We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly plaice”
Review of The Tunny Club

The Tunny Club
Ranked #122 of 357 Restaurants in Scarborough
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
“friendly plaice”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

What a little gem. I love all the old photos here. Then all the staff are so friendly and inviting.I came here with some friends and we enjoyed our lunch. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience in the Tunny club and we would recommend it to everyone

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    51
    21
    16
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“great experience”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

first time in scarborough for a long time
and more beautiful than i remember,
we took a stroll along the busy seafront and we saw a nice small
establishment called the tunny tunny club
we were very surprised to see a busy little venue- so full of life and very interesting
we took to have our lunch in here and so glad we did/ we ordered from a tall gentleman
who was extremley pleasant and full of personality and charming - and we felt at ease.

we orderd the special fish and chips at a very good price
and was told they would bring them to us and gave me a number it seemed very organised
and very good service indeed- i looked around and what remarkable history and decor the tunny club is / we got our fish and chips and absolute delightful and tasty just as good as any other i have tasted in the past - there is a terrace at the back
and toliets which need updating a bit
apart from that they certainly have got it right here and fantasic experience
we shall be returning for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Best fish and chips we have tasted in years.
The host {Mark?) makes everyone laugh.
We will definately be telling everyone we know about The Tunny Club.

Shelia and John.
Cayton.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely fish n chips to go with the lovely weather”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Came from day trip to scarborough with partner after visiting a vintage car festival in near by Rillington.
First time in the tunny club. I just had some chips as not always keen on battered fish as can often be sloppy.my partner had the 'huge haddock and chips'...We ended up sharing his haddock and I can say was fantastic even for my fussy taste..We ate all the food in 5 mins was not overwhelming and not greasy..will return

Helpful?
Thank Francine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Overpriced fish&chips with extortionate price for peas,
Don't be in a rush to go to the 'toilets' there is only one.
Food served in plastic take away trays with plastic knives and forks even though they call themselves a restaurant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChesterfieldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tunny Club also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Tunny Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing