We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand building but shame the food didn't live up to the same name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grand building but shame the food didn't live up to the same name”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We were delayed on the motorway and the coach had us detour and change coaches so by the time we arrived at the hotel we were too late for the bellboy as he was off duty and our bags could not be delivered to our room. We were so tired and stiff from the trip. We had no time to wash/dress for dinner. We were rushed into dinner because the restaurant was due to close soon.
The hotel food was lacking in taste and only barely edible as it was dry and only luke-warm. By the last day, they also had run out of selected items i.e. cereals and fruit.
We reported the complaints on their customer survey form at the hotel and we are still awaiting a reply from them directly.
We may have paid the ‘cheap rate’ but we certainly didn’t expect the cheap food. We ate out on the last night at personal cost to ourselves as we couldn’t bare another meal in the hotel!!
The hotel also selected the time we were due for meals, breakfast – 07.30hrs prompt. This made for a very long day as the coach collected us for the day trip on the Saturday at 10.00hrs and departed on the Monday at 09.30hrs.
The room was basic and lacking in any homely touches i.e pictures or colour on the bedspread. So faced with a brown and beige room every day, i'm glad we were not in it too long. Great shower facility and a lovely deep bath. The room was clean although the quality of the materials used to decorate the room were somewhat cheap and were not going to last long into the season before looking decidedly old.
We would stay at the hotel (at a push) but we would get room only!!

Room Tip: Go across the road to one of the other hotels:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sage75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    1,210
    1,249
    946
    2,143
See reviews for
1,311
2,945
147
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Hello and many thanks to all the Staff at the Grand Hotel in Scarborough. - however, My husband and myself spent a very pleasant few days, on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis starting from Sunday 10/4 until Thursday 14/4 - however we were so happy and contented with the Hotel, accommodation and restaurant facilities, I asked if it would be possible to stay one extra night - thankfully we were able to do this. As I've looked through the comments etc I wonder whether or not, my husband and myself were actually in the same Grand Hotel! This was been our second visit to the Hotel and will not be our last - we will be back and many thanks once again to all the staff for superb hotel, location and atmosphere. Jean and John - room 43. - 10/4/2011 until 15/4/2011

Room Tip: Don't believe all you read on the feed backs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 1 May 2011
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed at the Grand for a 5 day break,The hotel lives up to its name,comfortable,clean,great evening entertainment,the room was below stairs but very spacious and clean and comfortable, evening entertainment was very good,the food was ok considering they are catering for so many people.the dining room staff were very friendly and obliging unlike the reception staff,the parking was a bit of a hassle but thats not the hotels fault.overall we had an enjoyable stay and will definately be going back

Room Tip: central for everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 1 May 2011
THank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Just arrived back from a one night stay, it was fantastic to bring my childhood memories of this lovely seaside town The hotel was really nice steeped in the history of this great old hotel which I understand is under re development. Food wasn't it great but you get what you pay for. Rooms small but very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Comedydave2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The room was filthy ,shaby and small. I didnt expect to eat tinned carrots. It took us an hour to find somewhere to park,which was a ten minute walk back to the hotel.
On the plus side we had a lovely sea view, the bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prissel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thank you for your comments
We clearly state we do not have car parking; there is public pay & display parking around the hotel and a voucher can be purchased from us for £6.00 which lasts from 9.00am until the following day at 1.30pm. Alternatively there is a local NCP which costs £6.00 for 24hours which is within 10 minutes walk.
I only wish the room had been reported at the time and we could have resolved any issues. We offer buffet style self service restaurants due to the volume of guests we cater for on a nightly basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

coatbridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We arrived for a midweek break in Feb it is grand looking hotel and some money has been spent on it..But the food was not very good...I took the hotpot on our first night and I still retch at the taste of the grease was floating around my plate..The breakfasts were not bad ,but very cheap bacon with hardly any meat on it...The rooms are not too bad nice and clean

Room Tip: Drinks are expensive!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coatbridgecouple_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2011

me and my partner booked a 3 night stay here ,not the best break away for us both for starters theres a great lack of parking spaces,we had to park in the ncp car park for 2 of the nights which didnt go down well ,the hotel itself wasnt what we expected i.e the lifts took an age to reach whichever floor the hotel room was dated and the bed clearly wasnt made for anything other than sleeping on to put it politely so that killed the romance bit of the break .The breakfast wasnt upto much either as my partner found out and i myself found a trip to the dentist was prob in order after having some of there toast but otherwise the hotel wasnt in a bad location and had a good view if you are lucky enough to get a sea view from your room unlike me which had a brick wall with annoying seagulls

Room Tip: look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thank you for your comments
Due to the nature of the Victorian building all our rooms vary in shape and size and the only way to guarantee a room with a view is to upgrade to a Premier Room.
We clearly state we do not have any car parking facilities; there are pay & display parking spaces around the hotel and a voucher may be purchased from us for £6.00 which covers from 9.00am until 1.30pm the following day . Alternatively a local NCP car park is within 10minutes walk and costs £6.00 for 24 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,619 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing