We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value Hotel in a superb position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Poulton Le Fylde
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value Hotel in a superb position”
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The room was clean and whilst a bit tired had a sea view and everything you need
We only paid £35.00 for the room which included breakfast.
The Hotel's entertainment wasnt for us but that was our decision; obviously many, mainly elderly residents, like it.
We ate out so cant comment on the food although the breakfast experience was a bit like a canteen.
All in all we had a fine time

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    1,225
    1,264
    964
    2,173
See reviews for
1,339
2,990
150
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2011

My sister and I booked a last minute deal here for a few days in March.
We had a fantastic room with a sea view that was clean and larger than we expected, the reception staff were really friendly and helpful, we decided to so stay an exctra night it was so good!
The included breakfast and dinner were fairly good, as a vegetarian my main meals were limited but there was lots of salad/veg/potatoes which were hot and replenished regularly.
My sister and I are both in our 20's and whilst we enjoyed our time at the hotel, we were quite obviously the youngest guests by a good 10years! The entertainment was ok, more aimed towards the older generation of customers but for the price we paid we had a really great visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa_Noir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Had a great weekend away for a very reasonable price. Dinner and breakfast in the premier room was a bonus although service let the experience down. Staff seemed interested in the customers but didnt really know what to do - I feel they need an executive position or manager to give the orders and they staff to follow. Food was acceptable especially at breakfast which was lovely.

Check-in on arrival was smooth and a pleasant experience.

We stayed in a lovely room on the 5th floor with SPA bath and views over Scarborough bay towards the SPA area. The only fault with the room was that during the night they left the hall lights on and there was a half inch gap to the right of the door and below the door which made sleeping difficult. I had to get the blanket from the wardrobe and cover the bottom it was that bright!

If asked would I stay again then yes definately. The hotel and pricing structure they offer make it worth while. They do need to pick up on a few niggling details but all hotels are similar and have a few little issues to look at.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RingOandCrystaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you for your very constructive comments, we will use the comments to improve our service and standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hove, england
Level Contributor
200 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

The Grand is an imposing building and in its heyday must've been very impressive. Sadly this isn't the case anymore. The rooms are very tired-looking and are in desperate need of a refurb. We booked the dinner, bed and breakfast deal, which was very cheap, and of course what we got reflected this. The food was served buffet-style, and was just the right side of ok. Our room was small, but adequate but the bed was the most uncomfortable bed ever. In the hotel's defence I didn't complain at the time - we were only staying 3 nights and stupidly thought it would be alright. Well, that was a bad decision! The shower was super powerful, which was great.
The rooms are cleaned everyday and if you don't want the maids in the room they will leave clean towels and tea and coffee sachets in a bag outside the room.
There is entertainment every night - bingo and cabarets and so on. The clientele are mainly pensioners.
While we were there lots of mattresses, tvs and other bits of furniture were being delivered so it looks as if some rooms are getting the refit they need.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makeminealargeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Thank you for your comments
We are in a continual refurbishment programme and as the guest has said, if you mention any issues at the time we will do our very best to rectify them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2011

I have walked past the Grand Hotel on many visits to Scarborough and have always said I would love to stay there.When we seen a trip advertised for 2nights staying at the Grand we thought this would be our opportunity what a mistake.The staff are rude and unhelpful,the rooms are cold as heating is on timed and doesnt come on until 4.30pm.Just getting into the dining room was an experience on its own,the staff on the door had to check our pink tickets to make sure we had turned up for the correct sitting heaven help you if you turned up at the wrong time I have never experienced people treated like this the staff were so rude to people it was disgraceful. The Hotels management need to sort this hotel and its staff out.I am very disappointed as this was a treat for my husbands birthday. I would never stay there or recommend it to any one.

Room Tip: Never stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENIS024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Thank you for your comments. I was concerned to read about the attitude of some of the team and action will be taken to ensure this does not happen again. I only wish this had been mentioned at the time and we could have resolved these issues.
We do cater for 600plus guests on a daily basis and this is not necessarily to everyones taste and with large groups we do have to allocate dining times to reduce the queuing in our restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

wombwell
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Having titled my review " the Dungeon" our stay was not that bad , it was the first place that we went away as a couple and maybe we had set our expectations too high.
we booked though an internet site and had requested a double room above ground level so that we would have a window as three or more floors of this hotel are basment level, when we arrived nd checked in we had got neither and the girl on reception was totally unwilling to change this in any way even tho we arrived at 12 noon well before plenty of other guests.
speaking of other guests this hotel is 90% full of oaps and day tripers, not that this was an issue as we only needed a room.
When we got to our room 3 floors down we were plesantly suprised it was nothing special but unlike some other reviews it was clean and well kept and much to our suprise the bathroom looked like it had just be refurbished and had a jacuzzi bath.
Unfortunatley the jacuzzi bath stopped working so we resorted to the shower which fell off the wall,there was no phone in this room so each time we reported it we had to get dressed and go up to reception, the maintenance man visited us 3 times in 2 days.

On our first morning we woke up we had a dilema.... we did not know what to wear as no windows we didnt even know if it was raining or not, as this was our first trip away together we did find much of this funny so we decided to stop on another night when we went to reception to book this the receptionist made sure that we had a good room on the 3rd floor with surronding sea views this room was very large and just what we wanted plus this room also had a jaccuzi bath too.
This hotel overall is satisfactory but in an ideal location for seafront acsess and also just a short walk into town, we didnt eat in atall so canot comment on the food at all, but the night staff were fine for you to bring in takeaway food, its also worth bearing in mind that the parking cost is around £6 A day if you are lucky enough to get a space tickets can be bought in the hotel.

Overall we may have been abit harsh on this hotel which was undergoing refurbishment due to the age and size of it, in the end we had a fab time in scarbourough and the grand and would most proberly go back.

Room Tip: be open minded
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fletch_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Thank you for your comments

Due to the nature of the Victorian buildings all our rooms vary in shape & size and we do have 40 internal rooms. As mentioned the rooms are clean, modern and functional albeit without a window. The only way to guarantee a room with a view is to upgrade to a Premier room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2011

staff very cheeky in harbour lights dining room found chipped plates no tea served after dinner staff never told us we could get tea in other lounge bar food was cold using same serving spoon at all the food on menu hotel not very clean room has slightly improved since our visit 2 years ago beautiful hotel shame its not looked after properly i definately wont be back

Room Tip: ask for a decent room when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaloo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Thank you for your comments and whilst we will learn from these comments I do not agree that we are in need a good clean. WIth 600plus guests staying on a nightly basis it is not in our interest to have a dirty hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,757 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing