We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION ..BUT "JUST TERRIBLE"”

The Albemarle Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Albemarle Hotel
Ranked #173 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD LOCATION ..BUT "JUST TERRIBLE"”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I dont usually write reviews, as believe in you get what you pay for but defenitly not here..i do on this ocassion to warn people and go at your peral, when we got there i was asked if i was the nurse by a possible ederly relative, when asked where the hotelier was the relative advised she had gone out. We then waited what seemed half an hour in the hall way to check in (no reception), a delivery driver came to the door i opened it and he asked me where i want the delievery !!!! i replied im a guest. we final got the keys to the room from matience/crazyman/cleaner/reception, no card payment machine had to get cash, the room seemed clean but decor was terrible and the whole place is shabby. booked an ensuite to be told they didnt have it so gave us a family room ,with no en suite..the shared bathroom, i would not put a dog in, flys erverywhere and dirty. The walls were paper thin and doors make a right racket...we didnt eat breakfast, i saw the state of the bathroom god knows what the kitchen is like. On checking out same rigmarole, nobody to be found, a man evenyually came, we advised where wanting to check out, he said he can take the keys,i asked if he worked there he said he was seeing the hotelier!!! on getting the keys we paid a 3.00 parking permit for 24hrs from the hotel. on leaving after 20hrs got back to the car to find 2 parking tickets on the windscreen ...sums it up !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOUISE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    8
    5
    9
    13
See reviews for
8
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The room was clean and tidy when we arrived. Quickly sorted out with a plain but comfortable room. The shower controls were back to front but we soon worked it out. Breakfast was large and tasty. The en-suite was small but clean. The staff seemed slightly eccentric, however it gave the hotel character! Fine for a short stay, and convenient as centrally located and only ten minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds, West Yorkshire.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The only good thing about this place is its location. Booked it hesitantly due to the previous poor reviews thinking it couldn't really be that bad, but it was.Given keys to our room which didn't work, so our room had to be left unlocked. Obviously we took any valuables out with us, but this is unacceptable.Had to use a shared bathroom & it was very dirty. There is no care or attention at this 'hotel'.I suspect they do have a contract to give rooms to the homeless. The homeless deserve better, & so do paying guests. Horrid experience. Thank goodness it was only for 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by what seemed to be a crazy guy with a sanitary towel on his elbow explaining he had fallen from the scaffolding outside. Was not checked in had to ask a guest when breakfast was. There was drug paraphernalia and residue in the drawer in the room in which my son found. No hot water, shower running hot and cold no toilet tissue in toilet and breakfast was small and cold.The crazy guy was loitering outside our room at 2 am we could hear him pacing up and down outside our room laughing and turning taps on and off was really scary had to close window as he appeared to like climbing.

Room Tip: Would nor recommend any rooms here was more like an asylum
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulietteHowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

when i booked a room for me and my boyfriend for august bank hol i stressed that we would not be arriving until late evening as we were both working a full day. i was told this would not be a problem but when we arrived at 7pm our room had been let to someone else, we were shown another room but just as we were about to say ok were told we could not have that either as the people who had booked it had now arrived . no appologies staff very un friendly un helpful and didnt give a dam!! we had travelled 120 miles and now had to go back home as all other hotels were fully booked due to it being bank hol

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michellehollingworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed at the Albemarle Hotel in January 2012 with another couple for 2 nights. We were told that there was parking and a permit would be provided - this did not happen and unless you have a permit you have to move you car after 3 hours - not good - thoguh the owner did give us some money back to park our car at a local car park within walking distance.
Our bedrooms was poor, not particularly clean [though luckily the bedding was] and we had no hot water on the second day.
Breakfast was interesting... I could not face eating anything apart from the toast and an egg on the first day [but no egg on the second as it tasted 'odd'], my husband and the other couple did eat their breakfasts but were all ill afterwards with bad stomachs.
Also, at the time we stayed, the owner of the hotel had a contract with the local social services to house homeless persons, this made us feel very uncomfortable on the first night we stayed as one of these persons kicked off in the hotel and outside and the police had to be called.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeicesterBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
The Captain Hotel B & B
The Captain Hotel B & B
#167 of 182 in Scarborough
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 182 in Scarborough
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#159 of 182 in Scarborough
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Sunnyside Guest House
#174 of 182 in Scarborough
16 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arran in Scarborough
Arran in Scarborough
#141 of 182 in Scarborough
29 reviews
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
North End Farm Country Guest Hou...
#124 of 182 in Scarborough
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albemarle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albemarle Hotel

Property: The Albemarle Hotel
Address: 22-23 Albemarle Crescent, Scarborough YO11 1XX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Albemarle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Albemarle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing