We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights 27th Oct-30th with my husband and two children. The room was supposed to be a family room. It was actually a standard room with an extra bed stuck in, which was very small for the four us to stay in for 3 nights. Very disappointed to say the least as they advertise the family room to be 'Spacious'. Have used premier inn for many years and stayed in many of their hotels and feel very let down this time. On the second day my daughter split pizza over our bed, but instead of changing the covers the cleaners just made the bed back up with the stains left on the bed. Whilst having breakfast, it was clearly mayhem, cups and bowls ran out. Staff were complaining to each other how short staffed they were. On the plus side the hotel is in a good location for everything and reception staff were friendly. If your coming here as a family make sure you get a 'family room' not a double room with an extra bed put in!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynchf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    405
    119
    39
    20
See reviews for
468
459
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night in a family room with our toddler. The hotel itself is still quite new so everything is in good condition. The room was comfortable and clean, and a fair size for a budget hotel. The room was too hot for my tastes but i did find the air con controls the following morning so no problem there! This was my first stay in a Premier inn and i was pleasantly surprised. The additional single bed was a proper 'bed' and nicely made up which is more than you get in other budget hotels. Certainly better than a Travelodge! The view wasn't exactly scenic (we stayed on the 3rd floor at the back, the window opened onto a telegraph pole less than a foot away, and we looked directly into an office window!) but that wasn't an issue for us just for the one night. Parking was a worry for us having read the reviews on here, however we managed to get the last space in the car park directly opposite the hotel, which was free overnight so cant complain.
Only thing i would say is to maybe steer clear of the cooked breakfast available in the attached restaurant- not really worth the money as the eggs were solid, and the beans cold. We would be happy to go back to this hotel again, but will only be getting the continental breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessM292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Property still has advantages of newness, so immaculate rooms and bathrooms. Usual excellent check-in and check-out service and helpful desk staff. Very good on site Chef and Brewer with deals available on both nights we stayed. Although we paid qauite a lot more than we have done for other Premier Inn stays, we appreciate our stay was a half-term week end in a sea side resort, so think the price was very reasonable.

Only gripe - our usual - is the cost of Wifi at this and all Premier Inns, particularly as you can access Wifi for free anywhere along the sea front in Scarborough.

Other gripes are down to Scarborough rather than Premier Inn.
1) hassle finding free or low cost car parking anywhere close to the hotel. Premier Inn tell you iabout free overnight car parking in the municipal car park across the road, but you will be extremely lucky to get a space there. We used the Brunswick Shopping Centre car park which cost us a reasonable £4.50 from Friday 4pm until Saturday 10 am and then £7.50 from 6 pm on Saturday to 10 am on Sunday - never have been able to work this one out! One good tip we followed up on from the Tourist Information Kiosk on the sea front was to park during the day free of charge on the Esplanade near the clock tower. It is a 20 minute walk from the hotel, so not goot for lugging cases, but fine otherwise.
2) Noise from the surrounding clubs and pubs, especially in the early hours of the morning, but then that is what you have to expect of a hotel so well situated in the centre of the town and the sea front, and have to say that the double glazing was mostly pretty effective.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a corridor - that way, if there are noisy guests next door, it will onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Spent 2 nights here, in the centre of Scarborough, nice and quiet, though was a sunday and monday night. Very impressed with the quality of the very large family room and the beds. Staff were all very friendly and very helpful. The restaurant was excellent with all you could eat and very nice food of every variety.
Was concerned about parking but no problem at all , the Palm Court hotel opposite had a multi storey car park and only £10 for 24 hours.
Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeicestershireHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Well located new Premier Inn right in the centre of Scarborough.
We are a family of three just taking a short break to visit the many attractions in this part of the world.
This Premier Inn only opened in March and as expected was very clean and tidy. As others have mentioned parking is a pain, we stayed in October and were able to park right opposite the Hotel in the Palm Court, Council owned parking area, a bit expensive but we arrived mid afternoon, paid about £4 to park until 6pm, thereafter it is free until 9am the next day and any time left over from the previous night counts in the morning, so we could leave our car until after 10am without worrying about a ticket(top tip)
Rooms fresh and new and staff great, only problems we had were an ill fitting glazed sliding unit in our room which let in noise from the various pubs and clubs in the area (Dont be put off!) and by a drunken female guest at 0630 believing our room was hers until I advised her accordingly, not the hotels fault. Good Brewers Fayre attached
Great location for touring the area, Whitby a must, Goathland (Heartbeat) worth a short visit on the railway.
Nice...................................

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear (apart from our ill fitting double glazed window) are better-room 227
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveJ404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This was the first time I have stayed in a Premier Inn and I don't think it will be the last.

The bed was the best I've ever slept in. The room was also in a quiet area so I did not hear any noise at all considering the hotel was busy. Being a fairly new hotel everything was still spic-and-span. I was pleased that there was a bath (as well as a shower over the bath).

I have nothing negative to say about it.

To avoid the parking problems constantly mentioned - let the train take the strain!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxyviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Great hotel right in the shopping area and 10 mins from beach on foot. Very clean and comfortable. We were on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel and the staff said they were full. I can honestly say it was the quietest night we have ever had in a hotel. My only gripe is i had to pay parking £4.00. But i guess that is the price we have to pay staying in the city. We dined in the Brewers fayre, food good but bar staff slow and no one asked us at any point if we were enjoying our meal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deerelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,642 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Address: 15 Falconers Road, Scarborough YO11 2EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Yorkshire's famous north and south bay beaches and the dramatic Scarborough Castle nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing