We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy your stay and stop moaning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Enjoy your stay and stop moaning”
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I cannot believe some of the reviews on this hotel.
We stayed for four nights over the May/ Royal Wedding weekend and paid £175 for four nights Dinner Bed and Breakfast between us!! Reception were always very helpful the food was very good and plentiful with a good few choices,always hot and the buffet replaced regularly.If you treat the staff to a smile they will smile back!! Our room was in the basement but was well decorated with a very modern shower. We cannot fault this hotel, if you want five star then pay five star prices and stop moaning.
Thankyou to the Grand for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleveleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    1,244
    1,285
    998
    2,248
See reviews for
1,378
3,075
152
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glossop
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

The rooms were comfortable and clean, lucky enough to get a nice sea view. The food was very basic - not a lover of buffet food but as the heading says got what you paid for in that respect. I did however expect better from what used to be a prestigious group of hotels. Overall would not complain though.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryonycoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Booked this hotel for one night then read the reviews and thought omg!was goin to cancel but then thought i would give it a go as only paid £60 for bbem for 2 adults 2 children aged 9/10.well what can i say check in was fine expected long delays as i know they have a lot of coach trips but i must of timed it right.Had a family room and yes we had a window.went down for food the views are absolutley amazing so much choice of food inc.lovely soup various main,various veg,potatoes,salad,pasta,coleslaw etc.hot pud or choice of cold deserts and freezer of icecream there for children along with wafers and sauces.the veg were not fantastic as you have probably gathered from other reviews but there really is so much choice if these people want 4* why do they not pay 4* prices?the entertainment was fantastic we watched it up in the grand circle what a fantastic experience just like going back in time.had a great night sleep fab breakfast.booked an extra 2 nights we had to move rooms as our room was already booked out we had no window but a lovely big room which had obviously just been completly redecorated.we had a wonderful trip met some lovelyl people both young and old and we will definatly revisit the grand

Room Tip: want window request as there are internal rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We booked with what we thought was central reservation,this turned out to be a website unconnected to the hotel based in Dublin.we paid £140.00 above the hotel rates,btw it is a premium rate number to speak to hotel. The hotel and website were not interested in sorting the problem,so rather than lose the deposit we drove to Scarborough.arriving after a 5 hour drive. The hotel in it's day must have been magnificent but now is tired,dirty and in need of closing.all they wanted at reception was to take the full payment for balance on arrival.we had two rooms,one below ground level was clean but irregular shape with parts of room unusable.our other room was on the third floor.the lock to bathroom door was on the outside of door,the tv was on loan from science museum. To dine you went down to a workingmen's cafe ,the food inedible whilst another restaurant was charged at a premium supplement but served the same poor menu. The entertainment team were all rejects from second rate cruise ships and only wanted to sell bingo tickets. There is no parking at hotel, phones in rooms,service, in fact the longest four days of our lives.

Room Tip: Book another hotel,maybe the royal or palm court
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphne43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your comments.
Due to the nature of the Victorian building all our rooms vary in shape and size. They have all been modernised and have ensuite facilties but do not have telephones.
We offer all you can eat buffets in two restaurants, one with spectacular views over the south bay of Scarborough.
I only wish the guests had spoken to us at the time and if they were that unhappy I would have gladly tried to resolve their issues or refunded them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My sister in law and myself booked a last minute break for 8th April - 10th April and had a brilliant time at the Grand. We were very impressed with the room which had a seaview which was a surprise as we didn't have to pay any extra!! The room was big and comfortable and the bathroom very modern. We enjoyed the buffet food very much and and sat in one of the many bars in the evening and thoroughly had a ball.Can't wait to go again and hope we will have the same holiday experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinderella187053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a deal the company was doing. This hotel is the only one they do at the coast so I thought for the price, why not give it a go. With mixed reviews we had read we went with an open mind as I have stayed in some dumps before. There is no parking at all, well very few, and they are all take so we had to park in a multistory and pay. Upon entering the hotel its HUGE and really 'grand' but by this I mean old fashioned grand. As my partner put it 'I bet this was the place to be in poirot's time' I have never seen anywhere as dated. Anyway on with the room, the room was very basic, small, clean and had a shower and toilet thats it. We had dinner and breakfast included in our stay. I would most certainly say DONT have the food. I can eat most rubbish but I only had potatoes and didnt bother with brakfast. There were a misture of people there from children to grandparents but i would say even if this hotel was only a few pounds look elsewere its not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hp3hannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Thank you for your comments

Due to the nature of the Victorian building all our rooms vary in shape and size and the only way to guarantee a large room with a view is to upgrade to a Premier Room.

Our main restaurant offers all you can eat food in a self service restaurant and if you wish to upgrade our Premier restaurant offers a more intimate environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The staff made you feel welcome and went out of there way to help.(chriss on reception and later the bar )was a great help.The food was plentyfull and varied. The rooms were a bit dated but ok .While we were their the hotel was undergoing some kind of refit but this did not spoil our stay.
The evening entertainment was not very good but the entertinment staff did try .The starr turn staarted at 9.45 and wass finnished by 10.30 although the hotel had a lot of people in ther did not seem to be anyone tacking a lead at night the disco was jus a few cdsplaying in the background. not very good we were supposed to be on holiday.

Room Tip: ask for a window not as daft as sounds some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seansheepdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand724, General Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Thank you for your comments.
Entertainment is an emotive issue and offer bingo, quizes, dancing and cabaret on a nightly basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,373 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.3 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Property: Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing