We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We family events”
Review of YMCA Theatre

YMCA Theatre
Ranked #31 of 88 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The YMCA Theatre is very popular with locals and tourists alike. It is very youth and community orientated and see's performances presented throughout the year by local groups of all age ranges. The theatre also boasts its own in house production company (YMCA Productions) whom present many productions; including Pantomime, Easter Production and Summer Season. It has a very busy schedule. The auditorium seats 290 patrons on tiered seating. It is fully Air Conditioned and has a deaf loop installed. It is very well equipped technically with computerised lighting and sound systems. The Theatre is also fully licensed serving wines, beers and sprites 1 hour before each performance.
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We have been to several shows now and have never been disappointed, in fact the boxing day show had become an annual family event, its great.

Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCATheatre, Manager at YMCA Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Thanks very much richard w - see you on Boxing Day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

We enjoyed a performance called "The Wonderful World of Disney" which seemed to have been put on by the local dance schools.

Thank seat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCATheatre, Manager at YMCA Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Hi seat47 - I'm really glad you enjoyed the production. I hope you've had the opportunity to see another of our shows on another visit to Scarborough!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We went to see the Wizard of Oz (summer 2011) and it was a lovely family night out. The cast all came out and stood by the door shaking hands and chatting to the audience after the performance which was lovely. It's in a good location, really central and I'd recommend supporting local theatrical performances, especially when the calibre is this good (the Lion is worth a special mention - he was exactly how I recalled the original Lion in the film!)

Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCATheatre, Manager at YMCA Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Hi Laura F - I'm really glad you enjoyed our production of The Wizard Of oz and have continued to enjoy our productions at the YMCA Theatre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

To say these are not proffesionals the show was wonderfull and always is.

Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCATheatre, Manager at YMCA Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Hi james w - thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We visit Scarborough a lot during the year. The shows put on at the YMCA are a highlight of our hols. The sheer energy put into each performance is admirable. Yes on occasion some of the acting/singing is not the best but everyone looks to be enjoying what they are performing and that counts for a lot. For amateures they sure can put on a very entertaining evenings performance. Try it, you might just like it!

Thank YorkshirePonygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCATheatre, Manager at YMCA Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Thanks very much YorkshirePonygirl - another lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YMCA Theatre also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to YMCA Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing