We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual pilgrimage. Great to be back again”
Review of Harbour View Cafe

Harbour View Cafe
Ranked #20 of 363 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Annual pilgrimage. Great to be back again”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were recommended this place on our first family holiday in this area. We've never been disappointed and today marked our 4th annual visit to fill up on the beautifully fresh fish and chips. The fact that it was cooked to order so quickly this year was a bonus. Staff are lovely and if you happen to stumble into here on a busy day, it's well worth the wait! Can't wait for next time. The kids won't ever let us come to Scarborough without eating here!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    76
    18
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never disappoints.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We live in Scarborough and use this and several other cafes in the area. The Harbour View Cafe is one place where you can be assured of a good, freshly cooked meal at a very reasonable price.
I can not understand a recent reviewer saying that they walked in and back out because every seat was taken and they would never go there again without even trying the food.
In my opinion a rather pointless review. Surely the fact that every seat was taken speaks volumes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KeefyGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

On a daytrip to Scarborough and on arrival needed a quick coffee and bacon sandwich so tried the Harbour View Cafe. The welcome was great, all smiles and very helpful, great sandwich and great value, so good that we returned after our photo shoots around the harbour area and tried the fish, chips, mushy peas with a slice of bread. This was incredible and beat anything we had experienced in Whitby or anywhere. The chips were obviously made from fresh potatoes and tasted just like my mother used to make! The batter was light and crisp and the fish melted in the mouth. Ok I can see some people may be put off from the stairs and layout but they will have missed out. One point is get there before 2pm or you will miss probably the best fish and chips in Yorkshire.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Walked in and walked out”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

First time we had been to Scarborough and the cafe was open. Climbed the stairs. Extremely busy. No seats. No room on terrace. Turned round and walked back down the stairs. Will not return not our kind of cafe.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank chandrah874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A jewel”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is probably the most unpretentious eating place that I have ever eaten in but it is a real gem! The staff are lovely, the food is freshly cooked and really high quality, the portions are splendid and it's all as cheap as......er...chips.

Talking of chips, the fish and chips are magic and probably amongst the best on sale anywhere on Scarborough seafront – if not the absolute best.

Downsides – although the food is great, it really is a pretty basic café so don't expect fancy service and sophisticated cuisine. It can be quite noisy and, because of the proximity to the kitchen, clothes come out smelling of cooking. Oh but what cooking!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbour View Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Harbour View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing