We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, welcoming staff. Top class restaurant.”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Stayed for a weekend. Impressive looking from outside and improving on the inside. Newly refurbished dining room. Bar and reception areas were in process of renovation, however apart from a bit of dust this did not affect the level of service being provided. Swimming pool area is also very well presented. Along with other reviewers we found the heating level a bit on the high side, but better too warm than too cold. Food quality and presentation were very good with very attentive waiting staff. In the bar the Bar Man was always ready to chat and pass the time of day. Location is handy for the town centre and a short walk down the steep hill to the prom and beach, or 100 yards from the funicular up and down the cliff. We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HealingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 651 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2008

We stayed in the hotel in August for a three night break. The hotel is in a great position in the town centre. It looked impressive from the outside. The bar and small lounge area's looked lovely. We stayed in the Glaisdale suite. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable with crisp white linen and soft pillows. The bathroom was clean and bright and had a power shower over the bath which was great. It had a 42inch television in the lounge area and a flat screen television in the bedroom. The downside to the room was that the sofa and chairs were hard and uncomfortable. The view from the balcony was of scaffolding and a carpark . The room was hot but there was a fan in the room and you could open the window onto the balcony for cooling the room down. We had a meal in the restaurant one night . It was lovely. The breakfast was fantastic with lots of choices. The staff were friendly especially the tall young barman who served on a night. The carparking was a great bonus and was just round the corner. We would stay again if we were in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

staff was really nice food could be been bit warmer in the evening meals bar could of stop open longer night porter was rude said we are closed and was to late for a drink. hotal was very hot to hot for me

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yoyo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We stayed at this hotel over the August Bank Holiday

Only standard rooms were available but the room was large well fitted with a good bathroom

The service was excellent and friendly all supervised by the Manager for whom nothing was too much trouble

The food was of a good quality we booked bed and breakfast but also took two eveing meals in the hotel as they were very reasonably priced and well cooked and presented. The hotel also had a very welcoming bar area the bar manager was always cheerful and friendly

The hotel has its own car park which can be a bit tight for the larger vehicle when full. But we took our car out for a day returning to find the car park full this was quickly rectified by the hotel - the Duty manager moved his car and gave us a space

Overall a very good stay the only problem we found was the TV reception or lack of it

I would stay again this is a very friendly hotel with an excellent Manager at the healm

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We stayed just for one night after two nights in Whitby. The hotel was very impressive from the outside but the reception staff were a little aloof and not over friendly, (the phone call about the theatre was more important than new customers). We took the room which was a family room for two of us, lovely and clean, crisp white bed linen and pillows to sink into. The bathroom was very clean and bright white tiles, but the shower was pathetic next morning. We ordered breakfast in our room next morning and it was delivered promptly but not as we ordered (ordered poached eggs and got fried!!) the coffee was the worst ever and we made our own with the facilities provided. The car parking was a great bonus. Overall we were not impressed with Scarborough itself and struggled to find a decent restaurant for the night - the Italian Claudios across the road from the hotel is about the best.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2008

Well located hotel right in the centre of Scarborough, no sea view but that was not a problem. Room was spacious although the colours are a little well very old hat (reds,yellows etc) soft bed, soft duvet, softer pillows which was a great unexpected bonus. Once again room was big but in need of a revamp!!

The pool was fine (a bit cold).

The retaurant was fantastic, the food - exeptional, the service was good to.

now, the one problem.......
The management , fussy, ignorent and a bit degrading - enough said

I rate this hotel higly on my list and if returning to Scarborough will almost certainly stay at the palm court!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank june-butt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

the hotel was great, shame about the refurb work they are doing as there is no view from the bar and lounge also a shame with the noisy creaking corridoors.We stayed for two nights the food was great and the staff really looked after us, the bar stayed open as long as we wanted a drink the tall night porter was really pleasent . One thing we found out was the staff worked really hard for verry low wages i cant understand why they do it they deserve more. Overall we really had a good time and would go back again, but give the staff a wage rise as they really do deserve it.

Stayed: September 2007
6  Thank longlife46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
938 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £86 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing