We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good!”

Emma's coffee lounge
Ranked #3 of 28 Coffee & Tea in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: an excellent cafe/restaurant in Scarborough serving mainly traditional English food
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always good!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have visited Emma's many times over the years and it remains consistently good - the breakfast is excellent, with great coffee! There is also always a good choice of cakes and buns, for when you need a little snack. Can highly recommend this little coffee lounge!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Foxybunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia3011, Owner at Emma's coffee lounge, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
So pleased you enjoy returning to Emma's, it is great for us to see returning faces. Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    23
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
“Brilliant!! Thoroughly recommend”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This cafe is great, we visit Scarborough quite a lot and this place, with its prime location in the centre of town, is always our top choice for a bite of lunch. Even if we are down on the beach it is so easy to get to with a short walk through the gardens up from south bay (or if you are feeling lazy try the tram up from the beech which stops off just round the corner). We often bring the grand kids with us an the staff are so attentive to them, sharing a joke and smile which makes such a change! To top it off great food, I think we have probably tried nearly everything on the menu over the years and it is all superb. Top tip, try the local scarborough caught crab, its only on as a special due to seasonality etc (but that proves its fresh!) its out of this world. Can thoroughly recommend this place, and frequently do!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayweather606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia3011, Owner at Emma's coffee lounge, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so pleased you enjoy visiting us. We love the fresh crab too and always try to use locally sourced produce so it is really good to know others appreciate it too! Thank you for making the time to write your review we are always pleased to have feedback, to know if we are getting it right, it makes all the hard work worthwhile! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stopped in for late afternoon tea. The food was well presented, very tasty and reasonably priced. The decor and furniture is very pleasing. Spotlessly clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very nice. Will revisit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chandrah874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia3011, Owner at Emma's coffee lounge, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us, we are pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea. We aim to provide good food at reasonable prices so we are pleased to hear you feel we achieved this, thank you. We are always grateful to have feedback, whether during a visit or after, via TripAdvisor. It makes it all worthwhile and we know our staff feel the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“We keep going back for more! Highly recommended”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We keep going back to this excellent cafe and have recently visited again. With a traditional ambience the service is fast and friendly, the food always fresh, well-presented and tasty and everywhere is spotless and sparkling. Our favourites include the hot beef rolls, toasted teacakes, and the wonderful selection of cakes. Their refreshing pot of tea is always welcome! This popular cafe can get very busy at lunchtimes, especially on the weekend as many locals go every week and chat to each other, the staff and the owner. Try to get there early to secure a table. We visit Emma's whenever we get the opportunity and recommend it highly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank has2bperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very poor”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We visited here on 28.12.12 for tea and cake as a treat after a lot of walking.

We’re not sure if it was the owner or a member of staff who served us, but after doing her very best to ignore us for as long as possible she did eventually ask what we’d like.

Disinterested service and no hint of friendliness (and very average coffee) means we won’t be returning here and can’t recommend that anyone else visits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinAndJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia3011, Owner at Emma's coffee lounge, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Sorry to respond late to your review, but until a customer recently told us we did not know that Emma's or indeed cafes such as ours featured on Trip advisor. I can only apologise for your upsetting experience on 28/12/2012 and we have spoken to the staff members on duty that day, it was not the owner as my husband is usually serving and i am in the kitchen preparing our home made cakes. This is not, I can asure you, our normal level of service and the whole team is concerned you were upset, quite rightly for being ignored. We are only sorry that you did not let us know on the day and we would have been able to deal with it more satisfactorily. I'm not sure whether you saw but on our Menu we invite feedback for each and every visit and I know we would have been more than happy to try to sort this out whilst you were with us. Especially regarding you unhappiness with the coffee. We have both pour and serve and fresh ground espresso coffee, obviously there is quite a price difference between them all and, although I cant be sure as you dont say whether you asked for a specific variety, but I do know that if people just ask for a coffee we give the pour and serve with hot milk as this is the cheapest and best value for the customer. At this late stage I can only offer my apologies but should you ever be near us again please let us know. Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write the review we did need to know when something goes wrong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emma's coffee lounge also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Emma's coffee lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing