We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derwent House Hotel
Ranked #43 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Derwent was a nicely decorated, very comfortable, clean, tidy, reasonably priced B&B with a 5* food hygiene cert - wide choice breakfast menu all presented nicely & piping hot. A big selection of sweets, nibbles, pops, wines & beers all reasonably with an honesty box. My single room had the toilet & shower next door which didn't pose a problem for me. Located on the north bay with stunning views of the bay & castle with the town close by too. I felt comfortable & safe here, will stay here again :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SASalmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Derwent House Hotel in a superior room overlooking the bay. The view from the room was stunning a photographers treat..The bed was comfortable..The tv was good..The breakfast was good.. Now the 'not so good' stuff. The room is smaller than it appears from the photo's - MUCH smaller in fact. The en-suite is a real joke with a tatty sliding door entrance just inches away from the side of the bed not visible of course from the photo's. The en-suite itself is minute even the toilet involved a manoeuvre when being seated and your still only inches away from the bed!!!
The shower tray had around it a curtain and not a proper enclosure and one has to be very accurate to avoid covering the place with water which sort of reminds me of my old Corfu days in a 2 star hotel where H&S was never an issue. In keeping with this area of the accommodation the towels provided were also very small and when the room was cleaned these towels were folded and put back on the bed 'still wet'
Overall although the room wasn't hugely expensive it is miss sold and we certainly wouldn't consider returning. Although the trump card is the view there are scores of other options on the same road with the same view.
Mike & Lizzy....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elizabeth3201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJimmy, Owner at Derwent House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for your review, We are sorry that we did not meet with your high expectations of us. We are simply a 3 star guest house with 10 bedrooms, none of which we describe as superior. The bedrooms at the front of the hotel do have a fantastic view over looking the North Bay and therefore these rooms are at a higher premium. We do not use camera trickery to make our rooms look bigger as in the long run this would only cause problems, on our website all our rooms are shown how they are. Room number 4 is a very popular room that is booked continusely by many new and returning guests. It is in fact a larger double with more than ample space.
The hotel is built in a terrace of hotels that are all the same, originally gentlemans residences that have now all been converted to hotels. Therefore ensuites have to be fitted in to difficult spaces. This room benefits from an en-suite when many other hotels on our row still have shared bathrooms on the landing. The en-suite is small granted but has recently been re-tiled and cannot be described as tatty nor a "JOKE". It provides a shower, toilet and hand basin which is what should be expected in an en-suite.Visit Britain who rate us as a 3 star guest accomodation were more than happy with the bathroom. If the shower curtain is placed around the shower correctly then there should be no issue with flooding the room with water. There certainly is no health and safety issue here.
The towels are a standard bath towel size so are not very small, and no towels would be folded back up and put back on the bed. New towels are always provided when old towels are left in the shower tray. If your towels were not placed in the shower tray they would not be replaced.
I would like to know how we miss sell our rooms. All our rooms are described as they are and are priced accordingly. If you want to consider other options along our road you will find that they are all under the same size constrantes as we are.
Very sorry that we were unable to please you but if you were expecting more perhaps you should book a "HOTEL" not a guest house. We do aim to please all our guest but have to say we are unable to sometimes!
I would like to know if the only issue was the size of the en-suite why this would warrant giving the overall mark a 2 as obviously other aspects were pleasing to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Four night break in June . Tremendous location with views from the front that make you think you are riding on the ocean . The Derwent is a great little place to stay . Very friendly staff who have a relaxed and easy going attitude . The honesty bar is a top idea and the prices made it irresitable !
Breakfast was served from 8_30 until 9_30 and was excellent with a menu on the table offering a good varied choice . Both beaches were just a 5 minute walk and the shops pubs and restaurants were also a short walk away. A super place to stay at a realistic rate .

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank GarynVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Derwent House has a great location which offers stunning views of North Bay with its Castle. The location is very handy for the town centre and South Bay is just a short walk away.

I found the rooms to be clean, comfy and pleasant to stay in. Their breakfast menu had plenty of choice and very good for a vegetarian like me.

Service was very friendly and helpful. I shall definitely be coming back here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CBrierleyBanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just come back from a great bank holiday in scarborough. The hotel was great ,so clean and great facilities. What more could you want. Got a free parking permit to cover parking so no probs there. Weather was fantastic too. So all in all a perfect weekend. Keep up the good work derwent house we will be back!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Daveyparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Found this hotel on trip adviser and called to see if there was a room with a bath as we like a soak :) There was one and it was available for the days I wanted at a reasonable price (180 for 3 nights) in a double room.

The room was lovely, nice crisp bedding, very modern, beautiful sea view room 8 on the second floor. The breakfast was lovely, full english or anything you want. Very friendly staff.

The reason I have given this hotel 3 stars is I have stayed in many and a few things disappointed me...

The taps on the bath were broken and if it wasn't for my hubby being a DIY god I wouldn't have been having a bath the first night, I did mention this the next morning but nothing was done.

There were hairs in the bath on arrival.

The bath was not cleaned on the second day even though towels had been replaced.

The room was very cold, even with the heater on from inside the cupboard.

I like to be able to open windows and you couldn't.

The air freshener ran out and wasn't replaced.

All in all this hotel was nice and I would stay there again :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Lucyrose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJimmy, Owner at Derwent House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed by some things.
Had you informed us on the first evening that you thought the taps on the bath were broken we would of rectified the situation immediately. When you mentioned the taps the next morning, whilst i served breakfast you explained "that when the tap is turned too tightly off you can not turn it back on". I would have thought this would be the case with any tap. If it is fastened too tightly it is hard to then turn on. We did check the taps on the bath and found them to be working fine and correctly.

All our rooms have windows that open as this health and safety and fire regulations! In the case of room 8 there is a large sash window on the bay windows in the main bedroom that opens and also the large sash window in the bathroom opens fully. As you had these both open whilst you stayed i cannot understand why you would make a comment like this.

The weather in England this year has not been the walmest. Whilst we have central heating and extra oil filled radiators in our rooms as well as extra blankets, if the weather outside is extreme we cannot do more about this. The central heating was on fully and your extra radiator was not used as this had not been taken from out of the wardrobe.

When you stay for only 3 days the daily clean is just to refresh the room and top up your tea/coffee making facilities. We also empty bins and replace any used towels. We do not fully clean the bathroom or bedroom. This would explain why your bath was not cleaned or the air freshener replaced. Had you been staying for a longer period we would have given the bedroom and bathroom a full clean on the 4th day.

I would once again like to apologise that we did not meet with your expectations but we do try to do our best to make every persons stay with us an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Three night break by the sea. Friendly andreally clean. Great filling quality breakfast. Pub in the corner the albion reasonable prices and fantastic entertainer. All round great value.
We will be going again and cant wait.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank faristhered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#36 of 183 in Scarborough
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marine View Guest House
Marine View Guest House
#104 of 183 in Scarborough
57 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#51 of 183 in Scarborough
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Harmony Country Lodge
Harmony Country Lodge
#21 of 183 in Scarborough
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Hotel

Address: Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £45 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing