We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for lovers of coffee and cake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taylors

Taylors
Ranked #84 of 353 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must for lovers of coffee and cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

My favourite place for lunch or afternoon tea on trips to Scarborough. It's a cosy, friendly place and a serves an excellent cup of Americano. The hot chocolate is very special too. The food is simple and delicious - I love their Chicken Caesar salad, hummus and pittas and scrambled egg on toast. But you must leave room for cake! The sour cream and blackberry is a delight. Taylor's not on the main thoroughfare, so you need to look for it. However, it can get busy - and no wonder - but there is extra seating upstairs where there are books to browse too. Great for lunch with friends, family or just a bit of 'me' time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Egmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fishbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Popped in for tea and coffees - highly recommended to visit! Great tea lovely atmosphere and very cosy feel. Staff were great too

Helpful?
Thank RobertWSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great coffee, cake and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were in Scarborough on a very wet and windy weekend and found ourselves in Taylors twice. It is a little haven of tranquility. Don't be fooled by the size, it looks tiny from the outside but there's another room to the left of the counter and another with books and tables upstairs. You know you're somewhere civilized when there's hand cream in the loo and a basket of toilet rolls. I drink Americano and it's great to be offered hot milk in a jug so you can add to your taste and the coffee stays hot for longer. It's a coffee/tea and cake place although they did have a specials board with a couple of choices like soup or pitta and hummus.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Scarborough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Taylors was recommended to me by several people. One cold, windy, wet day I went into Taylors for a cappuccino. The girl behind the counter was very friendly, the whole cafe is very warm & inviting. The cappuccino was brought to my table & is easily the best I have had for a long time. It was very hot & an excellent flavour. There are books & newspapers available to read. I recommend this cafe very much.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruscella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Calm and comfortable light meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is a joy to visit for coffee and light refreshments.
It provides a quiet haven to relax and enjoy a coffee.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PipEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taylors also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Taylors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing