We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amrock Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amrock Guest House
Ranked #86 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Myself and my partner stayed at the Amrock for 2 nights. The service was warm and friendly, the room was comfortable and clean. The location was perfect for us and very easy to find. The breakfast was very good and they were excellent at catering to individual needs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    19
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
34
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stayed for one night in the family room no4.met by owner on arrival and shown to our room yes at the top of the house 2flights of stairs but not a problem for us.room with double bed seating area and tv etc connecting room with bunk bed and another tv with DVD player in.fab for the kids to have own telly and in the draw was also a play station and games etc. en suite shower and toilet was in a room off the kids room.small little ensuite but who spends that much time in there anyway shower was powerful and spot less . Room was very clean.breakfast was cereals,fruit,cooked breki toast etc all served with a smile.would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Parking is on street but permit is given for yr stay.quiet street and short walk into town.thank you for a fabulous stop over.

Room Tip: Room 4 fab for a family as has connecting room had bunk beds but can have third put me up bed in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millsie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and would recommend Amrock to other visitors. My single room, though up two flights of stairs, was quite a good size and still within WiFi range of the router downstairs. The shower was good and there was plenty of storage.

Breakfast was good and the owner was very helpful. Situated near the North Bay I loved some of the local amenities. At the top of the road the sublime North Riding Brew Pub offers some great ales including some brewed on the premises - a real ale nirvana. Down the road Alfresco is a great little sandwich shop and there are a few restaurants and shops within a couple of minutes walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimForTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Having grown up in Scarborough and having family who provide services to many a B&B/Hotel in Scarborough area, I always enjoy coming back and staying in places no one has serviced/stayed.
This lovely hotel was perfect for our weekend stay.
Lovely room (room 3), small ensuite but nothing that is not manageable for the time we spent in the room, comfortable bed, good array of inroom complimentary hot drinks/bathroom items.
Although facing the small road the noise is minimal. Location is perfect with Peasholme but a 2 min walk away and the north bay approx 10/15 min away.
Breakfast was superb. We had a full english and an omlette which were both well cooked and portion size for a guest house was good.
Perfect location for those wanting to be near the sea, 15min walk to town, and Peasholme is always nice to walk around (feed the ducks/squirrels).
If i could pick any fault it would be the parking but this is far from the Amrocks fault. Lovely stay and we will be coming again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Loved the intimacy of the place and was made welcome from the very beginning. I am loathe to say how good it was so I can keep it to myself.
Lovely couple kept the place spotless and the breakfast was superb. Even the other guests were lovely, friendly and suitably unintrusive.
The parking was a bit of a nuisance due to the location of on-street parking only but in a minute, we had found parking and walked back to the Amrock. Not the fault of anyone other than the council. Loved our time at the Amrock and am tempted to book again just to spend more time there. Very close to the North bay, Peasholm Park, the Open Air theatre and comfortably distanced from the busy South Bay area. Loved every minute. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Greeted with a big smile from one of the owners, Nicola, signed in and taken to our room. Had to climb up 3 and a half flights of steep stairs to our room. We were in the family room which consisted of a lovely clean double room and an adjoining room with en suite and bunk beds. There was loads of drawer and wardrobe space. A comfortable settee, a dressing table and tea and coffee facilities in the double room. (With biscuits!) Both rooms had a tv/dvd combo. There was a game console in the kids room, but it wouldn't read any of the games that were there. The towels and small complimentary bath and shower items were a nice touch. The rooms were given a tidy and hoover everyday and the tea and coffee was replenished. Breakfast was 8:30-9am and it was absolutely delicious, cereal, yoghurt, chopped fresh fruit, tea/coffee and toast were basics, then a breakfast cooked to order was included in the price. Nicola or Andy were on hand to offer top ups of tea/coffee or toast. There was lots of local info leaflets in the reception area and a folder of info and money off vouchers in our room. There was a first aid box, small sewing kit, scissors, show shine, nail clippers etc in a box in a drawer in our room, along with a hairdryer. The hotel is walking distance to the beautiful Peasholme Park (just a few minutes), the Northbay Railway, Scarborough open air theatre, the North Bay beach, sealife centre. There are lots of local shops, food outlets and an abundance of fish and chip shops! The local bus service runs nearby and there's timetables in the reception. We bought return tickets to the town centre for £2.20 adult, £1.20 child. A taxi from Scarborough Train Station to the hotel cost £4.60 when were were there. I'd recommend this hotel, but would think families with small children using the steep stairs up and down to the family room everyday might find it a struggle. We'd return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have been staying at the Amrock for some time, when work requires me to remain in Scarborough. It is amongst the lowest-priced hotels in the area, and serves to show how much quality service can be achieved on a budget.

The rooms are spotless, modern, well-appointed, with en-suite showers/baths. TV/Freeview/DVD player and WiFi all work well in all rooms. The owners go out of their way to make guests welcome.

Breakfast is great - varied selection with fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, cooked breakfast and (icing on the cake) filter coffee. Short walk (10-15 mins) from the town centre, over the road from Peasolm park, and a few minutes from the North Bay.

Scarborough is not short on good quality B&Bs, but the Amrock is one of the best. Would strongly recommend for business or leisure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. If you're with a family, the hotel has one big room with a double bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorludo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rivelyn Hotel
Rivelyn Hotel
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#39 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Meltham Guesthouse
The Meltham Guesthouse
#51 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Dogs Guest House
Sea Dogs Guest House
#120 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kenton
The Kenton
#117 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amrock Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrock Guest House

Property: Amrock Guest House
Address: 11 Victoria Park Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrock Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amrock Guest House is situated in the North Bay area of Scarborough. We offer a friendly, informal, clean en-suite guest accommodation. Our Guest House offers a range of individual letting rooms, each aimed at individual users. All rooms have full en suite facilities, tea and coffee making facilities and colour TV with Freeview and DVD capabilities. We offer free WiFi access. We are strictly 100% non smoking. We regret that we are unable to take pets (guide dogs excepted).Amrock Guest House is the ideal place to stay whether you are enjoying a superb Yorkshire holiday, a short break or if you are looking for clean and comfortable accommodation during a business trip.Our Edwardian guest house was built in 1906 and has three upper floors and a basement. The 8 front steps with handrails either side lead to the entrance porch, and entrance hall. On this floor is the Breakfast room and kitchen.Our first floor has rooms 1, 2 & 3, the top floor has our family room and a single room. As you can appreciate several small suitcases/bags are preferable to one large one.If you come by car our guests' have to park on the street for which we can provide you with a parking permit or disk. We cannot guarantee you a space but there is a public car park a few minutes walk away.We are located in the North Bay area of Scarborough, and is ideally located for Peasholm Park, the Alexandra indoor and outdoor bowls centre, the North Bay 'blue flag' beaches, Scarborough Cricket Ground and the now completed outdoor theatre.The town centre and the South Bay area with its amusements and entertainment venues are both a comfortable 15 minutes stroll away.We are unable to take bookings for stag or hen parties.Children under 12 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amrock Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing