE ONE". "Well my doesnt have a slot near the door". receptionist then says "ILL SEND SOMEONE UP TO SHOW YOU WHERE IT IS". The chap came and fixed the TV (this chap was excellent i must had) but to the no it all receptionist room 114 dont have a slot so stick that one!

breakfast was also a pain in the fact i had to ask 3 times for some tea and the waitress got the hump!

Overall though the miserable staff are a small price to pay for a very nice room and location.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lcfc_eu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2010

May i first of all thank you for the positive remarks made regarding your recent stay at the Crown. we do pride ourselves on the location and high standards of housekeeping.

we have 116 bedrooms and beleive it or not all but two rooms have electric slots for key cards.

im dissapointed that you comment on the staff being a bit ropey as it seems the only issue you had was with 1 receptionist and actually mention that the porter was excellent.the receptionist was new and hadnt been told two rooms had not been fitted with keycards.

we always encourage feedback both positive and negative as it does offer future customers a varied opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Just returned from spending 2 luxurious nights here (only booked one night but extented our stay because one night is not enough). This was our fourth stay here and as ever it was excellent. All staff are polite and friendly and go out of their way to help.
The room was wonderful, since they put in the top floor we have stayed in a top floor room and though the other rooms are great the top floor has that special someting. The tv over the bath is just great and the subdued lighting makes the ambience right. Lovely thick carpet and curtains add to the luxury and the bed is really comfy. Could have just stayed in the room, as my husband said its better than home.
Used the spa facilities which were excellent too. Great relaxation room, saunas, steam room and aroma room. The were bigger than other places we have stayed so never felt overcrowded. Nice pool and lovely jacuzzui, again good size so plenty of space.
Didn't eat in the hotel as it is a little expensive but on previous visits when we have eaten in it has been good.
Nice relaxing bar area for drinks and when the bar staff get to know you they have a little banter with you which is nice, it all makes it a bit more personalised.
One tiny critisism the fire door next to our room kind of double banged everytime it was used and early hours of the morning it was quite annoying as the bed was just the other side of the wall, maybe there could be some way of stopping that.
Anyway would recommend this hotel if you want to get away from it all.
Came back relaxed and refreshed and will be returning in the future when we need a bit of a rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_GNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2010

Thank you for taking your time to write this wonderful, it sounds like you have had a wonderful time. We are glad that you have appreciated the décor and ambience of the hotel.

Over the past few years the hotel has undergone major refurbishments throughout including the Penthouse floor. It is great to know that you have been able to enjoy the room, especially the bathroom with the TV, which is definitely a special feature.

It is great that you took full advantage of all the facilities here, it is extremely rewarding to receive such high praise. We hope to see you here again, next time why not treat yourself to a full spa experience.

We will look into the loudness of the fire door and see if there is something we can do to prevent it disturbing guests in future.

Thank you once more for your kind words; this review will be very helpful in explaining the services we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We've just returned from a wonderful three night break at The Crown. We've had several breaks in the past and this time we came with our daughter's in-laws who had been curious about our "bracing" stays in Scarborough. They were thrilled to find that they had an upgrade to a Fifth floor room, and loved the luxury provided - especially the TV at the end of the bath! Our room was very nice but not quite as luxurious - we didn't mind as we had an exceptional room last time we stayed (February 2009). Our daughter, son-in-law and grandson joined us on the Saturday and now they too are converts to The Crown!
We really appreciated the service from all the staff, it's almost an impossibility to single out any one person - the dining room staff were so friendly and obliging, the reception staff were so helpful - a real credit to the hotel, true assets! The one person who we all appreciated but never saw was the chef - though it will now take us some time to remove the evidence of his wonderful meals!! We did try to burn some calories in the pool but not enough!
Needless to say we'll be back again, and again - the next time it might have to be a group booking!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisGG1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Myself and my wife stayed here with my mother in law as a treat for a Saturday night away. The hotel is a lovely old fashioned building on the outside with modern facilities inside. We found the customer service to be excellent throughout our stay with both the reception and breakfast staff being very helpful. Our only dissapointment was due to very noisy guests around us(i.e. children running up and down the corridor late at night, and the person next door having their telly on maximum which woke us up!), which although i know can not be helped, i suspect was due to the Wedding going on downstairs. Reception showed their excellent customer service skills though by ringing the noisy room to ask them to turn the telly down which they did (they wouldnt answer the door!). So overall i would highly recommend the hotel but would either visit again during the week when there was no wedding on, or ask to be placed in a room well away from their guests (something i wish all hotels would do). P.S - this is not me being a miserable old git either as when i have been at weddings i know i am also a lot noisier/drunker!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_C7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2010

May i first of all say a big thank you for the positive remarks you made regarding the staff and the facilities at the Crown. it is only through feedback both positive and negative that we are able to improve the Crown for future customers.

It is also good to know that we were able to resolve the issues with noise from the adjoining room and do advise all guests to call reception if they have any issues, we do believe that if it can be fixed it will be fixed.

We hope to see you here again soon. Thank you for your kind words this review will be very helpful in explaining the services we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £68 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing