We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good but !!”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Looks very exclusive when you pull up,very well designed entrance and bar area, But a lift which is out of the arc,is a taste of things to come the rooms no 30 in our case are very dated, flowered curtains miss matched cushions laminate floor
with stark white tiles feels more like a hostel than hotel.
The staff are friendly enough but a distinct 1980,s feel. And as for the pool make sure your up yo date with tetanus yellow fever jabs, water looks as though algae has got a hold,plaster coming off the walls,all this in front of the lounge,for some reason it is overlooked by large windows,I can only this is for the amusement of the other guests !!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tileman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear "Tileman_13"

Thank you for your review concerning your stay here with us at the Palm Court Hotel in Scarborough and must apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. However I do feel that some of your comments are completely misleading and at times vindictive.

The hotel staff continuously receive praise surrounding their manner , professionalism and friendly service as other reviews state and therefore I feel your comments of a "bygone era" are detrimental to us here and to the industry as a whole.

We will use your feedback to continue to improve our offerings here. If you wish to contact myself directly then please do not hesitate to email generalmanager@palmcourt-scarborough.co.uk.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

After taking a special offer card from the hotel we decided to book over the phone with a lovely lady called Judith.

Check in was professional and friendly with explanations given considering a refurbishment that hotel is in the middle of. Our accommodation was spacious, clean and more than we expected condsidering the price we were paying. A great selection of fruit teas and fresh coffee were provided. The bathroom again was to a great standard, beautifully appointed with all the toiletries required.

Our meal in the restaurant was delicious and obviously seasonal. Service was good and friendly. Staff seemed happy in what they were doing, professional and smart. The same staff were on duty the next morning at breakfast. Excellent buffet selection with full english also included within the price. Fresh orange juice would have been marvellous!

Decor throughout the hotel was classy, traditonal but also modern touches everywhere. The lounge had relaxing music, lit tealights and a great menu . You can clearly tell that the hotel takes time and consideration over its guests. It makes such a difference to us and this was our first trip to Scarborough.

Currently there is some building work being done inside the Hotel but there are notices inside explaining. Do not let this put you off!! We also had discussion with the manager who said the work will be completed before the new year so we intend to return in the new year. All in all a great hotel with polite, courteous, professional staff.

Value for money too. Drawbacks, apart from the weather absolutely nothing!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear "David C,"

Thank you for your comments surrounding your stay with us here at the Palm Court Hotel. I will pass on your compliments to all staff, especially Judith who has been with us here for over 10 years.

We are currently in mid refurbishment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future to see the completed work.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Well we have returned as mentioned in my last review this is one of the best yes it's perhaps not as modern as most people expect but that's part of its charm, wonderful staff excellent food well above 3 star lounge area and restaurant all well above standard it's under going modernization as clearly stated in notices but we could not fault it some issues throughout hotel with heating but it's a old beautiful building and they fix / offer heaters asap we will return again an again unless it reaches 5star standards and we can't afford it. I even took time to write a personal note of thanks that's how impressed we are PS forgotten parking big big plus point

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank samamyluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear "Samamyluke,"

Firstly a huge thank you for such kind words concerning your stay with us here at the Hotel recently in Scarborough. As returning guests to the Hotel it is even more impressive for us that we have exceeded your expectations once again.

The Hotel is currently going through a substantial refurbishment programme so we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future once completed. Finally as a "three star hotel with 5 star values and standards" we will contunue to offer very competitive rates and offers that in no way reflect 5 star prices.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A very old fashioned hotel,and this is good, old fashioned service and old fashion standards which these days are difficult to find. We dined in on our first nite and ordered the Steak special for two, which includes a bottle of house wine. The food was perfect, the wine very good, the service excellent and all for £30.00. So looking forward to breakfast. The staff are friendly and attentive without being over the top. All round exceptional value for money, we will be back, thank you Palm Court !!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear "Val H,"

It speaks volumes for me to read your comments that have actually been submitted during your stay. So may I take this opportunity to thank you for such great feedback surrounding dining experience and service that you received whilst here with us.

Thank you for such kind words and on behalf of all the staff here we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in the Executive Suite, the room size was good but would say that it was more of a double sized room. The room and hotel were immaculately clean. There was a notice at reception saying that all corridors were to refurbished week commencing 4th November 2014. We decided to dine in the restaurant and the food was simply delicious, Breakfast did not disappoint it too was delicious. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We will definatley stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaB23_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last month to take advantage of sunday steak night! The staff are a pleasure to deal with especially david who is very polished indeed. The full package-location, ambience, staff and not least the top quality restaurant! The food is simply delicious and well presented! Well done.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Smudje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and family as part of my brothers birthday celebrations. I was looking forward to it as we had our wedding reception here in 2001 and have great memories of the hotel.
Unfortunately the experience this time left me cold. Lights out and not replaced after two days of asking, window in the bathroom that did not close, poor service when asking for more pillows (pretty much thrown at me with separate pillow cases and told to put them on myself).
On top of this we ordered food in advance and when it arrived it was not what we ordered and my replacement meal which arrived ten minutes later was not cooked. Raw cod not being a favourite of mine!
Nice features in the hotel and some nice staff do not make up for what seems to be a tired hotel unfortunately.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank HappyCamperBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear "HappyCamperBucks,"

Thank you for your comments and feedback concerning your stay with us here 3 months ago at the Palm Court Hotel. Firstly I must apologise that the Hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay.

All feedback from guests are used to further improve the Hotels operation, offerings, standards and service to make future provisions better. However on this occasion we did not deliver for you. I have checked all lines of communication, incident logs and maintanence records to see if anything could have been done. It does become very difficult to rectify any possible issues 3 months after a guest has stayed and it is hard to find the relevant information, when all staff here would be more than happy to assist in making an experience here one to remember for the right reasons.

I thank you for your review and if you wish to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate in contacting me or email ; generalmanager@palmcourt-scarborough.co.uk.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
975 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
605 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £83 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing