We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for all occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Watermark Cafe

The Watermark Cafe
Ranked #36 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Goole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great for all occasions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stopped here just for a quick drink and a bite to eat but it really suits all needs.
The location is terrific, right on the sea front, it's just a shame it isn't bigger. When full it can feel a little cramped inside and the seats outside are limited - I suppose that shows just how busy it can get in there.
But they do some great offers, particularly the early bird breakfast prices. But there's something to eat right throughout the day and from what I saw on the noticeboards they host a few events on summer evenings so it's definitely worth checking out if you're in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    141
    50
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Bucket list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I read yesterday that eating fish and chips on a pier is now on the UK's bucket list top 50. Forget the pier or jetty! Also, ignore tea at Betty's in Harrogate on the list. Watermark is where it's at.

Have visited here for years and it still fills me with awe and wonder. It's mainly the view granted, but the food has also been consistently very good in the way of a breakfast. I am extremely choosy when it comes to coffee and rarely drink instant or cheap ground coffee. Whatever, Watermark serves, it's good. I always have toasted tea cake and the boys either a bacon roll or full English.

The staff work like the clappers to make sure that service is great.

Bring me my bucket!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fartyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having read that this is a great place to go after walking the dog on the beach, this is exactly what we did! And we were not disappointed! Friendly staff, great service, organic/eco-friendly policies & tasty food - what's not to like? As the weather was so good, we sat outside; but we would have been welcome inside with our dogs. Just great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChocoloverBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed having breakfast here. The staff were particularly cheery and the food was fantastic. The location is stunning, definitely worth a visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank justthewayyouare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Friday - best breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Brilliant breakfast this morning - really friendly staff who were working flat out. A short wait as one of their grills wasn't working but well worth waiting for. Excellent quality and beautifully cooked - thanks - will definitely be returning - maybe for cake as they looked lovely :))

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MofromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watermark Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Watermark Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing