We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
kathbeck
1 review
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Could not really fault it as we had everything we were expecting and more - food service was a little slow though!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Thanks for taking your time to write this review, we are extremely glad that we were able to deliver the break you had planned for and we hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,363
    1,523
    549
    186
    136
See reviews for
715
3,012
142
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (750)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We booked a room at pretty much last minute and found the best price on their own website.
We went for a larger double and got a very good price indeed.
We checked in and went to the room (room 204) to find it had a large plasma on the wall and 2 large couches . Even better still was the lovely view from the room!!
We then used the spa facilities and my wife had a lovely massage.
We both tried to think of something to criticise and the only real thing was that we booked for 1 night which meant we didnt get to look at the views for as long as we would have liked..

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HuddersfieldKelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
Firstly, we would like to say a big thank you for taking your time to write this fantastic review. It is extremely rewarding to receive such praise of our staff, services and accommodation. We are glad that your wife had a lovely massage in the spa.

Secondly, we would be delighted if you would come and stay with us again and extend your break for a few extra days.

Thank you again for your kind words and we will hopefully see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a four night break at the Crown Spa Hotel. Everything about the hotel was excellent and we would most certainly return. The rooms were large as was the bed, the bathroom very modern and when I requested some form of support for the shower, 3 handles were promptly bought up and afixed. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The food in the Taste restaurant couldn't be faulted, and if you like seafood then the seafood platter was the best I have ever tasted and is a must try.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettypolly155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2010
We would like to say a big thank you for taking your time to write this fantastic review. It is extremely rewarding to receive such praise of our staff, services and accommodation, it is very important to us that each customer receives the full Crown Spa experience from arrival through to departure.

We would be delighted if you would come and stay with us again. Thank you again for your kind words and we will hopefully see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I booked a "Romantic Break" for my wife and I and requested a Sea View room. The booking included first night turn down service and a bottle of wine. The first morning should have included breakfast in bed. We got the wine but no turn down or breakfast in bed. I was also dismayed to be asked to pay a further £15 per night for a sea view room. This cost did not appear on the website.The other issue was the room temperature. It was so warm even at this time of the year, it was uncomfortable. When I brought this to the attention of the staff, I was told that it was not possible to change the temperature but they did suggest that a fan be placed in the room. This was OK but not ideal as it was noisy. We left the hotel a little disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hootiejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
May i first of all apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay at the Crown Spa Hotel.

When booking online there is an option to book a sea view bedroom however this was not the case in your reservation. You booked a standard room and in the request section requested a sea view, a sea view was available but this does have a cost of £15 per night.

Your package did include breakfast in bed and a order form is left on your pillow which does state that it needs to be filled out and handed to reception so that the staff know what you require.

As the temperature is rising outside a thermostat is meant to regulate the temperature outside and it seems that this has not been working properly. This has now been sorted and we do hope that the building will become a little cooler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Stayed in Scarborough for a short break. The hotel looks really excellent from the outside and has recently undergone refurbishment - we stayed here two years ago and it has improved considerably since then. The staff right from entering the hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful whether it was helping with internet access which was free or help with finding somewhere nice to eat {even though the hotel has its own restaurant).

We did try the restaurant on the wednesday night and it was very good and reasonably priced although there is a limit to what you can charge in Scarborough, again the staff were attentive and helpfull. They seem to have some kind of selection technique as all the staff we met had the same friendly helpful manner. I travel about a bit for my job and spend a lot of time in similar establishments where the staff are not always as nice no matter what the nightly price of the room.

Whilst there we made full use of the spa/pool/sauna again clean well managed and a pleasure to use. The room was clean tidy and had a small two bed bedromm to put the kids and this was topped off with wonderful views across the bay.

Downside the shower only ran red hot water and the bath only ran cold - i complained and they sent up a maintenance chap (another friendly helpful chap} who could only bodge a solution but fair play we were offered a better room but declined (too much hassel to pack up and move} so we had to make do with the shower/bath. I have therefore marked the room down.

Would definitely go again, i also note the manager reads and comments on the advisor which i think is another positive - please thank John and Adrian for helping make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BomberYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
May I first of all say a big thank you for all of the positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Crown. I hope spoken to both Adrian & John and let them know of the positive comments you have posted.

I was sorry to hear that you had issues with the water in the bathroom and do wish that you had chosen to take a room move. As with any building we do have issues and when they are brought to our attention by the customer we do our best to resolve them.

I do hope that you visit the Crown again in the future and once again thanks for the positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Me and my friend were staying over Easter but originally booked in at another hotel but after a disastrous situation there we had to quickly find somewhere else. After ringing my Dad, he found the Crown Spa. He sorted everything over the phone and explained that me and my friend would be staying for 2 nights for £98. We couldn't check in till 3pm, a little late I thought but they explained that only one night had been paid for. I checked with my Dad who had my told it was £98 for the stay, my Dad persuming it was for 2 nights not 1. It was for 1 night, so my Dad got it sorted for both nights. The hotel lacked in giving the right information as they didn't explain fully that it was for just 1 night not for both. We ended up checking into our room at about 20 past 3, as we had to wait ages for the housekeeping to finish the rooms but the room was lovely. Nice and big with a big TV. The bathroom was gorgeous with the pink spotlights. The breakfast was nice aswell and the interior and exterior of the hotel is both stunning. We had full use f the spa facilities, including the swimming pool although we did not use it.The staff were lovely and friendly and called us Miss etc which was lovely and made us feel really special. Lovely stay and enjoyable!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time with your friend over Easter.

It is extremely rewarding to receive such praise of our staff, services and accommodation as we have all worked very hard to ensure we are the best hotel in the area.

In regards to the booking prices, we are sorry that there was a misunderstanding with the prices when your father booked, we are glad this was resolved quickly.

Thankfully this did not seem to hinder your break and you were able to enjoy the hotel’s facilities. If you have the opportunity to stay at the hotel again please take advantage of the Health club and pool facilities, the ideal place to relax and unwind.

Finally, thank you again for your kind words, we hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Stopped for 3 days. Scarborough is void of any great quality, so it is good to see a hotel try hard and take the business.
Reception good, gave all the relevant detail and gave a follow up call a few hours after arrival to check that everything was okay.
Bar and restuarants are fine, not stunning, but they have made good with the space available.
Breakfast is good, fine choice. Dinner is also fine, a fair quality, but quite away from getting any AA Rosettes I would have thought. An excellent point is that they have a good quality kiddies menu, which is quite rare.
The hot water was not working the first night, which was a problem, however I think this was a one off, so unless there are anymore issues of this reported in reviews, I would take this as a one off. I did report this, but it was not mended in time for when we needed it.
The room was very modern and has recently been refurbished. They are appealing and we were pleased with the room we had.
Overall it is a good hotel, in an area of little quality. It is not top notch, but definately above any of its competition in the area. They make a point that it is the only 4 star hotel on the coast and I can well believe this.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownRep, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2010
Thank you for taking your time to write this review, it sounds like you have had a lovely time. We are glad that you have appreciated the work we have done to set the hotels’ standards above all others in the area.

Over the past few years the hotel has undergone major refurbishments throughout including the Penthouse floor. It is great to know that you have been able to enjoy the room, which has been designed with a special lighting concept to create the perfect ambience.

We are sorry about the hot water issue and that it could not be fixed during your stay; this was a one off, thank you for reporting it. We do endeavour to find solutions to problems in a timely manner and the problem has since been fixed.

Thank you once more for your kind words; this review will be very helpful in explaining the services we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing