We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe on the seafront and very doggy friendly”
Review of The Watermark Cafe

The Watermark Cafe
Ranked #36 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cafe on the seafront and very doggy friendly”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After a recommendation from a couple of locals walking their dogs on the beach, we visited The Watermark for a cuppa and a bacon butty. We didn't have to wait long for a delicious butty which was washed down by lovely hot drinks. We'll definitely visit again as they were doggy friendly with plenty of fresh bowls of water available.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BikerBabeYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    148
    52
    39
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

First time we have ever been here, the food was excellent. Nicely served ,hot and well presented. The fairtrade cup of tea was the best ever. We shall definately go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank APW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deservedly popular!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We visited with adult family members on our visit from New Zealand. I was delighted to see a sign saying ethically sourced produce used. I spoke with Jill the owner and was most impressed with this small restaurant. They had vegetarian choices as well as something to suit everyone there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthwNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Unassuming from the outside, The Watermark Café is a real discovery. The views of the sea are fantastic, the food amazing and the staff superb. Our party included vegetarians and vegans, who had never seen such a great choice of food they could eat in a café. The delicious range of cakes all had the ingredients displayed, and there was an extremely impressive range of bottled beers.
It was the service however that stunned us most. The café was crowded, with queues of people, some people ordering just drinks, some ordering breakfasts, some lunches and some various snacks. The system behind the small counter was like a military operation. Armies of staff, each with their own task, worked together like a well-oiled machine to deliver beautifully cooked food in a very short time - and despite the limited space there were no collisions or near misses! Staff were friendly and efficient, and made the experience (which could have been stressful) a pleasure.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The long Walk”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After a long walk around Scarborugh it was nice to find a really good cafe on the front that did home cooked food and a really nice cup of tea, the service was good to say they were very busy and the view was brilliant

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_57663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Watermark Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Watermark Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing