We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor or no communication”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crown Spa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2011

stayed here last weekend 18th Feb ,arrived after a horrible car journey, to a very indifferent receptionist with few customer service skills basic but not warm really. I should had realised then that the idea of a de stressing weekend where stressful situations would be taken out of your hands were not part of the crown spa, Scarborough's training plan.
Room nice, there to meet up with friends on a type of reuinoin ,some who live in Scarborough and said the Crown had a good reputation. In fact the food and restaurant and bar staff were excellent, although a bit over worked.
It all started when the shower wouldn't work at 9am it was just cold water ,not intermittant ,cold we ran it for an hour, the porter came up fiddled with a few knobs and it was still cold, We were polite and asked if we could move room., The hot water came back on at 10 and we decided not to move as the people in the hotel told us that some kind of engineer person would be on duty at 12 and would look at it/ fix it. e went out came back late and asked if it had been fixed the people on the desk knew nothing about it ,had nothing written down and weren;t really bothered ,they sent a porter to check it ,I said it is working but it is nort working in the mornings , they still sent the porter up to check ,who said the engineer must have been but no one really knew if it was fixed. It was all a lot of hassle especially when lo and behold the following morning at 9 am tried to shower ,cold again. There was no real communication between shifts and the staff kind of looked at us to say well what do you want us to do about it? the next day when checking out the receptionist said to my friend ,well no one is available at the weekends so it couldn't have got fixed, as though calling out someone at the weekend ,even though they said they would was not something they would contimplate doing nOT DE STRESSING ATall, wouldnt stay there again ,to much indifference and too young staff who didnt care about real problems.Fobbed off comes to mind
As well as that there was something strange in the pool maybe a filter malfunction swimming around you got handfuls of hair in your fingers ugghh are these type of hotel pools cleaned/ checked at all and the steam rooms were either coolish or not working ?

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocook44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

May I first of all say how disappointed I am that you had a dreadful journey by car which I’m sure must have added to your levels of stress and contributed to your disappointment.
I have spoken To Philippe The assistant operations manager and as always all issues over the weekend were logged, he also informs me that he did communicate on more than one occasion with you. It is correct that you were offered a room move but this was declined by yourself, something that you do state in your review. It does seem that the issue was intermittent and was not resolved until after the weekend. I do feel that had you taken us up on the offer of a room move we would have most certainly satisfied your needs.
The swimming pool is checked both by our fully trained staff and also by environmental health on a regular basis and until this review I have never had a complaint regarding the issues you state. As a hotel manager it is extremely frustrating when customers pass comment when they have left as it is our job to correct any issues that occur as long as they are brought to our attention. I have spoken to the Spa manager and to date there have been no further complaints in this area.
I always feel disappointed when a customer leaves the Crown disappointed and do believe that good communication between both the hotel and the customer is essential to resolve issues as and when they do occur.
On a positive I am pleased to hear that you did like the room and do hope that a future visit is not out of the question, I also hope that you have received my email that should help to clarify the situation.
Kind Regards

David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,711 - 4,717 of 5,002 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, and I would recommend it if you are looking to stay in Scarborough and the surrounding area. Stayed in a Superior double room with sea view,( 218) and it was very nice, two large windows and beautiful sea view. The bathroom was lovely with extra special touches , bathrobes, toiletries, and mood lighting above the double ended bath.
Previously stayed in a feature room (112) and would just like to say, we found nothing wrong with the room, yes there was no shower as previous reviewer stated! But the massive bath compensated for it, and regarding the toilet by the window, if the blind is closed, you cannot be seen by "the whole of Scarborough"!
Arrived in Scarborough late afternoon and could not get a space on the streets, free parking, but the receptionist mentioned the hotel car park, and was quite happy to pay £5 for the night.
The staff in this hotel are very friendly, we had dinner in Taste restaurant, and the food and service was brilliant, lovely bar lounge to relax in after dinner. Thankyou for a lovely stay, we will definatly be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

Thanks for a great review, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in room 218 and would once again like to say that the bathroom in room 112 is being refurbished in the next couple of months ready for the season.

You positive comments will be forwarded to all the staf who i know will be delighted.

Sorry that you found the parking is a little difficult at times but as you say can be overcome by using the secure hotel car park for a small fee, or the public car park located about 200 metres away.

We do look forward to you visiting us again in the near future.
Kind Regards
David Chambers / Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, and I would recommend it if you are looking to stay in Scarborough and the surrounding area. Stayed in a Superior double room with sea view,( 218) and it was very nice, two large windows and beautiful sea view. The bathroom was lovely with extra special touches , bathrobes, toiletries, and mood lighting above the double ended bath.
Previously stayed in a feature room (112) and would just like to say, we found nothing wrong with the room, yes there was no shower as previous reviewer stated! But the massive bath compensated for it, and regarding the toilet by the window, if the blind is closed, you cannot be seen by "the whole of Scarborough"!
Arrived in Scarborough late afternoon and could not get a space on the streets, free parking, but the receptionist mentioned the hotel car park, and was quite happy to pay £5 for the night.
The staff in this hotel are very friendly, we had dinner in Taste restaurant, and the food and service was brilliant, lovely bar lounge to relax in after dinner. Thankyou for a lovely stay, we will definatly be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Very friendly and efficient staff nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent both evening meal and breakfast. Room was nicely decorated, comfy and clean. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy111967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2011

Thank you so much for the positive review. i am so glad that the valentines break was an enjoyable one and will pass on your comments regarding the food and service at our next departmental meeting.

I do hope that you choose to visit the Crown on any further visits to Scarborough.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We booked a room with sea view and balcony , B&B for £165 , so imagine our suprise to be told we had to move our car out of the car park as they were fully booked! nobody mentioned on the phone when we booked about prebooking the car park- it was apparently on our booking acknowlegement!- having circled for 20 mins we found a space 1/2 a mile away! walking through the reception of cream plastic chairs- I wondered what the room was going to be like- The room was cold on arrival so I went over to the gas/elec fire!- it was not a working one!- tasteful!. The furniture was similar to my grandmas boarding house furniture that she had forty years ago, no mini bar, safe had no lock on it! and as for the bathroom- freezing!- this has not been updated for a few decades- small warm radiator that could not cope with the large room, the jacuzzi bath that jets did not work (no overhead shower) and as for the toilet- it has nice sea views as it has been positioned a foot away from the floor to ceiling window- unfortunately the rest of Scarborough is watching you! (we were on the first floor)- on the positive- The breakfast was ok , the staff at breakfast were extremely helpful- the sea view was nice and good sized flat screen tv in the bedroom- but I could have got this round the corner at my sisters!- thank goodness we were only there for one night!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bristol321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2011

May I first of all apologise for the inconveniences that you experienced during your recent stay.
Both on our website and during the booking process we do state that there is ample complimentary on street parking this is complimentary to the customer but does have to be purchased by the hotel. We also advertise that we have a car park available which needs to be pre booked, if you were not aware of this I am sorry and do wish you had asked the receptionist where else parking was available. Approximately 200 metres from the hotel is a public car park with 120 spaces.

Over the years I have received many positive comments regarding the features of the hotel, the entrance and the bedrooms and can say that yours is the first comment showing disapproval of the furnishings in reception. Anyone who would care to take the time to read through some of the reviews in this forum will see that very few if any customers have passed negative comments on the furnishings of the building.

Originally we did advertise that the bathroom in room 112 did have a Jacuzzi bath but since it was decided that the bathroom would be replaced as part of this winters renovations replacing it with a double ended bath with 20inch TV we have no longer informed customers of its existence and turned off the power to the jets.

I have checked the hotels complaints log today and can find no comments regarding the issues that have been mentioned in this review, had you expressed your disappointment in the furnishings and bathroom of the room I am sure I would have been able to move you to a room that satisfied your requirements.

We do thank all of our customers for comments made on this and any other forum and do take note of any issues that can be amended.

Regards

David Chambers – Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The room was lovely and spacious, bathroom was amazing with pink led lights over the bath. We stayed in a superior sea view room, it had two big windows with a great view. The reception staff were very helpful. We had continental breakfast which was good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzy1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2011

May i first of all thank you for a great review. We really do feel that our job has been done well when we receive a positive posting and the comments are posted in both our staffroom and company newsletter so staff are aware of the feedback left.

We do hope that you visit the Crown on your next visit and do look forward to serving you again in the future.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

A really nice hotel that adds a touch of class to the down to earth charms of Scarborough. A really nice room with nice little touches like a telescope to look out to sea with. Had a very tasty dinner of seafood and cheese platters (it would have been nice to know what the chesses were as they were local). Great spa treatments and leisure areas rounded off a fab overnight stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrigoandSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2011

So glad that you found Scarborough as charming as we do and great to hear that you felt the Crown has a touch of class.

A large part of the food that we provide is sourced locally and yes all chesses we are proud to say are from yorkshire, i shall speak to the restaurant manager to make sure he has the waiting staff inform the customers of the various names as many are seasonal and not always available.

We do hope that your next visit to Scarborough will see you visiting the Crown Again.

Kind Regards

David Chambers Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
3.1 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £65 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing