We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.Mary B”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked full board. Dinner menu only changed once a MONTH. Little choice of main meals and no vegetables! After 2 days changed to 1/2 board. £5.00 extra charge for small piece beef and £6.00 extra for lamb.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Mary B,

Thank you for your considered view concerning your stay with us here at the Hotel. I am sorry that the Hotel did not meet your expectations in relation to the food. Our menu does change monthly and I can assure you that all meals come with vegetables and exciting accompaniments.

By virtue of the ingredients our "mise en place" can take in excess of 24 hours to prepare and construct. Certain dishes use methods including that of sous vide methods, slow braising and pickling makes it hard in itself to change daily. That being said the Hotel and chef would have been more than happy to prepare you something off the menu if requested. Ultimately we do try and celebrate seasonal and local ingredients to give to our guests.

I do hope that you would return to the hotel so that we can exceed your expectations as we do for so many other guests.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

First visit to palm court being disabled often have difficulty but no problem scooter straight in the door able to leave in lounge on charge cannot praise the staff and quality of hotel enough great food and attentive staff made this the best holiday I have had for years they even laid on a special meal for our anniversary full marks and thank you a special mention for manager Kevin who was brilliant will certainly go back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Sheila H

Thank you for your kind words in relation to your recent stay with us here at the Hotel. Your comments will be passed on to all staff , so on behalf of myself, Kevin and the rest of the staff here at the Hotel we look forward to seeing you back at Christmas .

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was our first stay at the palm court, everything was excellent enjoyed our stay so much have booked again for next year, 2minutes to lift down to the sea front great!! Would certainly reccomend this hotel, food was great, all areas of the hotel were excellent!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pammy815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Pammy815,

For your first visit here at the Hotel may I take this opportunity to thank you for such positive comments concerning your stay. We hope to see you all again when returning to Scarborough.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Our recent stay at this hotel was so varied I can honestly only summarize it into a list of good & bad points, so here goes: Firstly the good:
Lovely looking building with excellent public areas, nicely decorated.
Extremely friendly and welcoming staff
Only a short walk from the south bay
Free secure car parking.
Excellent tasty breakfast
Now the bad:
Mould all around the bath fittings, tempted to wipe it with my flannel, but then thought yuk! No way!
Torn wall paper in our bedroom
Unbearable heat inside the rooms & in the dining room, so bad I felt sick & faint
No hot water despite a good attempt to raise some from the shower
TERRIBLE noise from local night club, then subsequent fighting until police were called at 4am, we had 3 hours sleep & it ruined our stay, actually had to break out the emergency earplugs!
Pool area VERY unkempt, was still going to risk a swim until we spotted what appeared to be dirt on the bottom of the pool, not good & bitterly disappointed.
If you want our honest opinion this hotel for us represented a real waste of hard earned money & we really wish we had booked a local B&B overlooking the sea for a quick break.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Thefunkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Third visit to Palm Court. Very welcoming hotel.Super location for beach and town centre with free parking.Lovely lounges to sit in and rooms of a good standard with everything you need.Staff are very attentive and friendly. Food of a very high standard - particularly enjoyed sweets. Will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lovely room, beautifully clean and tidy.Cooked breakfast served to your table.Lovely friendly helpful staff.Great location,FREE undercover parking. Great location in the centre of town.Free wi-fi.This is the only hotel I wouldn't choose anywhere else to stay in Scarborough. .. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissLittleBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Misslittleboss,

I will relay your comments on to all relevant departments concerning your positive feedback from your experience here at the Hotel. On behalf of myself and all of the staff here we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

On arrival the staff were helpful and friendly, particularly the young lady serving the afternoon tea on Friday 6th. We were allowed to drop off our luggage at the front entrance of the hotel, then were given a slip to park free in the secure car-park just a 2 min walk away. There is a council car park in front of the hotel, if you do pull in to one of these bays rather than right outside the palm court, then please pay the £1.50 to park we did, the parking warden is there within minutes ready to issue tickets. Check in was very pleasant and swift. Our room was clean and yes they are dated but our only disappointment was the size of the room and bed, we always book king size so the double bed did hinder sleep, our room was a little noisy with a generator sound coming from the alleyway at the side of the hotel. White bedding and fluffy white towels, a trouser press but I couldn't find an hairdryer (I always take mine and nearly didn't this time so that would have been a let down). The lift is a bit of an experience and needs updating. Lovely looking pool, but we didn't get chance to use it but it was there. Food was exceptional, the dining area elegant and candle lit. The Beef Cheek, Lamb Fillet, Banana & Brioche, lemon tart absolutely delicious. complimentary olives, bread and dipping oils, handmade chocolates with coffee, all delightful touches. Very good choice at breakfast, will do you any combination, from scrambled egg and bacon, bacon sandwiches to full breakfast. Variety of fresh juices, in fact just a very pleasant experience. We didn't get the opportunity for afternoon tea there but it looked very nice. The bar service very good, comfortable spacious lounge area. I am fussy but have no complaints about our experience. The hotel location is good as its a nice walk to the beach and town center and easy access to the main roads for touring.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the alley perhaps over the pool area would be quieter. upgrade to a big be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wishyouwerehere0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Court Hote... S, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Wishyouwerehere,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments in relation to your stay with us here at the Palm Court. Thank you for such positive comments in relation to the service , staff and food you experienced whilst you were here.

For any future visits may I recommend you contact the hotel directly to ascertain the more conducive facilities relating to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,986 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
602 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
962 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £82 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing