We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drivers so helpful.”
Review of Shoreline Suncruisers - CLOSED

Shoreline Suncruisers
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide an all year round open top bus service along Scarborough's beautiful seafront. We run between the quiet North Bay to the hustle and bustle of the South Bay. During peak times the buses are running until 22.15 departing from the Spa. See website for more information.
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Drivers so helpful.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We used this service a few times in Scarborough. Slightly confusing as this bus company charges £4 all day hop on hop off service whereas the day before we paid £3.50 on the other bus. However, drivers on both services were excellent and one driver even dropped us off in town as it was going to be a long wait at North Bay end for the next bus. He had finished and was going back to the depot but was only too happy to help us. Very Impressed with the service received in Scarborough. Thank you to you all!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, General Manager at Shoreline Suncruisers, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. The drivers for Shoreline Suncruisers are expected to help where possible and it is nice to know that the service you received was excellent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    4
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“open top bus scarborough”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I was in a queue to get on an opened top bus at the north shore, when a man approached us and ushered onto a shoreline cruiser bus, the original red and cream bus was only half full and £7 for a family, suncruiser was £10 for same deal, I wasn't too happy about this so I complained to the man who pushed us onto the bus he was offhand and rude to me, it turned out he was the owner of this overpriced bus company shoreline cruisers, DO NOT USE SHORELINE SUNCRUISERS!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Owner at Shoreline Suncruisers, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for submitting your review. Albeit a little unfair. Both bus companies who operate the seafront 109 service run a strict timetable and when their respective time is up, both companies will leave on time regardless of whether the bus is full or not. If buses stayed at bus stops until they were full, then most days they would never set off!

With regard to the pricing - a single ticket for an adult, child and concessionary pass holder is the same on both companies. The only difference is that our opposition offer a family return ticket for £7, we offer a Hop On Hop Off ticket which is unlimited travel all day. We also run much later than our opposition, finishing at peak times at 22:15 as opposed to 19:30.
I sincerely hope that this explains your complaints.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We used this service repeatedly during our time in Scarborough, having a 5 year old son we HAD to use the top deck which was very bracing during a very cold Easter weekend. The price was very reasonable, we paid £7 for a family ticket which meant we could hop on and off whenever we wanted. All the bus drivers we had were very friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevorthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“It is a great way to see the Marine Drive.”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is not a bus tour, as such, but just the regular service bus from one bay to the other. It is a great way to see the Marine Drive though, and beats walking!
On a hot sunny day, you can sit upstairs, and there's nothing to beat that sea air.
A bus pass will get you a discount on the fare, but as a service bus, it really should be free.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great ride and great prices”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is well worth a visit for those looking to explore Scarborough without walking miles and at great prices! However the tour lacks commentary you may be able to see the attractions but you do not find out anything about them-unlike the city sightseeing tour in nearby York.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 981AlexC_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shoreline Suncruisers also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Cayton, Scarborough
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing