We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place with a homely atmosphere”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Croft

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Willow8
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location but in need of some TLC”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booking a last minute short break at excellent price and was aware the house would be more characterful and quirky rather than luxurious. It was pretty much as expected but it was in rather more need of a good tidy up and clean than anticipated. The lounges and bedrooms and bathrooms were of a good size and clean and tidy although a good many light bulbs needed replacing. The conservatory was not somewhere I could sit, it needed clearing out, a good clean and less furniture putting back in. The main kitchen area was dated but serviceable however the area towards the back of the room and the rear hall near the downstairs cloakroom let it down and put me off using the kitchen. The garden could be a dream but is very overgrown which spoils the views outside especially from the conservatory. That said we enjoyed our break there. It wouldn't take much to just give these areas an extra clean and de-clutter when the property is not being let and the overall experience would be greatly improved without changing the character of the house. It is a substantial house in a good area. The local amenities are excellent. Would still return despite the criticisms in the review,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the garden and location of the property
Liked least: The level of cleanliness and clutter in some areas
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil G
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tired & dated. In desperate need of some TLC”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
8
people found this review helpful

4 couples + 1 small child. Property was spacious with 4 good size bedrooms & 1 attic room. Living room really good size. Decor and general appearance extremely dated. Clearly hadn't been decorated or updated for a good number of years. (30+ I'd say). Kitchen was good size but again could do with a serious deep clean & makeover. Cupboards dirty. (we kept all of our food on the workbench). Front cover hanging off boiler. Garden area big but not well kept. Conservatory was 50% full of wild plants and was virtually unusable. Pool table is in attic but has so little space around it that it also was virtually unusable. Shower in main bathroom had so little pressure that kneeling down was the only way to wash hair. Not expensive for its size but once you arrive (not easy to find as its not actually on High street) you quickly realise that you should have paid a bit more and got somewhere better. Shame really as it could be so much better with a couple of weeks hard effort doing it up. Area lovely and pubs / bistro in village are excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size, location & convenience
Liked least: General feeling of grubbiness about the place
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry A
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place with a homely atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for 2 nights but wish it could have been longer. Very large spacious house that made us all go wow. Warm house with lots of comfortable seating in living room. There was 8 if us and we all fitted comfortably around the dining table and in the living room. We also hired the hot tub and that to was very enjoyable for everyone. In a lovely village only a few minutes drive from the centre of Scarborough. Would defiantly recommend to anyone who enjoys a nice peaceful setting but is not expecting fancy decor just warm cosy lived in feeling house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness
Liked least: Plumbing showers were slow
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
A very pleasing review. This party will be welcome back anytime.
The Croft offers spacious, comfortable accomodation, and has recently
acquired a hot-tub, which is available for hire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne S
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious holiday home, will come again”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

we recently visited Scarborough for the first time and we will definitely be coming again.
The Croft is far more spacious than we thought, the décor may be a little dated, but the house itself has all the amenities you require. the beds were comfy, the house was warm and despite it raining on the Saturday morning, it was rather peaceful to sit around having a cuppa in the large lounge.
the only downfall I would note is that the showers are rather compact - usable but can be difficult to move.
We will visit again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2016
Thank you for your very favourable review.
You will be welcome to come and stay again.
Simon, owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judy14_11
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very homely and relaxing”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We all liked this house and felt very much at home. Simon was quick to reply to my questions before hand and everything went very smoothly for our arrival. The AGA was on and the heating warmed the house quickly. The facilities were dated, but that was not important because it was all clean and functional. We also felt we didn't need to worry about using everything. With two 3 year olds and two babies that was important. The garden was great, and in summer would be lovely for sitting and playing in. The only worry was that the key was awkward to turn in the lock a couple of times, but we managed OK. I would recommend this house but not if you expect a modern 'boutique' place. Excellent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Homely and lots of space
Liked least: The key was awkward
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Thanks for your favourable review, Judy. I hope you will be able to come back in the summer sometime, and enjoy the garden more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: space
Liked least: conservatory
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Very pleased that this party enjoyed their stay, and appreciated thet The Croft provides space, comfort, and a great location at a reasonable price.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lucy W
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful time.”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Thank you so much for letting us stay at the Croft, we all had a wonderful time, the house is perfect for a big family with young children, as there is so much space in and out the house for hide and seek. We will hopefully be back again next year.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Great that the house was so right for you. You will be welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing