We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great warm welcome at the Cliffside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffside Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cliffside Guest House
Ranked #94 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Fife, Scotland
1 review
“Great warm welcome at the Cliffside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my partner and our twin 14 year old daughters. Warm and friendly welcome from the owners. Our family room had magnificent views over Scarboroughs North Bay and the Castle. Good central location and everything was within easy walking distance. The food was excellent and there was always a choice. Enjoyed everything about our stay and we will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandyfromfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thanks for your remarks,good to see you all again.All the best to Raith for the coming season
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

With superb views of the north bay and the castle it is in a perfect location for many of Scarborough’s attractions . The rooms are en suite, clean and comfortable and have a colour TV and Tea and coffee making facilities and are serviced daily with clean sheets and towels. Meals are Excellent serving traditional English breakfast and Evening meals prepared and served by the resident proprietors. There is a small comfortable sea view bar which is also run by the owners serving alcohol and non alcoholic beverages at pub prices not hotel prices and is ideal for a relaxing evening. We have returned to the Cliffside Hotel several times over many years and found that it has suited us both for visiting as a family and as a couple . The owners Paul and Wendy Sisson are warm and welcoming, very accommodating and keen to please and make you feel very welcome indeed. I would definitely recommend this hotel and have done so to many friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your nice and honest comments about your stay with us, we are real happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you here at the Cliffside in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Sisson
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We have been visiting the " Cliffside " off and on for the last 20 years with our daughter and now our grandson. The owners Paul and Wendy Sissons are extremely welcoming, their family run guest house is very clean and comfortable and with its great views of the north bay is a great place for a relaxing break. Paul is also chef and his traditional " full English " breakfasts are superb, he also takes equal care with the excellent evening meals he provides. With the children we also found the friendly hotel bar ideal for a relaxing evening. It is also great value for money we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we visit Scarborough!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanMML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Myself and Wendy are really glad you once again enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to you visiting us again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Sisson
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed here for one night and to be honest i was glad to get out in the morning.Firstly the couple of good points that it has going for it, the owners seem a friendly enough couple and secondly the breakfast was very good. Now for the bad points .The room was very dated with mismatch furniture , the bedding looked old and tatty, i have better quality dust sheets , and the towels were awful and far to small. I realise that the building is probably some kind of listed building therefore they are limited to certain things they can do but the windows would not open and there was a damp cloth on the windowsill soaking up the rain water where the window was leaking , there was also no form of heating in the room .i found crushed crisps on the carpet and it was obvious that the cleaning was not up to standard.The bathroom was tiny and it was awkward to sit on the toilet comfortably and the shower tray leaked all over the floor , even the heating control on the shower worked the wrong way round , turn it on cold for hot water .There is bound to be better options out there in Scarborough so i find it almost impossible to recommend this guest house to anyone.

Room Tip: Can`t think of any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LozzerO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your comments on our guest house, we are really glad you enjoyed your dining experience and found the hosts welcoming. We pride ourselves on Comfortable accommodation, good home cooked food and value for money and I am sorry we did not meet your requirements. I am perplexed that if you were so unhappy with your accommodation you did not report any of these issues with us so we would have been given the opportunity to make your short stay with us more comfortable. The bottom windows in the bedroom do not open due to Health & Safety guidelines but we do have 3 windows that open in the room. We provide clean quality linen and towels in our rooms, and we do not have our central heating on in the middle of july but do provide electric heaters if requested. We believe we offer a good quality 3star guest accommodation, I would suggest that you maybe look at the higher end of the market i.e. 5star as you were not happy with the services we provided. Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Paul Sisson
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just spent one night at the Cliffside at short notice and we were very happy with what we got for a bargain price , it is run by a lovely couple who were very friendly and made us very welcome .We had a large room which may be a bit tired in some parts but it was clean , had a comfy bed and hot water in the shower which is basically all you need.The Breakfast in the very nice dining room was excellent, a full English with unlimited toast , tea or coffee , fruit juice and ceriels and all served with a smile which counts for alot.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBH89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Many thanks for your positive comments, we pride ourselves on a friendly welcome, good home cooked food and value for money here at the Cliffside, so I am really glad you agree and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Paul Sisson
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

we went to the cliffside in the October half term. we were welcomed at the door by the owners. we were given the family room with a double bed and a bunk bed the rooms were walm and it had a excellent view of the north bay and castle. we were given 2 for 1 tickets for the scarborough sealife. the breakfasts are very good with a choice of cereals or grape fruit and then a choice of a full english, scrambled eggs on toast or beans on toast there is toast on the tables with a selection of jams and tea and coffee. the hotel also has a bar but we didnt visit it.

Room Tip: the rooms with a view of the bay are the best but can be noise from the sea and wind
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidanw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Thank you for your kind comments on our guest house. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Paul Sisson
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#32 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#20 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#22 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Clarence Gardens Hotel
#35 of 184 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Guest House

Property: Cliffside Guest House
Address: 79-81 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffside Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing