We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in the Executive Suite, the room size was good but would say that it was more of a double sized room. The room and hotel were immaculately clean. There was a notice at reception saying that all corridors were to refurbished week commencing 4th November 2014. We decided to dine in the restaurant and the food was simply delicious, Breakfast did not disappoint it too was delicious. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We will definatley stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaB23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    209
    86
    25
    15
See reviews for
136
276
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last month to take advantage of sunday steak night! The staff are a pleasure to deal with especially david who is very polished indeed. The full package-location, ambience, staff and not least the top quality restaurant! The food is simply delicious and well presented! Well done.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and family as part of my brothers birthday celebrations. I was looking forward to it as we had our wedding reception here in 2001 and have great memories of the hotel.
Unfortunately the experience this time left me cold. Lights out and not replaced after two days of asking, window in the bathroom that did not close, poor service when asking for more pillows (pretty much thrown at me with separate pillow cases and told to put them on myself).
On top of this we ordered food in advance and when it arrived it was not what we ordered and my replacement meal which arrived ten minutes later was not cooked. Raw cod not being a favourite of mine!
Nice features in the hotel and some nice staff do not make up for what seems to be a tired hotel unfortunately.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamperBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear "HappyCamperBucks,"

Thank you for your comments and feedback concerning your stay with us here 3 months ago at the Palm Court Hotel. Firstly I must apologise that the Hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay.

All feedback from guests are used to further improve the Hotels operation, offerings, standards and service to make future provisions better. However on this occasion we did not deliver for you. I have checked all lines of communication, incident logs and maintanence records to see if anything could have been done. It does become very difficult to rectify any possible issues 3 months after a guest has stayed and it is hard to find the relevant information, when all staff here would be more than happy to assist in making an experience here one to remember for the right reasons.

I thank you for your review and if you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate in contacting me or email ; generalmanager@palmcourt-scarborough.co.uk.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kendal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with husband in' small double' room for £160 b&b. However room size was adequate. Room was immaculately clean. Corridors do need work but there were notices saying they will be refurbished next month. Breakfast was superb. Only minor let down was pool area which we didn't use as it is my opinion from looking through the window to the pool that it looked a little run down and certainly wasn't inviting. Other than this the hotel was truly excellent. Service was second to none and all staff wee friendly and obliging. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekykkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Ekykkc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments concerning your stay with us here recently. I am pleased that the breakfast, cleanliness of rooms and service of staff exceeded your expectations. The Hotel is soon about to embark on a substantial refurbishment of all corridors and stairwell areas.

We do hope to see you once again in the future .

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campsall, Doncaster
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

A very good hotel in a North Yorkshire seaside resort. The rooms are very comfortable en suite rooms on four floors. There is a small lift to overcome the stair problems for disabled guests although there are steps to negotiate to the lounge or restaurant. The food is excellent and the hotel staff are attentive.

Room Tip: Be prepared to ask for a superior room with a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Brian M,

As you are a "Senior reviewer" in this forum, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent review of the Palm Court here in Scarborough . Your kind words will be relayed onto staff who you have stated as being attentive.

We do have the provision of portable ramps which all staff would be only to willing to help meet any disabled guests requirements. I do hope this in itself would not deter you from returning to stay with us .

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Glaisdale Suite on a DB&B basis as it was our wedding anniversary. The room was lovely and spacious. Unfortunately I was not feeling to well upon arrival. All the staff were lovely and really accommodating. I asked the restaurant manager if they could tweek one of my main courses one evening as I didn't want a huge amount to eat due to not feeling too great, this was not a problem to him at all which was nice. The receptionist even asked if I was feeling better which I thought was nice also and that you are not just a number unlike other hotels. Dave the barman was great as always. I think some of the new staff members have "boosted the atmosphere" at the Palm Court which I think it possibly needed. I noticed there was a party one afternoon having Afternoon Tea which looked fantastic and I think I will try sometime in the near future!. Will be returning to the PC soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnieCOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear ErnieCone,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments in relation to staying with us here recently. I am firstly pleased that staff went out of their way to assist any dietary requirements that you had. I will pass your comments onto our new Restaurant Manager Sean who is new to the company and also Dave who is our longest standing member for over 30 years.

Sean's enthusiasm will indeed be harnessed into improving service, standards in continuing to exceed guest expectations which fundamentally as a family owned business we are delighted that guests do notice those extra special touches.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel once more if only to try our ever popular Afternoon Tea

kind regards


Mr Jay Clements
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Palm Court for 2 nights in the Glaisdale Suite. On arrival the check in was smooth and we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. Our room was beautiful, with plenty of space and complimentary dressing gowns, slippers etc. Our young daughter was to sleep on the sofa bed, which was very comfortable. The only negative was there was a large stain on the ceiling in the lounge area which a lick of paint would have covered up and made look much better, and the room is directly above the dining room so from 7am you can hear the music being played to diners and again late into the evenings. After unpacking we went for a swim, I must say this was the only part of the hotel that wasn't 5 star, and the only reason I haven't given a full 5 stars. The pool area is rather unwelcoming, with a corregated tin roof, slippy sides and the odd snail dotted here and there. The pool was chilly and I really didn't enjoy my swim at all.
After swimming, we enjoyed a drink in the fantastic lounge area, it was beautiful and the afternoon tea looked devine. The following morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast with plenty of choice. The restaraunt manager (who had only been there a few days) was outstanding, and did a fantastic job. He was so professional, courteous and friendly, definitely a credit to the hotel.
The pianist in the afternoons was a definite bonus and very enjoyable.
On the second evening we dined in the restaraunt, it was absolutely outstanding. The food was amazing, and the service (again down to the new manager) was some of the best we had experienced. There was a childrens menu, which was welcomed and we were able to mix the food choices with the main menu.
We had very pleasant couple of days at the hotel and would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tilly1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#12 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing