We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold room , cold breakfast , disappointing”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
doncaster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cold room , cold breakfast , disappointing”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Always wanted to stay her so booked for my husband for a Christmas surprise for both our birthdays in January, got a good deal with breakfast ,
On arrival parked in what said Palm court car park to find out it wasn't , so reparked only just in their car park as pillars blocked most of the spaces left.
The room was lovely with a full tray and choices of drinks and bottled water was great, but the disabled rail in the bathroom was rusty and hanging off so not safe to use, there was no heated towel rail and the bathroom was very cold
The bedroom also had no heating and radiators were not working and should have been as other parts of hotel were warmer even the corridors, did not have morning showers as it was very frosty outside and in the bathroom
The breakfast was in a different room to normal due to a wedding the sat aft and evening and the scrambled egg and beans were in Pyrex dishes on a table so both were cold as were served befor the bacon, sausage and or the items .
Explained on checking out about the cold room and was told the 4 th floor rooms are cold and they do have electric heaters !!!! Would not have liked one plugged in all night due to safety and as they are aware they really should have extra bedding for guests, a very disappointing stay so palm court it's back to the ambassador for us or even premier inn have warm rooms

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DoncasterOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear "Doncasterowls,"

Thank you for your comments and feedback surrounding your experience here at the Hotel. I must apologise that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion. In terms of your guaranteed parking we do issue permits for all guests upon check in whilst offering porterage to enable guests to check in smoothly.

Also the Hotels policy is to contact the guest after checking in to ask if there is anything else we can offer. Within our call our reception will inform the guest of further information with additional pillows, linen available not being least of these. We do ask if there is anything else we can do for you? This I feel gives any guest the opportunity of raising any possible issues that that may have so that we can remedy the situation immediately and not after the guest has left the hotel.

Your sunday breakfast was indeed served within the adjacent room as we were under a substantial refurbishment which I am happy to say that this has now been completed. During this we made every effort to not compromise any guests experiences during staying with us. Having recently been awarded 1 AA rosette for culinary excellence we will continue to use all guest feedback to further improve standards, food, service and offerings.

So may I thank you for your comments and of you wish to contact myself directly than I would be happy to discuss your stay further.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    214
    88
    26
    15
See reviews for
138
283
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here on 11.01.2014 on a deal through Expedia: £137 p.n. for 2 adults 1 child DBB which is quite good: We arrived about 12 and our room was ready for us which was a surprise: an underground car park for residents is great and saves you £10: there was a wedding on in the hotel and the main dining room looked superb decked out for the wedding: the wedding party added to the buzz of the hotel which I suppose would have been very quiet if it hadn't been hosting the wedding:
The bedroom was on the 4th floor and had double and single beds and was nice without being palatial: the bedroom was cold but I asked for a portable heater at reception and it was delivered quickly:
We went to have a look at the swimming pool and I'm afraid its in need of development and has no privacy as the glass wall from the lounge looks directly into it: nobody used it during our stay:
There's no Jacuzzi or Sauna, just the pool:
The evening meal was very nice and waitress very pleasant:
Breakfast was nice but sausages tasted like hot-dogs so we left them: I've had better breakfasts but it was adequate:
Overall the hotel is nice and cosy and in a good location with free parking and we would go again without hesitation although breakfasts at the Premier Inn (opposite) are better: but the hotel itself is far better than hotels from national companies (Travelodge etc..)
Thank you for a nice weekend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reedyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear reedyDurham,

Thank you for your comments surrounding your stay with us here on the 11.1.14. Reading through your comments and suggestions I will indeed relay all that you have stated to ensure that we continue to put guest requirements at the front of our daily remit.

I would like to clarify your comment surrounding your breakfast. I am happy that you enjoyed it but as for the sausages I can ensure yourself and future guests that we only use locally sourced sausages from a well established local butcher. Perhaps these were not to your taste as personally I could not think of anything worse than being served "hotdogs" for breakfast.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you in the future .

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

What a fantastic evening my team and I had at the Palm Court this Christmas. We spent 5 wonderful hours sampling fantastic food in wonderful surroundings served by very attentive staff.
The evening started with delicious canopies served in the lounge bar. We were then escorted to our table in the restaurant and the gastro delight commenced! We all had different but every person said their particular choice was delicious and it was all very well presented! After a starter, sorbet, main and dessert we then enjoyed cheese and biscuits in the lounge listening to a very entertaining jazz trio!
The best Xmas evening out in town!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spectrum Cleani... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Jo,

Thank you very much for your kind words in relation to your staff celebration here during our December Festive Dining evenings. I will pass on your comments onto Chef and restaurant staff and look forward to seeing you once again.

Regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Take afternoon tea very regularly at Palm Court and bad revue must have been an off day as
it was delightful on 28 December with pianist and beautiful candles burning in the candelabras
very good value and good chanpagne too,my favourite after Reids in Madiera !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1tomato2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Fantastic meal & entertainment, had a great night. Staff looked after us well. Service was excellent. Food was superb. Young chap who serenaded us had a lovely voice & provided excellent background music! An excellent night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank argentgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

For the 4th year running my husband & I took our New Y ear guest for Champagne Afternoon tea on the 30 th of January , previous visits have rivaled most of the famous London afternoon tea haunts , with starched napkins , tablecloth and really delicious sandwiches , scones ,cakes and small delicate desserts . However ,sadly we were very disappointed this year ,no tablecloth , thin paper napkin and a selection of dry shortbread , the minutest mince pie and the previously delicious desserts were just cold custard . The champagne was most acceptable & a very generous glass and indeed we were going to order a second glass each ,however the fire alarm was randomly sounding at 5-10 min intervals , with no explanation apart from " no problem it fault " sic . After 20 mins we decided to evacuate ourselves !
We have a holiday home in Scarborough ,and frequently have visitors to stay , and always take them to eat in local restaurants , we were so disappointed for the hotel as in the past this normally memorable afternoon tea has been a highlight of our Christmas break . Despite this ,we think the hotel is very welcoming, the lounge area , traditional and comfortable , the dining room looks charming and the tea is exceptional value . Perhaps just an "off " day, & we will return !

Room Tip: Have not stayed in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladycragford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Had an overnight stay at the Palm Court hotel between christmas and new year for the second year running as a christmas treat to ourselves and once again it was a really fabulous time. Bedroom spotlessly clean with everything provided that you needed. The restaurant was nicely decorated for christmas and very welcoming and the food and service were excellent. Quality and variety of breakfast food was very good and the evening meal was delightful. All the staff we encountered were really friendly and helpful. The bonus with this hotel is the car park too. We would have loved to have stayed longer and will definitely return to the Palm Court.

Room Tip: Check out the hotels own tariffs before booking on other sites, we found this cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Property: Palm Court Hotel
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#12 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing