We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

i didnt really expect to enjoy this at all, Scarborough being particularly noted for its old fashioned hotels. Its even better when that turns around to being a very enjoyable experience.
In comparison to most modern hotels this is slightly old fashioned but its comfy, clean, very friendly and we couldnt have wanted more.
The floorboards creak and groan, the lift stops between floors (a bit disconcerting but you soon realise its only if you put something within the beam and it starts up again), you are given a large key to the room door but all this adds to the character and do I really need electronic door opening, I can manage without it!!
The breakfast was good, the price was ok and its right in the centre of town.
Apparently I parked in the "wrong" car park and wasnt told on arrival but hey, no problem at all, it was dealt with very quickly and there was no cost.
I think we can all get used to too much "modernisation" without ever questioning whether its needed or not, I would much rather be somewhere clean, friendly and easy than a modern box hotel without those attributes.
The Palm Court provided just what I needed for an enjoyable weekend away with friends and I cant ask for more than that.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    208
    86
    25
    15
See reviews for
135
276
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castle Donington - Derby
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

There were 6 of us visiting Scarborough for a conference. Six of us were arriving in the afternoon and 2 later on. The staff could not have been more helpful in checking us in, advising us where the (free) hotel car park was. And they advised the kitchen that two would be arriving late and the meal would be ready for them.

The quality of the rooms was good, if not too hot because the outside temperature was in the mid 20's. The bathroom was excellent, with a good shower and nice fittings in the bathroom. The room was large with plenty of room. I cannot speak for the others, but they were all satisfied with the quality and size of their rooms.

The food was good. Well served, promptly served by polite helpful staff who knew the menu and the constituents of the food.

During the weekend the hotel was full to the brim, yet at breakfast, the staff didn't seem to be rushed, they had the time to chat and check what you wanted. No sooner had you finished than the plate was taken away.

One afternoon, the pianist was in the lounge - really good, a self taught pianist with a wealth of tunes at his fingertips and a personality to match.

One of our friends used the pool and praised the cleanliness of it. One problem was with the refurbishment in that there were no changing rooms, although no doubt this will change in the near future.

As you can see, I cannot praise the staff enough, really good, many of them local, all great personalities!

the one drawback was the noise from outside, but then again, it did stop promptly at 12 midnight!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We chose this hotel for a 3 night stay because of its great location in the centre of Scarborough and the car parking and were not disappointed by either. However, having stayed in many 3 and 4 star hotels we found that outside of the entrance and lounge areas the hotel really does not live up to its billing. Our room was spacious but overpriced for the facilites it provided. As previously commented the hotel has no air conditioning and this makes for stuffy bedrooms and a particularly stuffy and claustrophobic dining room. We did not have dinner in the hotel due to the poor menu with little attempt to cater for non-meat eaters. The breakfast was average to bland with a poor selection on the buffet table. The serving staff did not listen to our order for hot food and we ended up with items we didn't want or order. All in all a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank clartodm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Dear Sir,

Havining read your comments I must say that I am dissapointed that the Hotel did not meet your expectations like so many of our customers. Unfortunately the Hotel does not have air conditioning in the bedrooms purely due to the nature and age of the building. Newly refurbished public areas do have air conditioning however.

Within the facilities we do have an indoor pool, Free Internet access and complimentary secure parking for all residents which in itself is a rarity in the centre of Scarborough. As an independent Hotel food and service together with customer service is at the forefront of all staffs objectives. Our evening menu consists of a six choices per course , together with daily specials and Vegetarian options such as Beetroot and Goats Cheese Tart tatin not being least of these.

As an aside with do have a comprehensive Lounge menu consisting of no less than 25 choices if you wish to have chosen from that menu. Once again we do apologise for not meeting your expectations at Scarboroughs highest rated 3 star Hotel.

I thank you for your comments and will relay them onto all departmemts so that we can further improve on our guest experience and expectations.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My partner and I arrived at the Palm court Hotel on Saturday afternoon to what we thought would be a nice little one night stay at one of Scarboroughs finest 3* Hotels. After entering a splendid looking entrance that is when it all went down hill.

After spending what felt like forever at reception waiting to be seen to, eventually an unapologetic member of staff asked "YES" in quite an abrubt manner. After telling them our names we apparently were not booked in as we were not on the system, we were asked to go and sit in the bar area while they tried to find our booking. Eventually 20 minutes later the abrubt girl found it and blamed a clerical error.

We decided to have something to eat in the lounge area where a really good pianist was playing, i opted for the Club Sandwich and my Partner had the Atlantic Prawns sandwich. The bacon was burnt to a crisp and the chicken was so fatty i could hardly digest it, my partners prawns were not fresh and were almost raw. The waitress asked if we had enjoyed the sandwiches which i told her the problem to which she replied "Oh dear"

Off to our room which was very small and not to the highest of cleanliness, the bed was lumpy and the room was very hot. I opened the window to let some air to be virtually attacked by one of the biggest seagulls i have ever seen (Not Palm Courts fault for the seagull).

At 5.30am after i had managed about an hours sleep (due to the heat) is when the seagulls awoke and made so much noise that no more sleep was possible.

We didnt even bother having breakfast and got in the car and went home nearly falling asleep at the wheel.

Very Very poor all round!!!!

Room Tip: Too hot, small and dated!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Golfer1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2011
Thank you for your recent review of the Hotel. Having read your review I must say that it feels more of an assassination of the Hotel than any constructive comments. We rarely receive complaints regarding food and service at the Hotel and other websites "booking" continuously compliment the staff on their freindly unobstrusive service which only furthers the incumbents and my "modus operandi" towards all guests.


Cleary being situated on the coast the seagulls are endemic to the area and we have made humane provisions recently on the Hotel to deter them settling onto the building. Other establishments will indeed source a Falconer to cull them. It is unfortunate that after guests leave certain aspects the hindered your enjoyment were not voiced at the time of your stay.

It becomes very hard after this to rectify any disatisfaction. I would be more happy to discuss your issues directly rather than this unfortunate dutch auction of disparaging comments surrounding the highest rated 3 star hotel in 25 miles.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Just returned from 2 nights at the Palm court and am looking forward to a good nights sleep in own bed! it is a nice enough hotel, but for £120 a night I was expecting to have 2 good nights sleep....but our room was very cramped and sooo hot it was unbearable, even with the windows open and a (very noisy) fan on it was like being in Greece in a non-air conditioned apartment in August. It's september in North Yorkshire, so I am confused as to why it was so hot, the staff said that the heating wasn't on so I really don't know why it was so hot. BUt according to the staff 'its just a very hot building', It was unbearable and very disappointing as the heat ruined what is otherwise a very nice traditional hotel. Will never stay there again!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have passed this hotel a number of times and always commented on how nice it looked, so we decided to try it.
We are a family of 2+1 and booked a family room which is £150. Per night, not cheap but we thought it was worth it. The fact that it has a pool with the unpredictable UK weather was a real bonus. There is one thing guaranteed if it's cold and wet outside it will be in the pool. It is not heated and looking shabby and dated. My little boy jumped in and out. It was freezing. Reception rooms are nice but once you head to the rooms it feels tired and worn. The room was clean but the double bed felt like a three quarter in size. The floors creeked really badly. I woke my wife and child every time I went to the toilet. I had to hold my self from about 5am to avoid waking them up early. All in all not a bad hotel but over priced

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee-from-skipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Everything good, nice relaxing break for my husband and I, made more special by the atmosphere in the hotel. Easy going, helpful and eagre to please. The parking and knowledge that the car was secure and no extra charges added to the short break. Overall good value for money, clean, comfy beds, two pillows each (without asking !!)...perhaps my one and only query was why we only got one filter coffee pack in a room for two...well I had to find something wrong as nowhere is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#12 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing