We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, good location and decent breakky.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2010

The Crown Spa lives up to its name and remains one of the best places we have stayed in for comfort and quality of food. We haven't required the use of any other services although free access to internet for the price you pay would be justifiable.

The location is perfect as it was just a get away couple of days where we ventured to the casino and other shops in town.

All in all, the Crown Spa does what it says on the tin. Good stay and thanks a lot Crown Spa.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiccoTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2010

Thanks for a great review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and managed to venture into the town to the casino and shops. I am a little confused regarding your comment about free internet access for the price you pay? Since its inception into the hotel 3 years ago the wifi ( Which runs at approximately 6mb ) has been free but a voucher has to be collected from reception to access.

I will pass on all of your great comments to all the staff in our next management meeting.

I do hope that if you visit Scarborough again in the near future that you do choose to stay at the Crown and we can provide the service that you should expect.

Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,911)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,654 - 4,660 of 4,911 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2010

Stayed for three nights at this hotel. Excellent room with sea view although shower did not work well and certain health and safety issues with the design of the bathroom. What did spoil our stay was the quality of the food. We had such a bad experience at the first evening meal that we ate out from the hotel for our main meal every day after that - not something we would have done by choice. The hotel really needs to look at the standards that are applied in the kitchen and cut down the number of dishes on the menu so that food can be freshly prepared.
There are many positives to the hotel - staff are friendly, its warm, well presented, excellent location and the spa but this was all spoilt for us by having to eat out for our main meal each day. Where we did order bar food/room service the standard of food was very ordinary and not well executed.
Shame this very nice hotel is letting itself down on such a fundmental issue

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The Scarborough Spa Hotel hosted a first class ball for 140 of our guests.
The setting and location was excellent, staff were friendly, helpful and very attentive.
The food and service was fabulous, with a totally entertaining night had by all.
We will definietly be returning in the future and would highly recommend the Scarborough Spa hotel as the perfect location for a Ball or dinenr dance. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIONA190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Stayed for just one night and really wished we had stayed for 2, the hotel is very modern,clean and tranquil, the staff there are very nice, and very helpful, the only downside for us was the fact that we were next to a room which was accomodated by a very rude family, they returned from a night out at 12.30 and were very loud, which resulted in one of us knocking on the door and requesting silence ( this was at 1.30am) dont think thats an unreasonable request!!,...didn't spoil the weekend though, we used the spa facilities and had a treatment and left feeling very relaxed, dont hesitate if you are thinking of booking this hotel.....the view over the bay is awesome!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackslion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed one night on a very good value last minute deal in one of the best bedrooms we've every come across. The hotel has a general feel of quality and is very clean with friendly staff. The location is excellent - step outside and walk through pleasant gardens to the beach. Two downsides - piped music everywhere (at least they changed the music when we asked) and noise coming through to our bedroom from some partying guests. But overall an excellent hotel in a town that's been looked after and represents the best of the traditional English seaside.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Had 5 nights in room 554 which is one of the top floor refurbished penthouse rooms.
This room doesn't have a sea view,but this fact didn't detract from the overall room quality which includes modern bathroom with a tv over the bath,bedroom with crisp fresh linen on the large double bed,flat screen tv,a safe for valuables,fridge, two chairs and a table and generally a very comfortable space to relax in.
Restaurant excellent along with the staff.
Spa and gym facilities also excellent.
When you next visit Scarborough try the Crown Spa,you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGasRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

This is the ninth consecutive year that our group of between 30 and 40 adults have stayed the weekend at the Crown Spa. The warmth of the welcome, quality of the food, general comfort, and the helpfulness of all the staff make me proud to recommend this family owned hotel. Be you a single person wanting a break, or an organised party, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franco075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,260 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £66 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing