We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impromptu visit for ribs.”
Review of El Gringo's

El Gringo's
Ranked #98 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impromptu visit for ribs.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We fancied some ribs so have a surf around for our nearest restaurant. We found El Gringo and decided to give it a try. We both ordered Steak and Ribs combo and it came with curly fries, colesaw, salad garnish and corn cob. The ribs were beautifully cooked but could have done with been a little warmer, all the other food on the plate was perfectly cooked and up to temperature so it was noticeable that the ribs were only part warmed though. The steak was cooked just as we asked for and we both had clean plates. I would go again and I would order the ribs again but I would ask for them to be cooked or warmed a little longer than these were.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieHobson27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    104
    49
    24
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Terrible service, mostly average food”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Visited one Saturday as a mid-size group - service bad throughout, this combined with food being nothing to write home about means I definitely wouldn't bother again.

FOOD/DRINK
We shared nachos for starters - probably the nicest part of the meal! Good size portions, and topping included spring onion, chunks of peppers etc.

Variety of mains ordered - enchiladas, chicken, meat combo, chilli, burger...

The person who ordered chicken left most of it as he wasn't convinced it was cooked. I asked for a slight deviation on sides, which seemed to confuse, and another main came with the wrong side order. Not a massive issue in this case, but would be if you'd particularly wanted something.

Whilst, aside from the chicken, it was all edible, none of it was good - very average, in some cases tasteless tex-mex. HUGE portions - absolutely enormous. All the meals come with lots of extras - sweetcorn, salad, rice, various kinds of potatoes etc.

Desserts were the worst part of the meal - they'd run out of some things, with some others a little odd. Sticky waffle pudding was left by the person who never leaves food as he said it was weird (basically a waffle pie) and inedible, hot chocolate fudge cake was neither hot nor fudgey. Though Brownie and cheesecake were both OK, if not good.

Soft drinks very reasonable, alcoholic less so - though the pitchers are reasonable value.

SERVICE
Everything seemed like it was too much bother - even when we asked to settle up - gave the impression they didn't really want us to pay...

It was difficult throughout to get attention when we wanted it, there were long waits to order anything, and the waitress seemed confused by even the simplest of orders as well as forgetting things - having to ask for something three times is simply not acceptable.

AMBIANCE
Smokey on entering, probably due to the skillet serving of some items. Remained for most of the night. Bad acoustics meant it was difficult to hear even those sat opposite.

All in all, we had a good night - but this was entirely due to the company. Everything about this place leaves something to be desired.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pentala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We decided to visit this restaurant as we stayed overnight in the area.
The good
- Food was filling
- Food was warm and varied
- Soft drinks not to bad In price
- 50% of a Tuesday night for students
The bad
- Staff seem sooo ditzy!
- Was not allowed to have student discount on a dish unless the people I was with dined to..
- Waited well over an hour to get our mains
- When bill arrived not even my starter had the 50% off..
No where does it state only on mains.
- Fatty cuts of steak, had to literally cut loads off.
Bill came to over £30
Would not visit here again..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Popular restaurant on the south cliff, the nearest thing you'll find to a Mexican restaurant in the area, large portions, beer by the bucket, great place for a group night out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favourite place to eat in Scarborough.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've been going to El Gringos for a few years now and it's always been good. Tonight was the first time I'd been this year and it was really good. The food was gorgeous. The portions were big the atmosphere was really good and the service was good even though the restuant was almost full.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hungryman1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gringo's also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to El Gringo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing