We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beiderbecke's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beiderbecke's Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Arrived tuesday 15th Oct attending SCARBOROUGH ENGINEERING WEEK. CHECKED INTO ROOM 220 and tried to work NO wifi. They changed room to 101 because wifi didn't reach second floor. Went to room 101 NO bed ominous ! Changed to upgraded 103 NO heating they supplied 2 KW heater to heat suite. Staff advised we are trying to get it fixed. Trip Advisor entries 1 Month earlier shows same complaint NO HEATING . Went out to get warm. Decided not to move hotels and thought the breakfast might redeem the situation. NO. Full English - bacon underdone with white coating egg solid as s Frisbee beans crisp n dry hash brown even crisper n drier. Went to pay bill NO " was everything OK Sir?" Could not be bothered to complain -just-wanted to go. Conclusion NO. Dont go!

Room Tip: Room 101 needs something in it - A bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at Beiderbecke's Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We are indeed extremely sorry that this reviewer seems to have had such a difficult time. I am also personally disappointed that the reviewer writes that he couldn't be bothered to complain when hotel staff asked if everything was all right. Like all good hotels, here at Beiderbecke's we strive to make our visitors as comfortable as possible. If there is a problem, then the sooner that staff are made aware of it, the sooner it can be fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    140
    50
    21
    16
See reviews for
61
235
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have stayed at the hotel many times for business and have only been there on week nights so can not comment on the noise at weekends from Red Square bar next door.
I can however comment on the hotel during the week. The hotel has always been the best value hotel I have stayed in. The rooms are very big and are always clean and tidy. The staff are very helpful and always have a smile for you.
One small gripe this time however, is that the heating needs to be fixed soon. The electrical heaters take time to warm the large rooms.
Please dont let standards slip. This is a good hotel and they are few and far between!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inky_man_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at Beiderbecke's Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Again - thank you for the review and the comments. It has taken us 3 weeks to get our boilers sorted out, but they are now fixed and running. Beiderbecke's occupies Grade 2 Listed Buildings, and we need massive boilers to keep the building warm. Unfortunately, when the routing test was due, it was found that spare parts were required from abroad, and this was what took so long to sort out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just had a 2 night break ( 3rd time)
Hotel going through a revamp so a few problems,
15 of us stayed there, heating boiler was broken but heaters were provided in every room, we did not find that a problem in our room.
Hotel is looking tired so does need doing up.
Breakfast was fantastic, evening meal for some was a bit dry but mine Salmon was lush.
Some of out guest had to sort there final bill out as things had been added that should not have been BUT it was all put right.
Have booked to go back next year to give then another chance & already chosen our room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tetrasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at Beiderbecke's Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for the review. I am pleased to say that the central heating boilers are now fixed, fully licensed and ready to power us through whatever winter may bring. We apologise for all the inconvenience, but regulations relating to gas boilers are very strict and it is better to be a little bit cold than it is to have a defective boiler running!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel while in Scarborough for a conference. We paid extra and had a suite with a great view of the park and the sea. It had all the amenities you need, although it looked a little tired in places. Cleaning the room was not brilliant, towels left in a heap, dirty cloth on the floor and coffee/biscuits not replaced.The entrance to the hotel had a problem with the flooring, it had got wet and very wrinkled, a real trip hazard. However, they were waiting for builder to rectify it, and tried to cover it with a bit of carpet eventually.
The lady on reception was very helpful and gave up their space in the very small car park so that we could leave our car there.
The cooked breakfast was very good, tea and coffee tasted fine, but little choice of anything else. The fruit was either apple fruit salad or tinned grapefruit and prunes. A bit lacklustre.
We ate in their restaurant one evening, there were a large group of us and although we had all pre-ordered the meal did take a while to be served. It was reasonable quality, but just more attention to detail would have helped.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would use Beiderbeckes again if we return to Scarborough.

Room Tip: Go for sea view, and ask for a room that is not above the disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at Beiderbecke's Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thanks very much for your comments - we have been very proud of our cooked breakfasts and perhaps we have not paid enough attention to the selection of fruits etc. We'll fix that immediately. Regarding the evening menu, we have been changing that a lot recently in an effort to find the ideal. We are trying to get back to first class plain, honest,Yorkshire food and we think we are now there - and the AA has just re-awarded our Rosette. We look forward to welcoming guests to try the new menus!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

A group of us stayed at this hotel two years ago and everything was just about spot on. On this basis I made a group booking for the beginning of October for 3 nights. Despite the booking and deposits being paid in August last year, the suite I booked, Room 103, was already occupied when we arrived. There was no initial explanation or apology from the man on reception other than he would look into it.

I eventually tracked down the new owner who explained that there had been a mix up the previous day and someone else had been allocated our room, however, he assured us we could re-locate the following day. He also apologised and agreed that this should not have happened as the diary was quite clearly blocked out for our party of 13 and had been for some time.

When Kerry, who took our original bookings and emailed our confirmations and room numbers etc., returned after a couple of days off, she was most apologetic for the faux pas which had been made in her absence. When we checked out she also made sure we had a reduced rate for the inferior room we stayed in on our first night.

The hotel is in need of a makeover. Basic maintenance should be a priority. Our suite was almost as it was 2 years ago apart from a broken floor tile, which had obviously been in this state for some time. It was particularly cold and wet when we arrived and there was no heating. I was told several different things about the heating. When I phoned reception an electric heater was promised straight away. I then had a call to say that all the heaters were out but that someone had gone to Argos to purchase more. About an hour later the electric heater did appear. Fortunately the weather warmed up the following day so hypothermia didn't become an issue!

The noise for some of our party did however become an issue as the new owner had re-instated a disco on Friday and Saturday evenings. The disco, which is situated on the corner underneath the hotel, was extremely noisy and went on until 1.00am in the morning and several complaints were made by members of our group.

I appreciate that the new owner is still finding his feet and at the end of the day, he will decide how he wants the hotel to go forward. I would just say that our group felt the hotel which is Grade II listed with traditional and therefore "old fashioned" decor inside, does not currently lend itself to loud discos. If the current owner wishes to keep his regular returning guests he should bear this in mind.

On the plus side, most of the staff were extremely polite and helpful. The chef in particular, who was at the hotel on our previous visit, has a wicked sense of humour and served up an excellent evening meal. The breakfasts were also extremely good with both continental and full English available plus as much tea or coffee and toast as requested.

Sadly, our group of 13 have no immediate plans to return to the Beiderbecke's.

Room Tip: Unless you like noise, make sure you ask for a room away from the disco. We had a suite, Room 103 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan2711950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at Beiderbecke's Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
As always, many thanks for taking the time and trouble to leave a review! We are of course very sorry indeed that the Room, 103, had been allocated to somebody else the day before. We do everything in our power to cater for our guests wishes, but there are occasions when rooms have to be taken out of service for reasons beyond our control. On this occasion, Room 217 was allocated instead, and which far from being inferior, was in fact a large and more expensive suite with a sea view. A reduction in the rate for this room was given as a courtesy for the inconvenience caused, and not because the room was in any way inferior.

The reviewer is quite correct in claiming the hotel needs "a makeover" - so I was very surprised indeed that she did not mention that this "makeover" is in full swing! Every night, when the hotel is silent, painters and decorators move in and work until the breakfast shift arrives. Clearly the reviewer did not notice that on day 2 of her stay, Reception was a completely different colour to what it had been when she went to bed the night before!

The noise from our Cocktail Bar, Red Square, cannot be heard anywhere in the hotel except in the two rooms directly above it - we always tell people this before booking and we offer a hugely discounted price and in fact the Hotel Bar, Bix's, was open and busy much later than the cocktail bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have stayed several times at this hotel and found it very comfortable and homely.
Not this time! I cannot believe that they have made a disco at the front of the hotel with a bouncer outside, and loud music which goes on until well after midnight. It is my understanding that most of the clients who stay there are older and would not be the 'disco' type, so what a shame that this has been done to such a lovely hotel. There was no central heating due to 2 broken boilers, so residents were complaining about the cold. The bar food was of poor quality in the cold restaurant- breakfast was OK. The staff were lovely and helpful, no complaints there. The bedroom was shabby and badly in need of refurbishment. I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank parkyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at Beiderbecke's Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to review Beiderbecke's. By "Disco" you will be referring to Red Square, our Cocktail Bar. Red Square is not new, it was the oldest and best known Cocktail Bar in the Scarborough area for many years. It closed for 3 years, and now it has been re-opened and it is very popular indeed. I am sorry that you do not like this, but these things are all a matter of personal taste - it is quite true that many of our guests are older rather than younger (I am in my 60s myself) but in fact many of them enjoy coming into Red Square to try the fun cocktails and enjoy the happy atmosphere. There is a security guard outside on Friday and Saturday nights - but this is a requirement of our licence. Scarborough is an energetic town on these nights and the streets can be very lively. Many establishments now employ guards to ensure that these nights remain peaceful and that our guests are not distubred by revellers.
Our central heating system is powerful and complex. It has to be because Beiderbecke's occupies 3 Grade 2 Listed buildings which do not have double glazing. For safety reasons, these boilers have to be serviced on a regular basis. That is happening at the moment to prepare us for the winter. However, Electric heaters were provided to all guests who requested them - as well as electric fans to some other guests!!
Again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy the food, many others who ate at the same time thought it was very good indeed.
I hope that you have better luck in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We've just been up with a group of friends and we loved our stay here. The hotel is elegant and soooo conveniently situated. The rooms were lovely and the food was excellent, both at breakfast and at dinner, though it's worth letting reception know in advance if you're eating, as the kitchen can be a bit slow. As luck would have it, there was a sudden cold snap while we were staying and the boilers weren't working to full capacity but the lovely staff soon sorted out heaters for the more nesh among us. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We went on a Stephen Joseph trip and the plays were great too :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at Beiderbecke's Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Thank you for the review! We are very sorry that the cold snap coincided with our routine boiler servicing! Regulations for gas appliances in hotels etc are very strict and we are unable to delay or put off scheduled servicing and overhaul. Luckily warm weather has returned and all boilers will be fully functional again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beiderbecke's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beiderbecke's Hotel

Property: Beiderbecke's Hotel
Address: 1-3 The Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2PW, England (Formerly The Regency Central Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#11 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beiderbecke's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beiderbeckes Hotel is a small and friendly hotel in Scarborough Town centre, situated on a beautiful Regency Crescent, just 2 minutes walk from the train station and the famous Stephen Joseph Theatre. Why not come and stay in one of our beautiful suites with a balcony and sea views, or join us for some of our top quality, homemade Yorkshire food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Beiderbecke's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beiderbeckes Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing