We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““This is one restaurant you MUST visit.””
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rennards

Rennards
Ranked #148 of 352 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: Fish and chip restaurant
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
““This is one restaurant you MUST visit.””
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We went to Scarborough the week before Easter and what a painful experience that was – the wind was SO cold it hurt but thank goodness for places such as Rennard’s.

Oh the food, fish and chips, mushy peas, a homemade hot bun with a wonderful, warming cuppa – it was all to die for.

The food was so plentiful it hung over the ends of the oval plate and made just as fish and chips are supposed to be made.

Fair enough, we’ve been to Rennard’s before, in fact on many occasions, every time we get to Scarborough it’s a ‘must’ visit and the amazing thing about the place and the people running it is that they never change – always out of the top draw.

You can find the place on the corner of St Thomas Street and Castle Road (YO11 1XA) with an open car park right opposite – it couldn’t be easier or better.

And the price for all that food – an amazing £5.70 per head as the teatime special, I haven’t tried but I’d like to see anyone better that in this area.

Keep it up Rennards, I can’t think of anything bad to say about you, you’re just superb.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dick_Jane_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    4
    5
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best ever fish and chips”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I am not normally a great lover of fish and chips as they tend to disagree with me so it is usually a bit awkward as the rest of my family love them. However these were very special. I cannot believe that they were actually fried as there was no trace of oil on them. The haddock was very light, fluffy and melted in your mouth. I left the cafe feeling very satisfied but not bloated. Well done!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teachertourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We were staying in North Bay and wanted to eat locally rather than going further into town. After looking at what was on offer in the take away we decided to eat in and were glad we did. The home made bread rolls and delicious cup of tea were a good accompaniment to the good quality fish, chips and peas we ordered. The fish was a good size and nicely cooked and all for a reasonable price of £5.70. Being from Yorkshire I have a high standard in this regional dish and Rennards really was a treat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KirPrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennards, Owner at Rennards, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for your great review. We constantly strive to give some of the best fish and chips in town, by using fresh, good quality ingredients. For instance we use fresh Haddock from our local fishmonger fried with the skin on as this gives the fish even more flavour.

If the customer does not want any skin on their fish, just ask and we will remove it before cooking.

We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“The Worst Fish'n'Chips in Town”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Everything about our visit was disappointing: the chips were dark brown & overcooked, the batter was sweaty & soggy, the service was surly & monosyllabic. With so much competition in town (including Silks over the road) they really ought to be much better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rachelkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rennards, Owner at Rennards, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
We are sorry you had a poor meal from the takeaway. The chips are dark brown at the moment due to their high sugar content, which means the hot fat caramelises the sugars, making a very tasty, but darker product.
We have yet to find a way to keep fish better completely crisp once it is wrapped in newspaper. We do offer free boxes in which to take the products away as an alternative.
You must be disappointed coming all the way from Nairobi that Silks over the road was shut, he has not traded from that shop for over two years, and we have not as yet managed to taste every other chip shops product in Scarborough unlike yourselves, so we must bow to your superior knowledge on the subject.
We are sorry our member of staff was monosyllabic, she was positively chatty to you compared to us (the parents), it amazes us how they string all the words together when texting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a bargain”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just had a fantastic early bird meal. £5.70 for fish, chips, tea, bread and butter. Excellent quality, good friendly service from young waitress in clean pleasant surroundings. Was looking to have a fillet steak tonight in an Italianbut put off by £19 price. Glad I was too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaycee1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rennards also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Rennards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing