We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPERB EVENING OUT WITH FINE DINING”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rice & Spice

Rice & Spice
Ranked #30 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Scarborough
Level Contributor
281 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“SUPERB EVENING OUT WITH FINE DINING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was our third visit to this restaurant. On the previous two occasions I gave it 4/5 as the meals and service were excellent but not enough to earn 5/5. Last night was simply superb. My wife's meal was most enjoyable but my meal was out-of-this-world. I had the Chicken Thali and I have to say without question it was one of the finest meals I have ever eaten.The meal was quite large probably too large for me as my appetite is not what it was. There was the basic "curry" serving with ample rice and many small containers of vegetable and fruit etc. There were elements of "hotness" with the meal. I do not normally like "hot" meals but it was not enough to burn my throat and tastebuds. However, there was so much sweet accompaniments that my tasebuds were probably dancing around. The meal in common with other meals I have eaten at this restaurant has an absolute abundance of flavours. I am no gourmet or chef and I do not know what the flavours are but this eating experience was wonderful. I could not eat any more after my main meal but my wife had a dessert. She had Wattilappam which looked to have been freshly made. This traditional Sri Lankan dessert will now be my wife's must have course whenever we go back. This restaurant is head and shoulders above the normal Asian restaurant and I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank YorkshireFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    88
    32
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real Jem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

What a wonderful place, the staff could not have been more helpful or more friendly, 2 of our party had Thali and 2 of us had a normal curry, it certainly was the best curry any of us had eaten and the staff were so welcoming I would recomend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylTamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, shame about the rest.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

We'd booked our table for 8.45pm and we had to sit outside for 10 mins. No major problem but when we did sit down and order the food took 50 mins to arrive. Nobody came and spoke to us until we had our food. Then we had the young waiting staff circling the table every 5 mins trying to take plates away that we hadn't finished with.

The restaurant was tiny so no excuse.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexbaileyracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I cannot praise The Curry Leaf enough. A fantastic small restaurant - very good service, friendly staff and excellent food! I've not eaten in a Sri Lankan restaurant before and so gladly took the staff up on their offer of menu selection. We tried the Lamb Thali - and I must say it was great. The restaurant is very near the Stephen Joseph Theatre. Do think of it for your pre theatre meal - or whenever in Scarborough. I would definitely go again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hyperb0le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

What a nice little find. Tucked away off the road, is this small Sri Lankan Restaurant.

Nice selection of fish, meat or vegetarian dishes to choice from. The service was relaxed but professional, food flowed out of the kitchen evenly without haste or waiting.

The restaurant is small maybe only 30 odd covers, so I would guess booking would be essential on Friday & Saturdays. We went on a Sunday night with a party of 4, had a selection of fish and vegetarian dishes, all were prepared well and presented.

Surprisingly was the final bill, much cheaper than what you would expect to pay for such good food & service.

We would highly recommend this one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rice & Spice also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Rice & Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing