We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and undersized”
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palm Court Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Booked 4 nights here but refused to stay. Was asked for payment in advance without seeing room. I demanded to see room and was shown a tiny inadequate twin. Room was L shaped with 2 single beds with just enough space for 1 person to stand in between them. At the end of the room was one chair placed in front of the bathroom door. Scarcely room for two people to stand up in. Had spent weekend before in a cheap basic hotel where the room was bigger and better equipped. Tiny window looked out on car park roof. Moved to The Royal where for £50 per night more we had a suite with a sea view. Don't mind paying for quality but will not be ripped off.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatsyS033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your comments concerning your dissappointment of the Palm Court Hotel. As the Manager of the Hotel we welcome all comments from guests to enable us to further our guest satisfaction and experience within Scarborough towns highest rated 3 star Hotel.

Unfortunately your comments are misleading to the guests as alongside the majority of Hotels, company policy is to request a "pre-authorisation" of the guests card. This does not take any monies from the card as it simply safeguards the cards validity. On booking we do ask for Credit Card details to secure the booking. Once on our PMS system the details comply fully with the data protection act as they are encrypted.

It is not our policy to ask for FULL payment upfront and your comments I feel again mislead viewers from the quality of the rooms. The Hotel this year alone has seen a substantial injection of refurbishment new large LCD tvs in every room not being least of these.

It is not our intention to upset guests what so ever as in todays climate Hotels cannot rely on new business alone and it is vital that we give guests an experience and stay something they wish to repeat. I do apologise for your dissapointment and thank full that your experience was pleasurable within English Rose Hotels.


If you wish to contact me again please feel free to do so

Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General MAnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 643 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed for three nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend. I've always loved Scarborough after years of family holidays there and so knew that this hotel is one of the best - and certainly the best-located - in Scarborough. It's close to the town centre but also a short stroll away from a cliff-lift to the South Side - or a scenic walk, with stunning views, through the landscaped garden down to the beach and attractions. We found walking downhill and taking the cliff-lift back up was the best compromise.

Car parking was no great issue, although communication could be better, because residents shouldn't park in the car park labelled "Palm Court Car Park," they need to go the the residents car park after checking in. Silly me for thinking that "Palm Court Car Park" would be the car park for the Palm Court, eh?
Not a major problem, just a minor annoyance that once you've parked up you then need to go and move your car to another car park.

We were in a standard room, which was a little on the small side but perfectly adequate for the two of us, although drawers for clothes storage was a little on the scarce side. There's a roomy wardrobe, but I dread to think how we'd have managed with storage if we'd been staying for longer than we did. Views were non-existent - you could see the se but only by hanging out of the window but that was no surprise to us and not a problem. The bed was OK - not particularly comfortable but by no means the worst I've ever slept in, and the only real criticism I have is a weird one - although the bathroom is roomy the toilet roll holder is placed in such a way that anyone 6 ft can hardly sit on the loo! (Told you it was a weird one!). Furniture and decor is dated, but par for the course. The hotel is fairly close to some noisy pubs, but we didn't experience any night-time noise from them.Seagulls are a real nuisance in terms of early-morning noise, but this is a seaside hotel in a resort full of seagulls so we don't reasonably expect anything different and certainly don't blame the hotel for being woken by them every night.

Although we didn't eat dinner, the evening meals looked very good value, with a good pre-booking deal, and breakfasts were good quality and plentiful. We did think, though, that the hotel has tried to fit too many breakfast tables into the room, as it was fairly cramped in places, with tables close together, and on one day we were seated within 2 feet of the breakfast buffet table, which felt like eating a meal in the middle of Piccadilly Circus! Breakfast service was very quick - if anything too quick at times, as we like to eat at our own pace without being hassled to finish and move on. Service throughput our stay was friendly and efficient, and we spent more time waiting for the lift than for attention from any staff members.

It's obvious that the core market for this hotel is the 60+ age group, and so we didn't particularly enjoy some of the decor and especially the piped music in the lounge - and Sky Sports in the lounge would have been a nice option - but we really have no serious complaints about the hotel, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urzz1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

After booking a two night stay at the Palm Court we booked a recently refurbished classic room as described by the receptionist at a £5 a night supplement, & as first time visitors to the hotel we were quite impressed with the reception bar & dining areas obviously recently refurbished areas. We were booked into room on the fourth floor we took the stairs as the lift was out of order, we got as far as the second floor & a very different picture began to emerge. Gone was the fresh new carpet, from there onwards the carpet was an old thread bare one, gone was the regency striped wall paper replaced by a mustard coloured emulsioned late ninety's anaglypta. It was the same for the next two floors until we got to our room we turned the key & our hearts sank, it was the same decor as the corridors but with a very nice addition of peeling woodchip on the ceiling that had been cowboyishly stuck back but the size of the room was a disgrace for two people, in my opinion it was a single room with a double bed in it. We complained & it emerged there had been an error by a receptionist & had been given a standard room & that because it was a bank holiday there were no more rooms available & that the £10 supplement no longer applied!!! (very generous) One of the highlights was requesting an ironing board & trying to iron a shirt, i had to put two chairs on top of the bed just to have enough room. There just is'nt enough room here to mention every thing like the £19.99 per person 3 course meal deal, excellent value until you see the menu & there is a £5.50 supplement per person on STEAK!!! & also on other items from the menu, or the very bad service we recieved in the restaurant even though the food was excellent. I'm sure if asked the management would give out some guff about being in the middle of refurbishment blah blah etc etc, fact is the room we stayed in was'nt worth £60 a night never mind £120 a night. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I have just returned from a weekend away staying at The Palm Court Hotel. My visit to Scarborough was with my friend and we just wanted a few days away to relax and chill. Well it is something you certainly can do if you stay at this lovely hotel.
This was our first visit to Scarborough and was unsure of which hotel to choose - both of us have been spoilt by staying in 5 star hotels in different parts of the world. We decided on The Palm Court Hotel because of the excellent location and the facilities offered. We need not have worried because on arriving at the hotel we were very impressed.
The staff were all what you expected, polite, friendly and always helpful. The dining room and lounge were tastefully decorated and the overall feeling was of a very smart, cool elegance. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice so that you never left the dining room hungry.
The rooms were of an adequate size and bright and cheerful. In comparison to the lower part of the hotel that has been updated, the rooms looked slightly tired but were always clean and well presented. I can only presume that the rooms will in turn be updated as well.
Overall our stay at The Palm Court Hotel was thoroughly enjoyable and I will be definitely be returning with my husband in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodieCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

this is our third visit to the Palm Court and all I can say is thankyou to the staff for a wonderful and relaxing break. We have a small child and all of the staff made him feel very welcome and he really enjoyed his stay. The rooms are very clean and the one we stayed in well maintained, the staff are very effecient and friendly.

Breakfast was great, with really good service

I travel in my job a lot and stay in quite a few hotels and this is one of the nicest I have stayed in

I would recommend this hotel for a stay, carnt wait for my next visit.

Thankyou Palm Court for a great holiday

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peanutScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for recent comments concerning your stay at the Palm Court Hotel. As a family owned Hotel we value all comments escpecially concerning you using the Hotel for both Leisure and Business.

In light of our recent refurbishment we look forward to welcoming you back in Scarborough soon.

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This was our fourth visit to this hotel but unfortunately will be our last. Since our last visit three years ago the hotel has been expensively re-vamped and I cannot fault the general ambiance of the place but unfortunately it has become pretentious in wanting to be five star when effectively it is only three. It has become more staid (and we are wrinklies who don't like noise) but the atmosphere in the restaurant at dinner could be cut with a knife. I certainly wouldn't take my grandchildren there - they would be petrified to talk. This is a pity since it really is very smart with candle-light illumination. The only thing worse than the staidness is the food - we had three dinners there and neither my wife nor I enjoyed a single one - I can only describe it as weird - complicated and tasteless. The choice of vegetables was queer in the extreme - the only decent vegetables we had while in Scarborough were in the vegetable soup at the Spa! Breakfast was pretty good. On previous visits the food has always been particularly good. A good point was that at dinner the meal was served to the table rather than a self-service hot buffet but again, we've had much better hot buffets..
We paid for a normal double room - (£150 per night for two including dinner) - the room was well appointed but rather small - the bathroom was particularly claustrophobic and fortunately we are small people - God help the obese! In addition the floor creaked badly so if anyone got out of bed during the night the creaking woke the other partner!
The hotel had its own swimming pool but there is a better one at the Ambassador. It also has its own covered garage which is a real plus in the centre of Scarborough but they close it at 11.00pm so don't go to a show!
The best thing about this hotel is its staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budge75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2010

Thank you for your comments concerning your last stay at the Hotel. Over the past 24 months the Hotel has seen a substantial investment in our facilities and offerings , full installation of large LCD tv,s Lounge, dining areas not being least of these.

Currently we are Scarborough towns highest rated 3 star property with our Executive Chef now for 3 years . Our menus change daily, using only local fresh produce and at no times do we use commercially modified ingredients. Not being pretentious but ultimately offering customers a wide variety of what the North East can offer. In short we make our own bread daily and all biscuits are prepared in house.

I am glad that you found our complimentary parking facility a plus as again we are the only town centre that can offer this service. The swimming pool is also complimentary for guests. Once again thank you for your comments and we do hope to see you again.


Kind regards

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Hotel looked lovely on our arrival, room quite small but very clean.. I booked this hotel because it stated that it had a secure car park, what a joke! The car now needs a new bumper and extensive paint work, £560 estimate. The staff were very helpful and police were called, CCTV in car park so thought it would show the culprit, we know what time it happened but the cameras were so poor that it did not show the number plate, so nothing i can do, will have to pay or loose no claims which ever way it proved to be a very expensive weekend. Wish we had gone in another hotel and used multi- storey. Spoilt the 2 day break so will not be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £94 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing