We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, and I would recommend it if you are looking to stay in Scarborough and the surrounding area. Stayed in a Superior double room with sea view,( 218) and it was very nice, two large windows and beautiful sea view. The bathroom was lovely with extra special touches , bathrobes, toiletries, and mood lighting above the double ended bath.
Previously stayed in a feature room (112) and would just like to say, we found nothing wrong with the room, yes there was no shower as previous reviewer stated! But the massive bath compensated for it, and regarding the toilet by the window, if the blind is closed, you cannot be seen by "the whole of Scarborough"!
Arrived in Scarborough late afternoon and could not get a space on the streets, free parking, but the receptionist mentioned the hotel car park, and was quite happy to pay £5 for the night.
The staff in this hotel are very friendly, we had dinner in Taste restaurant, and the food and service was brilliant, lovely bar lounge to relax in after dinner. Thankyou for a lovely stay, we will definatly be returning.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,357
    1,522
    549
    186
    135
See reviews for
711
3,008
142
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Batley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Very friendly and efficient staff nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent both evening meal and breakfast. Room was nicely decorated, comfy and clean. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy111967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Thank you so much for the positive review. i am so glad that the valentines break was an enjoyable one and will pass on your comments regarding the food and service at our next departmental meeting.

I do hope that you choose to visit the Crown on any further visits to Scarborough.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We booked a room with sea view and balcony , B&B for £165 , so imagine our suprise to be told we had to move our car out of the car park as they were fully booked! nobody mentioned on the phone when we booked about prebooking the car park- it was apparently on our booking acknowlegement!- having circled for 20 mins we found a space 1/2 a mile away! walking through the reception of cream plastic chairs- I wondered what the room was going to be like- The room was cold on arrival so I went over to the gas/elec fire!- it was not a working one!- tasteful!. The furniture was similar to my grandmas boarding house furniture that she had forty years ago, no mini bar, safe had no lock on it! and as for the bathroom- freezing!- this has not been updated for a few decades- small warm radiator that could not cope with the large room, the jacuzzi bath that jets did not work (no overhead shower) and as for the toilet- it has nice sea views as it has been positioned a foot away from the floor to ceiling window- unfortunately the rest of Scarborough is watching you! (we were on the first floor)- on the positive- The breakfast was ok , the staff at breakfast were extremely helpful- the sea view was nice and good sized flat screen tv in the bedroom- but I could have got this round the corner at my sisters!- thank goodness we were only there for one night!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bristol321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
May I first of all apologise for the inconveniences that you experienced during your recent stay.
Both on our website and during the booking process we do state that there is ample complimentary on street parking this is complimentary to the customer but does have to be purchased by the hotel. We also advertise that we have a car park available which needs to be pre booked, if you were not aware of this I am sorry and do wish you had asked the receptionist where else parking was available. Approximately 200 metres from the hotel is a public car park with 120 spaces.

Over the years I have received many positive comments regarding the features of the hotel, the entrance and the bedrooms and can say that yours is the first comment showing disapproval of the furnishings in reception. Anyone who would care to take the time to read through some of the reviews in this forum will see that very few if any customers have passed negative comments on the furnishings of the building.

Originally we did advertise that the bathroom in room 112 did have a Jacuzzi bath but since it was decided that the bathroom would be replaced as part of this winters renovations replacing it with a double ended bath with 20inch TV we have no longer informed customers of its existence and turned off the power to the jets.

I have checked the hotels complaints log today and can find no comments regarding the issues that have been mentioned in this review, had you expressed your disappointment in the furnishings and bathroom of the room I am sure I would have been able to move you to a room that satisfied your requirements.

We do thank all of our customers for comments made on this and any other forum and do take note of any issues that can be amended.

Regards

David Chambers – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The room was lovely and spacious, bathroom was amazing with pink led lights over the bath. We stayed in a superior sea view room, it had two big windows with a great view. The reception staff were very helpful. We had continental breakfast which was good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzy1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
May i first of all thank you for a great review. We really do feel that our job has been done well when we receive a positive posting and the comments are posted in both our staffroom and company newsletter so staff are aware of the feedback left.

We do hope that you visit the Crown on your next visit and do look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

A really nice hotel that adds a touch of class to the down to earth charms of Scarborough. A really nice room with nice little touches like a telescope to look out to sea with. Had a very tasty dinner of seafood and cheese platters (it would have been nice to know what the chesses were as they were local). Great spa treatments and leisure areas rounded off a fab overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrigoandSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
So glad that you found Scarborough as charming as we do and great to hear that you felt the Crown has a touch of class.

A large part of the food that we provide is sourced locally and yes all chesses we are proud to say are from yorkshire, i shall speak to the restaurant manager to make sure he has the waiting staff inform the customers of the various names as many are seasonal and not always available.

We do hope that your next visit to Scarborough will see you visiting the Crown Again.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We have stayed at the Crown Spa many times and always said when we were to get married it would be here, and we did in January 2011.
The guests at and suppliers of the wedding all remarked on the great food and how helpful the staff were and how well organised everything was.
Fantastic!
I would happily recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_n_Janka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Congratulations.

Thanks for the positive feedback, i am delighted to hear that you chose the Crown as the venue for your wedding and hope over the years you can spend many happy times together and lets hope that some of them are at the Crown.

I will be sure to inform the management and staff of your review and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris lovers
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We love the North East coastline ( my partner is from Middlesbrough ) and after visting Whitby during the day we always stay at this hotel which is only a short drive away and have learnt to pay a little more to in order to find superior accommodation and to secure a room on the fifth floor which is super. Our stay has always been excellent and we have always found the staff very helpful. This is without doubt the best Hotel in Scarborough and excellent value. we look forward to our next vist in march.

Chris and Maureen.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Well march is almost here and as always we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown. i will be sure to post your positive comments in our newsletter and on the staff notice board.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Property: The Crown Spa Hotel
Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing