We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B”

Chestnut Cottage B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chestnut Cottage B&B
Ranked #86 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A recent visit to Yorkshire with my wife to attend a family wedding was made an even more unforgettable experience by staying at Chestnut Cottage. A beautiful property that was so clean and comfortable it would put many a 4 star hotel to shame. Our hosts David and Adele are lovely people making you so welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for them, in fact they will go the extra mile to ensure your stay is a memorable experience. The village of Ebberston is very quite and a beautiful location which suited our needs. Try the local bakery excellent bread and cakes. Only 10 miles from Scarborough and 6 miles from Pickering it makes a great base point. Hopefully we have an opportunity to visit Yorkshire again and stay at this wonderful property. Thank you David and Adele for your hospitality and kindness.

Room Tip: We booked the double room which was superb however my sister and her husband stayed in the twin room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I spent the last two nights at this bed and breakfast. David and Adele are very nice people and nothing is too much to ask. When we got there they made us a cup of tea and a scone with jam. Our room was lovely with a lot of thought gone into making it very comfortable and pleasant on the eye. Lovely clean bathroom and towels changed every day and our beds made. There is a summerhouse In the garden where we went and sat and looked out onto the moors whilst eating our lunch. Lovely cooked breakfast with choice of cereals, yogurts and toast. Would highly recommend

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ANNESHAW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We was going to dalby forest to do go ape and decided to make a weekend of it and stumbled upon this lovely b&b just 5 miles from dalby and 10 miles to scarbouragh fantastic location for us !
We £75 for b&b which was fantastic value as the double room we got was beautiful with the biggest on suit I've ever seen ! And it was all pristine clean ! ( hats off to the cleaner )
The breakfast was lovely all freshly cooked and David the owner is absolutely lovely so friendly !!
The gardens are huge we will defo be returning !! Probably one of the best places I've stayed David and his wife should be proud the whole place is lovely and well with a visit !!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobygrace3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay in the attached self catering cottage which was perfect. Nicely decorated, complete with everything you need in the kitchen (except freezer) and very clean throughout. As it fronts on to the main road it was a little noisy at peak traffic times but this was not noticeable in the bedroom which is secondary glazed to minimise noise.

We took our dog and the 3 of us were given a very warm welcome by the owners. The gardens are amazing and it was great that there was a secure courtyard just outside the back door but then extensive sloped gardens where we could walk her. The summerhouse at the top of the garden was beautiful giving views out across the valley and it gives a great location for bird watching as there was a kestrel regularly hunting and pheasants often around.

The village is pretty with lovely walks around and this was a good base to visit nearby Pickering, Scarborough, Flamborough Head and Whitby. The cottage was so cosy that we didn't get out and see half as much as we wanted to so we'll have to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

My husband and I stayed in the adjoined self catering cottage. The cottage is well equipped and can sleep upto 4 people but we personally thought it was more suited to a couple's retreat. We were greeted with a warm welcome and a spotless accomodation. The bed is extremely comfortable and they provide plenty of fluffy bath towels which were lovely. The welcome basket was a nice surprise, filled with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and a small bottle of wine. The only thing that takes a bit of getting used to is the traffic noise as the pictures show the rear of the property but you are actually situated on a main road, so if you are a light sleeper then you may notice the traffic. However, this does not take away from this wonderful B&B. We were lucky enough to experience the full english breakfast (however, if you stay self catering this is not standard) and the breakfast was perfect. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone who wants to experience a Yorkshire break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu8847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

A warm welcome is assured at Chestnut Cottage, we stayed 2 nights in a well appointed en-suite bedroom. a generous hospitality tray is provided, your breakfast is cooked to order.
Off road parking on site.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menubuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
5.9 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
9.1 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
9.8 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough South Bay Hotel
9.5 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
8.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Cottage B&B

Address: High Street | Ebberston, Scarborough YO13 9PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £76 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chestnut Cottage B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chestnut Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing