We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Hols”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Hotel
Ranked #47 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at the Derwent the first week of August 2013. Guest house was centrally located between the two bays with lots of restaurants just a short walk away. Rooms were nicely furnished and very clean. Staff were very friendly . The breakfast was exceptional .

Room Tip: Best to book early for the family rooms ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Wroxtondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

What a great place Derwent House is. The place is welcoming and homely. The owners give some good advice on where to go and what places were child friendly. Really usefull when travelling with the kids. The room we had was super clean and had everything we needed. The honesty bar was great , kids loved being able to serve themselves! Breakfast was amazing. Filled us all up for the day and really great service.We will be back soon and will be telling our friends what a great place the derwent house is.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank darren b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My daughter & I have just returned from an overnight stay which was booked last minute the night before. We stayed in room 4. The ensuite is very small but fine for a short stay and was more than made up for by the amazing view. The room was clean and the bed very comfy. Breakfast was very tasty and the service very quick and efficient despite everyone seeming to come down at the same time. The owners were very friendly without being overbearing. Would definately go again even if just for the breakfast and the view :-) Good location for both bays too.

Room Tip: Request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Just had a week at the Derwent, me and my 3 kids, 1 a baby, Fantastic week the owners could not do enough for us, room fantastic, breakfast out of this world, nothing to much trouble. This is our 3rd year will be going again next year. If you go to Scarborough you MUST stay at the DERWENT, you will love it, cant praise the hotel enough

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank EXECUSIONER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have just had an amazing week at the derwent. we had a sea view double with fantastic views and every thing you need. Breakfast was lush and we was filled up for the full day. We felt it was worth every penny that we paid. Cant fault anything and we are booking again soon. Would recomend to everyone.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dennis j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I feel I must come in here, all be it almost a year since our visit.
We booked Room 4 after reading previous reviews and because it had a panoramic view.
However,the view was somewhat obscured by the dirty windows.Only one window would open and the curtains had to be yanked to close.The double wardrobe ( MFI or similar) could only open on one side because it was so near the bed.The bed was very basic as was the room.Now for the best part,THE ENSUIT.The door as described in other reviews would not close without a great deal of persuasion.To wash at the sink,you really had to leave the door open as there was no room.The toilet was also difficult to navigate.The shower was leaking gushing water from behind the casing.I don't know if it was a chemical toilet but the smell that came after flushing was not pleasant to say the least.The (( hotel? )) was advertised as having WIFI but the computer didn't even work.
The breakfast was quite acceptable.
To sum up,after watching "Four in a bed" on TV I feel that the £65 per night we paid was at least £25 a night over priced.
If all the B& B's in Scarborough are the same as Derwent house I will be reluctant to return.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Juke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScarboroughJimmy, Owner at Derwent House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

I find it hard to believe if you had such strong views on how poor a stay with us in room 4 was that it has taken you a year to write a review.
Room 4 is sea facing and therefore the windows at the front of the hotel do get dirt blown at them from of the sea. These are cleaned fortnightly but if the weather is not good then unfortunately they do tend to get dirty, this is just something which is out of our control and down to the weather! The curtains slide along a rail and no one has ever had to yank them shut.
The wardrobe is actually built in solid piece of furniture (not MFI) and both doors open easily. the door closest to the bed does have a small latch that needs to be opened to release it, had this been done you would have had no issues. The bed is in fact a cream leather sleigh bed with brand new mattress so not sure what your complaint is there!
I have no need to justify the ensuite as it is exactly that an en-suite! A shower, hand basin and toilet with a sani flow system (NO CHEMICAL TOILET). We had our visit britain rating just one week ago and actually this room and en-suite was described as a high 3 star standard so your complaints are unjust.
We do provide free WIFI throughout the whole GUEST HOUSE (as we are not a HOTEL) and if the correct password is used then connection is simple.
Your comment about the price is just laughable and if you feel you were overcharged why not mention any of this at the time!
Scarborough has many Guest houses just like ourselves and I am sure they will be glad that you are reluctant to return here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our 5 night stay at the derwent was exceptional even though we had to move rooms due to room 8 not being available on our last night, room 11 was just as good, maybe even better!!! Breakfast set us up a treat for the day ahead with a great selection and cooked to perfection!! Keith and Carole could not have done enough for us and made our stay warm and welcoming. Also being able to park right outside and its cracking location means that this reasonably priced guest house gets the full 5 stars it deserves. Thanks again for making our stay special from the Broughs!!!

Room Tip: Room 8 for a cracking view and large bathroom and room 11 due to its sheer size and good standing vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 183 in Scarborough
232 reviews
1 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#50 of 183 in Scarborough
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
170 reviews
5.8 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Hotel

Address: Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £41 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing