We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walkers Fish Restaurant

Walkers Fish Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We visited this restaurant with friends following a recommendation. Although Walkers is a little out of the way, it was certainly worth the drive. The service was lovely, the waitress was very warm, welcoming and friendly. The menu was impressive with plenty to choose from. We all decided on cod and chips, which was perfect. The chips were cooked to perfection, and the batter on the fish thin, light and crisply. The cod itself need no cutting, it was flaky and perfectly cooked. We found the prices to be very reasonable, £48.00 for cod and chips x 4 with a round of soft drinks ( none of us are willing to drink and drive). We will definitely go back and will recommend to others. In all, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MISTYunitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    58
    25
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Disappointing dish”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

We went to Walkers for dinner when staying locally as we'd heard their fish dishes were very good. It may well be they serve a mean basic fish and chips but my mackeral starter was overcooked. I mentioned it to the waitress, hoping that the main course of hake would compensate for it, but unfortunately that too was well overcooked. To be fair most others in the restaurant seemed to be enjoying their meals but they all appeared to have gone for the staple fish and chips. I'd have overlooked it I suppose but the prices suggest you should get better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow! Excellent food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We emailed the restaurant prior to travelling as the offered gluten free food they were excellent at communication. The restaurant first impressions outside clean tidy well maintained weeds and litter free! The only niggle we spotted the disabled car parking spaces were less then practical far to small. Service was good food excellent! would defiantly return. The only niggle we found was that when it came to the end of the meal we were left alone when we wanted the bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank the-hotel-inspector2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The best fish & chips ever - fantastic - keep up the good work! The finest and thickest haddock fillet I've ever had - lovely crispy batter - fabulous!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NixEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

The title says it all... PERFECT. Could not fault anything. Service was top notch, meals were cooked to a high standard. Wide range to choose from on the menu. Worth every penny. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 101hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walkers Fish Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Walkers Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing