We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cricket ground”

Scarborough Cricket Club
Ranked #25 of 82 things to do in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely cricket ground”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have seen Yorkshire playing here several times and this year we called to watch a local match on Sunday morning. Brilliant atmosphere even today when there were not capacity crowd.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank scrimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    29
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We are regulars to North Marine Road. Generally we love the place but just a couple of irritations - people saving two seats - one for their bags. Secondly the bucket seats at the Trafalgar Square end are often wet and dirty after rain or early morning mist. The many stewards could usefully wipe these down. No disrespect but they seemed to have little else to do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great win for Yorkshire”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent location. Friendly staff. Good food and drink at reasonable prices. Hot sunny days. Great value for admission price. Good cricket. Good venue for several fixture. A must for self or families.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dusty247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
372 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Always a very enjoyable day here - try and visit if you can”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I attended the third day of the county championship match against Middlesex. This is one of my favourite grounds in the country, the best 'outground' I have been to and a real credit to Scarborough Cricket Club. I was really impressed with the quality and condition of the outfield.

Unlike most 'outgrounds' there are permanent stands all the way round and to me the facilities seem to improve each year. I do wish the benches near the main entrance had backs to them - they get the sun in the afternoon (good) but aren't a comfortable sit for say two hours! There are always good crowds here and it does have a feel to it of a bygone era which is a positive - a ground of character, not a soulless arena.

There are plenty of food outlets/ bars including quite unusually a fish food facility but then the ground is only a few hundred yards from the sea. The ice cream must be good if the long queues are anything to go by. Toilets are good.

General admission at £15 is reasonable and very good at £10 for Seniors. There is no car parking at the ground nor in the surrounding streets but there are car parks nearby . If you are coming from the south and do not know the area very well, you may find it easier to follow signs for South Bay, not South Cliff, and weave your way round to North bay by the sea road. Parking on the promenade at North Bay is £6 for the day and the ground is only a 7/8 minute walk away but it is uphill via a cliff path and this needs to be borne in mind.

If you want some exercise at lunchtime then the lovely Peasholm Park is only 5 minutes away or you can walk along the well maintained promenades to either bay. My allegiance is to another county but as a cricket fan when the cricket fixtures are announced each year, one of the first things I look for is the Scarborough fixtures.

A real treat to visit and this year was no exception.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“cricket as it used to be”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

brilliant atmosphere for 1 day games, especially when the sun is out. Plenty of noise from the popular bank to get things going.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndyW1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough Cricket Club also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough Cricket Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing